We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is an outstanding B&B. Located in the quiet (which is a wonderful thing) town of Sperryville this bed and breakfast is a great place to spend a relaxing couple of days. From the minute you walk through the door and are greeted with cookies to the delicious breakfast everything is just right. We stayed here over a two day period for a wedding at a nearby winery and it was the perfect relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 391 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a lovely old building, full of character, that has been renovated with care and aesthetic consideration. I like the simple shape of the rooms and consider that the simplistic style of furnishing suits them perfectly. We stayed in the Oregano room at the front of the building, and while there is some traffic noise from the nearby main road, this is more than offset by the sheer pleasure of being able to sit on the veranda to watch the world go by - albeit delightfully slowly.

On arrival we were offered a glass of chilled white wine, which was just what was needed after a long day's drive. There were also delicious home-baked cookies in the parlour.

Breakfast was a delight, with fresh fruit followed by a plate of three different frittata, all of which were delicious, followed by a very tasty carrot and currant muffin. It is clear that the owners of this establishment, Kevin and Sherri, care passionately about the house and the business and this is evident in the quality of the accommodation and the exemplary service.

We enjoyed our brief stay here and highly recommend it.

John and Karen Houston
Knaresborough
North Yorkshire
UK

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at Hopkins Ordinary for a short trip away following our wedding. We'd stayed a couple of years ago and knew this would be the nice quiet place we wanted to return to in order to relax and rejuvenate. We went to wineries, caverns and went into Culpeper and had delicious meals, both across the street at the Thornton River Grille and about 10 minutes away at the Inn at Little Washington. Everything was within short, easy and scenic drives. Most importantly, the Inn is well-maintained, spotlessly clean and brilliantly managed by Kevin and Sherri who are fantastic innkeepers. Their breakfasts are delicious, their hospitality superb and each has a treasure trove of ideas of how to spend time in the area. In total another wonderful stay and made so by the location of the Inn and through the easy hospitality of Sherri and Kevin. We highly recommend. (and let's add the delicious afternoon sweet treats available in the main sitting room!)

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Rosemary - cozy with a fireplace and also Lavender which is likely the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a fabulous and relaxing night stay at Hopkins Ordinary. When we arrived there were homemade chocolate chip walnut cookies-- delicious!!!--- and we had a complimentary glass of white wine on the patio. Such a relaxing trip. The breakfast was wonderful too.... yummy French toast with strawberries and bacon. This is a great place to go with lots of outdoorsy activities nearby. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oregano in the front of the house so we could sit on the patio and watch the activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HokieMom80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hopkins Ordinary Inn while touring wineries in the Shenandoah Valley. It was the perfect place in the perfect location. The Inn is both beautiful and comfortable; it has been nicely restored and retains it's historic and unique character. The owners, Kevin and Sherri, are perfect hosts and enjoy sharing the history of the house, their knowledge of the area and local activities. They can recommend local hiking trails and direct you to nearby trailheads you can walk to from the Inn. They provide excellent service and the breakfast is delicious. We have already recommended the Hopkins Ordinary to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunbum186 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at Hopkins Ordinary for two nights and loved our stay. The home itself is beautifully restored - high ceilings and original features. Kevin and Sherri were very knowledgeable about the area, particularly hiking and winery recommendations. The breakfast was delicious both days and the service was impeccable without being obtrusive. One example I'll give is that we left a bottle of rose wine in our room when we went out for the day and we returned to a note that the owners moved the wine to their fridge to chill. Just very thoughtful. We found Hopkins Ordinary during a search for local places to stay near the Inn at Little Washington which was only a 10 minute drive down the road. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Hopkins Ordinary was a real treat. Quiet, classy, well-apportioned, comfortable. The owners, Kevin and Sherri, are very friendly and seem to really enjoy having people stay with them. They also have great tips on hiking in the Park and make a delicious breakfast! If you're a dog person, you'll love their two boxers, Jezebel and Guiness. A perfect weekend getaway from the hustle and bustle of DC or other big cities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
11.6 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
138 reviews
24.5 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
172 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
56 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,321 reviews
6.5 mi away
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Sperryville
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main St, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740-2170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range: $130 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing