We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place”
Review of Headmaster's Pub

Headmaster's Pub
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Sperryville
Restaurant details
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Again, another find in Sperryville! The staff was great, the choice of mixed drinks and specialty beers was great, especially the Sangria! They have live music and outdoor seating so check out the schedule. Great place to stop after a nice meal at Thornton River or El Quijote.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Simple menu of tasty food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place has a very limited menu - it includes things like burgers, grilled cheese, and a chicken salad of the day (5/25/14 was curried chicken). The sandwich came on great bread (some kind of multigrain wheat maybe?), and the fries and assorted dipping sauces (ranch, blue cheese, curry, something else I forget) were excellent. They had an extensive beer list too. Good for a pleasant lunch while hitting up the local attractions. And the attached antique store has a ton of beautiful stuff - definitely worth walking through after you eat. They had some outdoor seating, but it was just alongside the parking lot and I don't think there was any shade, so we went inside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hilaryg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average - what can you say about average”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The limited menu is accurate. I am usually more adventurous but had to settle for a BLT. It was Applewood smoked bacon and very good but it was a BLT - as I said, AVERAGE. The wait staff was pleasant, competent and above average. The band that we didn't get to see appeared to be above average, the antiques in the back were cool and extraneous. Overall, average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CigarVolante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Limited menu but has potential”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Dropped by for Saturday lunch. We found the lunch menu to be very limited. The atmosphere is nice, but the lack of menu choices will hold this place back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ducm900s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We felt like we were one of the locals.”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We went to the pub on Halloween night. They had a costume party and live music. The atmosphere was happy and very family and friends oriented. They have the best chili and the service was first rate. The pub is part of a the small old Sperryville School House that also contains about five stores. There is an antique store, a yarn and knitting store and a few others. It is definitely worth the stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank knisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Headmaster's Pub also viewed

Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Flint Hill, Rappahannock County
 
Washington, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Headmaster's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing