We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Great Hosts, Anything but Ordinary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2009

I booked the Hopkins Ordinary for New Year's Eve to get away from DC. The drive, while not short, was well worth the effort.

The owners/hosts were gracious, kind and knowledgeable. They were engaging but careful not to intrude. They brought me tea to my room, lit a fire in the fireplace and had me try some seriously delicious home made cookies.

When I woke up the following morning, there was a great breakfast with three different varieties of bacon. Following my meal, the owners helped me book a massage and directed me to Old Rag, a near by mountain where I was able to take a wonderful and challenging 3 hour hike.

The Hopkins Ordinary will not change your life but it will certainly make it enjoyable while you're there. This place gets my overwhelming approval.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mlogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 396 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2008

My husband and I were "stuck" without a reservation the night of our anniversary. The Hopkins Ordinary had one room available (the Oregano). While the room was small, it did not feel the least bit claustrophobic. The double bed was a concern to us (as my husband is tall), but the mattress was so comfortable, that we slept well. The bathroom was great-big shower with twin shower heads and a nice clean cottage feel. I would reiterate what someone else mentioned-this is not "cutesy" or "country". It is clean and simple, with great linens and nice toiletries.
The innkeepers were helpful and friendly without being invasive. Upon our arrival, Sherry offered to make reservations at the Thornton River Grille across the street.
While relaxing between check-in and dinner, we sat on the top porch in rocking chairs and watched the little town of Sperryville wrap up its day. Sherry brought us wine and tea and cookies to "hold us over".
The whole experience was lovely. It seemed the innkeepers were only interested in our happiness and well-being. They do a great job,

Stayed: November 2008
Thank thehappyitinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

The pictures off of the website for the Hopkins Ordinary do not do this B&B justice- this place is amazingly beautiful and classy. The actual B&B is a great house which was renoved a few years ago. Inside, it is warm and comfortable, and the room we stayed in (The Lavender room) was perfect. My wife especially loved the claw foot tub in the bathroom. Although some reviews said that Sherri and Kevin (the owners of the B&B) were unwelcoming, we have no idea how that was posted. They were amazingly helpful, made a great breakfast (the french toast is great) and helped us make dinner reservations before we came. Overall, we would highly recommend this B&B for the room, service and breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esquiar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Hopkins Ordinary is an extraordinary bed and breakfast in Sperryville, Virgina five miles from the Thornton Gap entrance to Shenandoah National Park and only a couple of miles from The Inn at Little Washington. We stayed there with another couple for five nights. We spent the days hiking many park trails, tasting Virgina wines, and eating at local restaurants.
Hopkins Ordinary is in the National Historic Register and is a completely renovated old hotel (ordinary) that is spic and span spotless and as friendly and welcoming a place as we have ever stayed at. The hosts do a great job of making you feel at home without being intrusive, and give great advice on everything from where to eat, drink, hike, ride, antique, etc.
The breakfasts are unbelievable, truly. Each breakfast was a gourmet gastronomical feast for eyes and mouth. Braskfast ranged from homemade sausage with French Toast made with homemade bread and their secret recipe, to fritatas with just baked scones always with fresh fruit from their garden and juice and coffee. The hosts, Kevin and Sherri, truly seem to love what they do and sourthern charm just oozes through.
The rooms are individually air conditioned with ceiling fans, and the beds while not kings, very comfortable queen sized, with very nice antique furnishings throughout.
One can walk to dinner and return to sit on their wrap around porch, drink some more wine, and soak in small little artistic Sperryville.
This is an outstanding B and B and we highly recommend it to one and all.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed here in mid-June to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary. We really liked it, and are planning to go back again with friends in the fall. It was exactly what we expected and wanted. The hosts were gracious, friendly, and accomodating. The breakfasts are tasty; they served probably the best French toast I've ever had. They have their own herb garden (which my wife was impressed by), and they enjoy cooking. They also make their own cheeses - which we loved. The rooms were clean, and stocked with reading materials. The beds were comfortable and firm, and the noise level was extremely low. The inn is in a very small and quiet town, and there's also a great restaurant across the street... I can't remember the name but worth checking out. The inn is also centrally located to some of Virginia's best vineyards. My wife and I spent the entire Saturday wine tasting and checking out the local scenery. In the evening we went to the Inn at Little Washington... and I wasn't impressed. The food was good but not great. When you're spending $200 per head you expect to be blown away... and the Inn at Little Washington didn't amaze me. Back to the Hopkins... probably what impressed me the most and made the stay as perfect as it was... were the hosts Sherri and Kevin. Their down to earth, engaging, and most of all made us feel at home. Before I forget... my wife and I did the whole Skyline Drive thing. It's actually very close to the Hopkins Ordinary. We had great weather so the views from the park were perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GottaSeeThisWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

My wife and I were married in nearby Luray Caverns and we made arrangements to stay at the Hopkins Ordinary during the big weekend. Kevin and Sherri (the innkeepers) were very accommodating and worked closely with us to make sure everything was right. We had them make dinner for the wedding party after the ceremony — we can highly recommend their culinary skills! Their breakfasts are not to be missed. In addition, they know the area very well and have consistently guided us to everything from hiking trails to fabulous local off-the-beaten
-path dining spots. We strongly recommend Hopkins Ordinary and the proprietors to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CKing33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

My wife and I celebrated our 9th anniversary with a trip to Hopkins Ordinary. As first the name threw us, but it ended up being anything but ordinary. The hosts are foodies like us, and they had just started harvesting swiss chard fromt their garden. Cool. Oh, and don't forget the wine they so kindly provided us on our arrival -- a classy touch. Breakfast was broiled grapefruit with brown sugar and cinnamon; the sugar caramelized and totally balanced the tart of the grapefruit. Nice scones with oatmeal and raisins and moist, creamy frittatas with a choice of salmon with leeks and goat cheese (yum), or Swiss chard with pesto and feta cheese. Good stuff. The town of Sperryville is totally cute, and we had very nice hikes on the Appalachian trail -- plus a few halfway-decent Virginia wineries not far away. We couldn't eat at the Inn at Little Washington, which is nearby, but there's a FANTASTIC dinner place called Foti's that's also really close. WOW. They can cook. Definitely recommend the total experience.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DCFoodFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,017 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
58 reviews
6.5 mi away
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Sperryville
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
253 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
329 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range: $130 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing