We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word, outstanding.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm
Ranked #2 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We've found it.

We've found the perfect inn in Virginia's Shenandoah Valley foothills. It is perfectly sited for autumn vistas from every room and is owned by personable, charming, gracious hosts. The absolutely beautifully restored house (an early 19th-century farmhouse on a bluff overlooking a stunning view of the opposite ridge) is a model of genteel living; one could be forgiven for thinking that--as other reviewers have noted--that you've returned to a country home owned by generous family members. It was our first time there, and by the time we left, we felt we'd made new, genuine friends.

We were there last weekend, and happened to watch the October snowfall from our breakfast table (and breakfast is outstanding, by the way). I couldn't think of a better way to spend a relaxing, tranquil weekend.

Treat yourself; join the Millers for a memorable, rejuvenating weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs suite, which was great; next time we'll ask to stay in the cottage, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 163 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I spent a picturesque weekend at the Mount Vernon Farm. From the start our drive to Sperryville was easy and quick from Northern Virginia on a lazy Friday afternoon.
With the backdrop of the mountains with gorgeous colors, the drive up to the mansion was lovely with the local livestock greeting us. The welcome by the Inn Keeper was ideal, given his family has owned the farm for centuries, we immediately felt at home. Well-appointed, first-class room and amentities with a gorgeous touches throughout allowing for plush comforts and privacy. We were in the Owner's Suite which I highly recommend for too many reasons to note. The snowfall was picturesque as we dined on breakfast and visited with the Millers to plan our day. So many experiences to hold us to our next visit. We look forward to horseback riding, fishing and visiting with the family again soon. Thanks so very much for a memorable birthday celebration for my husband. It was perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbuddy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed at The Inn for our annual Virginia country weekend. We've staying in many B&Bs and this one is absolutely one of the best we've ever stayed in. The house is beautiful and authentic in its decor with beautifully updated bathrooms. The views are spectacular with 360 degree views of rolling hills. The innkeepers are just about the most gracious and interesting innkeepers we've ever met. We spent four nights and came to look forward to our breakfast conversations with the owners for the intellectual stimulation. The breakfast meals themselves were delicious and graciously served by Lillian and Jackie. We loved the charm of Sperryville itself and its quick access to Skyline Drive, Washington (VA) and Warrenton. We felt like we had the best of all worlds and look forward to returning again and again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a television. If you want to watch tv, make sure your room has a television.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chele32789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I just spent the weekend in this gorgeous colonial style mansion with all the comforts of modernicity. I appreciated the six generation history behind the Miller family that are shared with pride and beauty throughout the estate. The calmness and elegance is a reprieve from the noisy city that I left in Los Angeles. The breakfast was awesome which included a buffet of homemade organic blackberry pancakes. The berries were grown in a nearby garden. The eggs were from healthy free range and grass fed chickens which I personally visited. The quality of the food was top of the line, natural, organic, no preservatives or additives, nor artificial sweeteners. My expectations were surpassed. I would recommend this retreat B&B to anyone who wants to be treated like family. Thank you Miller Family. I'll be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a wonderful view of green pastures, mountain forests, and vintage dairy barns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1BellaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This property is beyond any description I am capable of writing. From the moment we arrived, we realized we had landed somewhere very special. First of all the place is beautiful. We stayed five nights and didn't want our time to every end. Every moment with the Miller family is something you will always remember. They are kind, educated and just great folks. Breakfast is a social event, with the best bacon and sausage from anywhere, then you'll find out it is from their farm. We sat out on the front porch with Cliff Sr. and watched the sunset. This place is heaven on earth. I would rate it six stars!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

What wonderful spot in this world! Visiting The Inn at Mount Vernon with my two girls was so pleasant and comfortable. It was like visiting "cousins" in the country. The Miller's were the perfect host & hostess. We not only had a beautiful room with a very modern bath, but the breakfast was one of the best. If you desire you will find Cliff (the young Cliff) is a willing partner to play rummy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey58026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our mom-daughter weekend was wonderful at the Inn at Mt. Vernon Farm. Was it the modern renovation of this 1827 home? Maybe it was the enjoyable conversations with the Miller family. And we all enjoyed the furry friends found around and about (if you want to find them!). The breakfast was superb with selections grown right there on the farm (the lamb sausage, well, you have to try it to believe how delicious!). The rooms were comfortable (my sister wanted to take the bed home with her) and the bathrooms were wonderfully modernized. From the porches to the game table (cards with port and conversation...what a nice way to close out a rainy evening!)--from the barns to the tasteful landscaping, this was a comfortable yet elegant way to get away from it all. Highly recommended!

Notes for surrounding activities: wineries abound and the Copper Fox Distrilley along with that entire complex fills an afternoon easily! Many art galleries (including those in Little Washington, just 15 minutes up the road). We stopped for apples, too at Williams Farm.

Room Tip: We had the Fox's Lair room with 2 Queen size beds. Perfect for our situation and gave plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happywaterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,013 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
56 reviews
6.6 mi away
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Sperryville
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,326 reviews
4.7 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
318 reviews
12.7 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm

Address: 147 Mount Vernon Ln, Sperryville, VA 22740-2186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range: $249 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 845 acres of working farm land in the heart of Rappahannock County, the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm offers an award-winning, romantic escape into tranquility. Just 72 miles from Washington DC, guests of the Inn are provided with the opportunity to explore the beauty of the Shenandoah, enjoy a once in a lifetime dining experience at the nearby Inn at Little Washington, and fall back in love with all that nature has to offer. With 6 historically restored private rooms, the Inn at Mount Vernon is the perfectly intimate, unique, and personal escape that you and your loved one will never forget. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing