We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Whisky”

Copper Fox Distillery
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Sperryville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is where your new favorite whisky comes from! At Copper Fox Distillery we dedicate ourselves to making great American spirits by emphasizing a combination of innovation and tradition. We start from scratch, floor malting our locally grown barley, flavoring the grain with apple and cherry wood smoke, then aging with a progressive series of hand toasted wood chips in used bourbon barrels. All of our fine spirits are available for tasting and purchase at the distillery. We look forward to seeing you.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Whisky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had a great tour - pity no sampling, but love what we bought!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCFoodFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    29
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FUN and fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stopped by because we were curious. We were so pleasantly surprised by getting a personal tour of the who distillery process- I now know where whiskey comes from! Great people, great tour, and wonderful product. This was a super experience in a short amount of time! RECOMMENDED!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigcityiowacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Interesting to see how Whiskey is made and how this small family business is growing. I highly recommend this tour...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdelmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect little tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The distillery does tours on the hour from 10-6, but call ahead to double-check it's on. It was just the two of us on a 4 pm tour on a Friday for about 20 or 30 minutes, but what a great experience seeing the whole process from bags of grains through sprouting, smoking, fermenting, distilling, casking and bottling. Perfect if you're interested in the science behind the scenes and would probably be very good for families with kids age 10+ or so. The tour is free, but you'll feel compelled to purchase at least one bottle of whiskey ... and they start at about $22.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank schulzwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sperryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

lot of fun and interesting really nice people. Worth a trip

Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Fox Distillery also viewed

Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Copper Fox Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing