We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escape To Serenity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm
Ranked #2 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Escape To Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

I just spent the weekend in this gorgeous colonial style mansion with all the comforts of modernicity. I appreciated the six generation history behind the Miller family that are shared with pride and beauty throughout the estate. The calmness and elegance is a reprieve from the noisy city that I left in Los Angeles. The breakfast was awesome which included a buffet of homemade organic blackberry pancakes. The berries were grown in a nearby garden. The eggs were from healthy free range and grass fed chickens which I personally visited. The quality of the food was top of the line, natural, organic, no preservatives or additives, nor artificial sweeteners. My expectations were surpassed. I would recommend this retreat B&B to anyone who wants to be treated like family. Thank you Miller Family. I'll be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a wonderful view of green pastures, mountain forests, and vintage dairy barns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BellaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
105
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This property is beyond any description I am capable of writing. From the moment we arrived, we realized we had landed somewhere very special. First of all the place is beautiful. We stayed five nights and didn't want our time to every end. Every moment with the Miller family is something you will always remember. They are kind, educated and just great folks. Breakfast is a social event, with the best bacon and sausage from anywhere, then you'll find out it is from their farm. We sat out on the front porch with Cliff Sr. and watched the sunset. This place is heaven on earth. I would rate it six stars!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

What wonderful spot in this world! Visiting The Inn at Mount Vernon with my two girls was so pleasant and comfortable. It was like visiting "cousins" in the country. The Miller's were the perfect host & hostess. We not only had a beautiful room with a very modern bath, but the breakfast was one of the best. If you desire you will find Cliff (the young Cliff) is a willing partner to play rummy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey58026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our mom-daughter weekend was wonderful at the Inn at Mt. Vernon Farm. Was it the modern renovation of this 1827 home? Maybe it was the enjoyable conversations with the Miller family. And we all enjoyed the furry friends found around and about (if you want to find them!). The breakfast was superb with selections grown right there on the farm (the lamb sausage, well, you have to try it to believe how delicious!). The rooms were comfortable (my sister wanted to take the bed home with her) and the bathrooms were wonderfully modernized. From the porches to the game table (cards with port and conversation...what a nice way to close out a rainy evening!)--from the barns to the tasteful landscaping, this was a comfortable yet elegant way to get away from it all. Highly recommended!

Notes for surrounding activities: wineries abound and the Copper Fox Distrilley along with that entire complex fills an afternoon easily! Many art galleries (including those in Little Washington, just 15 minutes up the road). We stopped for apples, too at Williams Farm.

Room Tip: We had the Fox's Lair room with 2 Queen size beds. Perfect for our situation and gave plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywaterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We just returned from our stay at the Inn at Mt Vernon Farm. I will say at the outset that staying at B and B's is something I tend to avoid at all costs as I do not like the cramped quarters, lack of privacy and generally fussy interiors. But this was a delightful experience from the time we rounded the driveway with the fabulous view to when we left the handsome house with the lovely garden. The family is super welcoming and the house decor strikes the perfect balance with antiques and comfort. There are no overdone, fussy rooms here -- just very comfortable beds and lovely cotton sheets and good pillows. The bathrooms are all up to date and nice renovated. Our hosts could not have been nicer and we were impressed with the farm in general and their work producing and promoting local products. we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NW w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Airy, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

There are a lot of choices for B&Bs in Rhappahannock County, but you will not find a friendlier, classier, and more comfortable spot anywhere in the area. Located on a working farm which employs a very forward-thinking approach to raising animals, The Inn at Mt Vernon combines the best of the old with upgraded amenities throughout including completely refurbished bathrooms and showers. Not primitive or backwards by any means. The views from the porches are spectacular at any time, and in any weather. It is quiet, and unless you knew there were farm animals, you wouldn't know since they are kept some distance from the house (no worries about a rooster waking you up at zero-dark thirty!) The rooms are large and well appointed. The breakfasts -- are simply wonderful -- ranging from a homemade granola mixture to farm fresh eggs, bacon, lamb, and on and on. Coffee is made via a french press and of course is a great way to wake up. Lots to do in the immedate area and the proprietors -- Cliff Miller III and IV -- know where to send you, and what to avoid. The soaps and shampoos are top notch -- something English -- but well appreciated. We spent 5 days in the area and had a blast.

Room Tip: The website provides and excellent overview and photos of the rooms, The ones on the second floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyandDeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Inn is simply lovely...beautifully and tastefully decorated with a warm and inviting host. A wonderful respite with pastoral views from the front porch - the perfect spot to watch the end of summer thunderstorms over the Blue Ridge Mountains. The full american breakfast on Spode "Foxhunt" china was delicious. My only regret was my stay was only one night. Looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loves2travel90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
4.7 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm

Property: The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm
Address: 147 Mount Vernon Ln, Sperryville, VA 22740-2186
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 845 acres of working farm land in the heart of Rappahannock County, the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm offers an award-winning, romantic escape into tranquility. Just 72 miles from Washington DC, guests of the Inn are provided with the opportunity to explore the beauty of the Shenandoah, enjoy a once in a lifetime dining experience at the nearby Inn at Little Washington, and fall back in love with all that nature has to offer. With 6 historically restored private rooms, the Inn at Mount Vernon is the perfectly intimate, unique, and personal escape that you and your loved one will never forget. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing