We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By Far the Best in Sperryville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm
Ranked #2 of 7 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“By Far the Best in Sperryville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Mt Vernon Inn was immaculately renovated only a few years ago. We had the place to ourselves Friday night and only one other couple Saturday night on a blustery weekend in February. The host, Lillian, is an absolute treasure, born and raised locally, she has worked on the farm for over 30 years, and has the quintessential southern lady grace. The breakfast is fantastic, mostly meat and eggs from the farm, plus other gourmet delights. I don't know if they have a special breed of chickens, but their eggs are incredible - I've never seen such rich colored yolks, and we typically by our eggs from farmers markets. You'll definitely want to visit the farm store and stock up on eggs and meats to savor and share the goodness of this place when you get home. We're mostly vegetarian eaters, but the following weekend we grilled up the lamb sausages, lamb kabobs, and chicken with friends and it was the best grilled meal I've ever had.
The house is divided very nicely so that even when they are full I can imagine you have good privacy. They also have a fantastic patio with tables, a high end charcoal grill and a bocce court, which looks like great fun for anytime other than the dead of winter. I imagine the perfect summer evening, grilling lamb, beef and chicken, playing bocce with new and old friends, with a variety of local wines and beers on ice!
We walked into to town over the new bridge they built and checked out the Copper Fox Antique mart, Wasmund's Distillery (whiskey), and various art galleries - lots of interesting stuff at every stop. We then drove a few miles and did a hike in Shenandoah National Park.
On this winter weekend, we enjoyed a fire in the living room with a snifter of Wasmund's Single Malt we bought at the distillery earlier in the day.
Fantastic weekend. This place is definitely a great value!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Music Room, which has a great sitting space for talking and reading (better than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
104
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

First off let me say that generally speaking, when I hear the words "B&B and Inn" I run the other way. This type of stay has never been my thing due to small quarters that usually require interaction with other guests...I think it's great for those of you who enjoy this type of thing, but it just isn't my travel style. Enter the Inn at Mt. Vernon Farm - where you can enjoy luxury and anonymity along with personal inn-like touches. When we arrived we were greeted by Cliff, the owner who promptly showed us to our room and then let us luxuriate in all of its amenities. We booked the owner's suite which was absolutely beautiful. Everything about it was luxurious and comfortable - the large bed was phenomenal with wonderful linens, beautiful bathroom, comfortable sitting room, the list goes on! My boyfriend is hugely picky about his accommodations and could find nothing wrong with the place on all accounts. Then there's the kitchen - where you can help yourself to anything including complimentary wine, snacks and other beverages. A delicious breakfast was prepared in the morning using many fresh ingredients produced right there on Mt. Vernon Farm. Other amenities included wifi (although you can easily unplug in the country as well) and very nice toiletries. Cliff explained to us that the farm has been in his family for five generations and it was clear that he maintains great pride in all its offerings. This place was fantastic and we will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We chose the owner's suite which was absolutely beautiful. However we had the chance to peek in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The inn and grounds were clearly carefully maintained and the setting is beautiful. We found our room to be quite comfortable. In addition to enjoying a wonderful breakfast, we enjoyed meeting Cliff and learning about his sustainable farming practices and thoughtful stewardship of his family's farm. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The Owner's suite has a separate sitting room, great for those early risers who don't want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I saw the farm house before it was converted to an inn. I am amazed at the transformation Cliff, Cliff and Lucille have accomplished. The accommodations are first rate and the food and wine delicious. This is definitely a working farm. We got up close and personal with a donkey, llama, cows, pigs, sheep and chickens. The only animals on the farm we missed seeing were big trout on the end of a fly line. The whole family had a great time and we definitely plan to return to the Inn.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JFMey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm in November and we absolutely LOVED it! Gorgeous setting, just outside of Sperryville. Very close to Shenandoah National Park. The rooms have been beautifully restored - a perfect combination classic antiques and family heirlooms with modern touches where it counts the most (great mattresses/bedding and recently renovated bathrooms). The food was delicious. The proprietors were absolutely lovely! They even joined us on the bocce ball court. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Brief Room which was lovely and had a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our second stay at the Inn. We travel from Southern California specifically to spend eight wonderful days at the farm. The only mistake we made was not staying longer. Each day was wonderful, made up of great food and conversation and feeling like a part of the community. All the Miller's are a wealth of information about the farm. Lillian has a wonderful knowledge of the area. Can't wait for our next trip! Thanks to all the Millers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Lovely property in Sperryville, a few short miles from the Shenandoah Forest.

Lillian, Cliff, Lucille, and Jackie made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the egg casserole and French coffee.

Rooms are quite luxiourious. Dual shower heads in the bathroom are a nice touch I hadn't seen before. Wish all the rooms had Kingsize beds.

If it was a little cheaper, it would definitely be a 5.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikelWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
11.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
12.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
10.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
4.7 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 10 in Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm

Property: The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm
Address: 147 Mount Vernon Ln, Sperryville, VA 22740-2186
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 845 acres of working farm land in the heart of Rappahannock County, the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm offers an award-winning, romantic escape into tranquility. Just 72 miles from Washington DC, guests of the Inn are provided with the opportunity to explore the beauty of the Shenandoah, enjoy a once in a lifetime dining experience at the nearby Inn at Little Washington, and fall back in love with all that nature has to offer. With 6 historically restored private rooms, the Inn at Mount Vernon is the perfectly intimate, unique, and personal escape that you and your loved one will never forget. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing