We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Getaway next to the Shenandoah Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Kevin and Sherri are absolutely lovely - warm, hospitable, and kind. They serve terrific breakfasts made with vegetables and herbs from Kevin's garden and his own homemade cheeses. Sherri bakes decadent cookies in the afternoon. The cats (Buster and Max) and the dog (Jezebel) are also warm and welcoming. We stayed in the Garden Bungalo which was cozy and roomy - perfect for a family of 5 or 2 couples. The inn is in the middle of Sperryville - with a nice local cafe, a pizzeria, and a greasy barbecue joint. More importantly it is 10-25 minutes away from everything else - downtown Culpeper, Luray Caverns, Little Washington. It is minutes from Shenandoah park and lots of hiking. We're definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 399 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

Hopkins Ordinary is a beautiful respite from the rat race. My husband and I stayed for the weekend. Sherri and Kevin were very warm and friendly. We stayed in the Rosemary Room which was very quaint and clean. The furnishings stayed true to the surrounding area with period antiques; bureau, shelves, bed. There was a wide genre of books available to read in our room as well as in the main sitting room. The food is delicious. Kevin makes a very creamy cheese out of goat's milk. The breads are homemade. I highly recommend the french toast. You must ask Sherri what the secret ingredient is and then take a tour of the source. Rudy's Pizza across the street makes a great pepperoni for a great price.
-There are no hair dryers or irons in the rooms
-Take cash since some of the local eateris do not accept credit cards

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chattytexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I've stayed at Hopkins Ordinary several times and Sherri and Kevin are always extrememly friendly and provide excellent service. The rooms are private, very clean, and simple. There is a level of quality, purity, and freshness in everything provided at the Inn. The breakfasts they serve are some of the best I've had and could be on the cover of food and wine magazine. I couldn't recommend a place more highly than Hopkins Ordinary. My only problem is finding places other B&Bs in different places across the county that offer comparable quality and service.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenah02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My boyfriend--er, I mean fiance--made our reservations to stay at the Hopkins Ordinary the weekend we got engaged (in nearby Shenandoah National Park). It was a delightful place made even more special by the attention to detail from the innkeepers, Kevin and Sherry. They welcomed us with (seemingly bottomless) drinks on the porch, and we stayed in the Sage room. The house was in incredible condition for its age, decorated tastefully but not too much floral (a definite plus as far as my partner and I are concerned), and the bathroom was all completely modern, clean and updated. Breakfast was a delicious homemade trio of quiches with various fresh ingredients from the garden, as well as fruit, homemade scones, and peach-lavender jam. We enjoyed the porches (upstairs and down) most of all, and my apologies to the other guests there that weekend; we did hog to porch swing for a lot of our waking hours (!). The only thing that could be better was the bed; it was quite firm and my fiance didn't sleep well (I, on the other hand, would be comfortable sleeping on a wood floor...). Great inn with very convenient access to Shenandoah National Park (Thornton Gap entrance is closest, but Sperryville is also on way to the Old Rag parking lot). Highly recommend to couples especially. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k99js06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

This is a lovely old inn with a fantastic wrap around porch that sits on the main street of a tiny town that you come into after taking the first exit off the beautiful Skyline Drive. The rooms are refreshingly simple and lovely. Our room had access to the upstairs porch where you could view not much going by. The hosts were very helpful and friendly but also made you feel like you had the whole house to yourself. Breakfast was whole grain waffles with fruit and local sausage beautifully prepared. The dueling raccoons in the night and dual shower in the room are the entertainment. There is also a good meal just across the street.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DriveNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and I participated in an Italian cooking weekend with 2 other couples/friends. We had no idea what to expect so we came with open minds and large appetites. The entire weekend was fabulous; we enjoyed homemade cheeses, homemade cured salmon and wonderful French toast to name a few dishes. We spent 8 hours on Saturday cooking a meal for ourselves with a wonderful CIA instructor. Our menu was quite ambitious but we succeeded and everyone tried a food that they were not familiar with. It was a great learning experience. The most unexpected part was the innkeepers. When we left we felt like we had made new friends. They were so informative of the food and area. They both have a wonderful passion for food and where it comes from.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

My wife, dog, Oliver and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend for an Italian cooking class. Students collaborated on a Mario Batali-style meal - this was a blast. Our hosts, Kevin and Sherri could not be more hospitable. Additionally, their wine selections and culinary skills are world class. We enjoyed this visit even more because we could bring our dog. Hopkins Ordinary has a well-appointed cottage that is very private and comfortable.

Kevin and Sherri did an outstanding job of renovating this 1820's inn by maintaining the sense of an old inn while providing the modern essentials that make a visit that much more enjoyable.

The Inn is very convenient to Washington DC and there is abundant outdoor activities and dining opportunities nearby. Our hosts were very helpful in rrecommending hiking trails, restaurants, and other activities.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivers_Dad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,021 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
340 reviews
13.1 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
192 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,334 reviews
6.5 mi away
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Sperryville
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range: $130 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing