We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like our best friends' home if our best friends were amazing chefs and knew exactly what we wanted before we asked”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Like our best friends' home if our best friends were amazing chefs and knew exactly what we wanted before we asked”
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Pristine, comfortable, convivial, and convenient, the Hopkins Ordinary is a true find in the tiny town of Sperryville. We've stayed here three times (twice after touring wineries, once after dinner at the Inn at Little Washington), and each time we feel like we're being welcomed home by dear friends. Not sure if the fresh-baked cookies before bedtime or the wake-up to gingerbread waffles are my favorite.

Proprietors Sherri and Kevin have thought of everything; no comfort is overlooked. They've restored the entire building with genuine care and updated each room with all modern convenience, minus the bothersome TVs and phones. Each time we stay, a new feature has been added or a new amenity has been updated. I love the irony of them calling themselves an "Ordinary."

Wondering where to go for a hike, a good wine, some local produce, a fantastic dinner? Sherri and Kevin are fonts of local knowledge and not at all stingy with their resources. But I kinda don't want to tell you all this, because I'd like to keep this an undiscovered gem--so shhh, okay?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
275
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Sherri and Kevin were amazing host. They were attentive to our every need. Amazing food, amazing atmosphere. I have a lot of experience in this area of Virginia as I am from Rappahannock County, and they really made sure we were taken care of in every way.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMSGreenfield_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Can you see yourself relaxing in a rocking chair on the porch, as the sun goes down behind the mountains, with the scent of lilac on the breeze and a glass of wine in your hand? Then don't look anywhere else - just book the Hopkins Ordinary.

Kevin and Sherri are gracious and welcoming hosts, and truly awesome cooks. The breakfasts are to die for - but not to die of. Beautiful local food, cooked to perfection.

And as for the rooms - just perfect. Won't spoil that for you by telling you too much. Just enjoy it.

Highly, highly recommended. The perfect B&B.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Kevin and Sherri are absolutely lovely - warm, hospitable, and kind. They serve terrific breakfasts made with vegetables and herbs from Kevin's garden and his own homemade cheeses. Sherri bakes decadent cookies in the afternoon. The cats (Buster and Max) and the dog (Jezebel) are also warm and welcoming. We stayed in the Garden Bungalo which was cozy and roomy - perfect for a family of 5 or 2 couples. The inn is in the middle of Sperryville - with a nice local cafe, a pizzeria, and a greasy barbecue joint. More importantly it is 10-25 minutes away from everything else - downtown Culpeper, Luray Caverns, Little Washington. It is minutes from Shenandoah park and lots of hiking. We're definitely coming back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Hopkins Ordinary is a beautiful respite from the rat race. My husband and I stayed for the weekend. Sherri and Kevin were very warm and friendly. We stayed in the Rosemary Room which was very quaint and clean. The furnishings stayed true to the surrounding area with period antiques; bureau, shelves, bed. There was a wide genre of books available to read in our room as well as in the main sitting room. The food is delicious. Kevin makes a very creamy cheese out of goat's milk. The breads are homemade. I highly recommend the french toast. You must ask Sherri what the secret ingredient is and then take a tour of the source. Rudy's Pizza across the street makes a great pepperoni for a great price.
-There are no hair dryers or irons in the rooms
-Take cash since some of the local eateris do not accept credit cards

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chattytexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, D.C.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I've stayed at Hopkins Ordinary several times and Sherri and Kevin are always extrememly friendly and provide excellent service. The rooms are private, very clean, and simple. There is a level of quality, purity, and freshness in everything provided at the Inn. The breakfasts they serve are some of the best I've had and could be on the cover of food and wine magazine. I couldn't recommend a place more highly than Hopkins Ordinary. My only problem is finding places other B&Bs in different places across the county that offer comparable quality and service.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenah02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My boyfriend--er, I mean fiance--made our reservations to stay at the Hopkins Ordinary the weekend we got engaged (in nearby Shenandoah National Park). It was a delightful place made even more special by the attention to detail from the innkeepers, Kevin and Sherry. They welcomed us with (seemingly bottomless) drinks on the porch, and we stayed in the Sage room. The house was in incredible condition for its age, decorated tastefully but not too much floral (a definite plus as far as my partner and I are concerned), and the bathroom was all completely modern, clean and updated. Breakfast was a delicious homemade trio of quiches with various fresh ingredients from the garden, as well as fruit, homemade scones, and peach-lavender jam. We enjoyed the porches (upstairs and down) most of all, and my apologies to the other guests there that weekend; we did hog to porch swing for a lot of our waking hours (!). The only thing that could be better was the bed; it was quite firm and my fiance didn't sleep well (I, on the other hand, would be comfortable sleeping on a wood floor...). Great inn with very convenient access to Shenandoah National Park (Thornton Gap entrance is closest, but Sperryville is also on way to the Old Rag parking lot). Highly recommend to couples especially. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k99js06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
974 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,240 reviews
14.6 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing