We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
55
7
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
7
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews working farm shenandoah national park frittata perfect weekend fresh veggies the main house bacon rooms are spacious other guests mike cows hike rag mountains buster horses cottage
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 66 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent two nights in this beautiful place over a warm weekend. The farm is a wonderland of sights and sounds, including lots of different animals (cats, pigs, horses, cows and chickens) amidst a gorgeous mountain view landscape. We enjoyed the relaxing and amazing breakfasts of farm fresh produce and eggs, warm hospitality of Susan and her husband who helped us locate a good hike, the pool, the hot tub and the wonderful claw foot tub in our room. It is very down to earth not corporate slick (whole foods toiletries), real towels (not the hotel-y kind) and the occassional stink bug, but hey, it is a working organic farm. It is the lack of pretension that is so welcome. There is not much to do in Sperryville, but if you have a plan (a hike, relaxing around the pool, antiquing or visiting vineyards) and don't mind the limited dining options, you will be fine. (there is a pizza place in town and a good restaurant and a whiskey distillery too). You are also within a 15 minute or so drive to the Inn at Little Washington. Can't wait to return to this haven away from hectic city life.

Room Tip: loved the room with the claw foot tub, bed slightly hard, great view with moo's too (if the cows are nearby)
Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank lovescrabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a night at the Belle Meade and LOVED IT! Susan is a most gracious hostess - warm, engaging, makes you feel at home. Our room was beautiful - five big windows with rolling hills outside. We loved wandering around the working farm. Breakfast was incredible - home-made scones (with home-milled multi-grain flours), frittata, fruit...perfect way to start the day. Location is perfect for hiking as we were doing Old Rag. Can't compliment this place enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We just enjoyed our second visit to Belle Meade. Susan and Mike have created a wholesome slice of heaven. Breakfast comes from the farm at Belle meade and everything is fesh and organic. Susan also runs a school on the grounds, with impressive academics, and the kids also learn the land and have a hand in the process. The views of Old Rag mountain are spectacular in this area, and the property grounds are well maintained. The B&B accomodations also bear the same natural elegance that inspires all the activity in and about the place. The weekend there is such a refreshing break from the pace and commercialism of city life -- it truly brings a deep sense of peace amd wholeness. Also, a massage by Elizabeth Lee during your stay is an extra treat. She, too, has vast experience and brings a holistic approach to massaging the body and spirit. If you are looking for a genuine experience, this is it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband and I found this charming place when it first opened and have been returning every year for great country weekends with Mike and Susan (the owners). The rooms are comfortable and cosy with wonderful decor, including some very nice paintings accenting the antique furniture. We love the farm setting, the pool and the hot tub. A number of our friends have adopted this place as well and thank us for finding it. Hikes in the area are wonderful and the farm breakfast is healthy and delicious. It's easy to find a good meal in town and in the surrounding towns for lunch and dinner. This last time, we went with 3 other couples and had a blast!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a B&B around Sperryville, an area we both think is about as beautiful as it comes, and we are so glad that we decided to stay at Belle Meade. 5 stars for sure. If you are just looking for a place to stay, well there are many of those in the area. But if you are interested in staying at a beautiful, working, sustainable farm run by a wonderful couple, that not only feeds locals (and guests!) from the farm but also supports a summer camp and school, all situated in the rolling Shenandoah valley, then this is your place. Here are some details from our experience. We will surely return.

The farm is in a gorgeous area up on a hill with plenty of great views - the warm sun found us in the morning and evening hanging out on the porch looking out toward old rag mountain. We stayed in the little cottage just off the main house and loved it. It has its own porch on two sides looking out over the farm and pool. The decor was clean and simple (we dont care much for the over-decorated thing). The main rooms also looked very comfortable in the house, which is a great old Victorian.

The food was really good. No joke. I wish they would serve dinner. The waffles were ground at home and were wonderfully textured and rich with the local apple compote on top. The milk was great (their milk cow's name is Cotton, how could the milk not be good). The next morning we had an egg dish cooked in a big iron pan with pork from the farm. Also really good. That reminds me, when you go, ask to buy a couple pork chops if they have any. Wow! Great flavor and good price too.

The owners, Susan and Mike, were great. They both made us feel at home and relaxed and were accommodating to our schedule - they reserved a dinner reservation for us and had the hot tub the perfect temperature after our day hike and in the evenings to watch the stars. They didnt mind at all when we tagged along to watch the pigs get fed and the cow milked.

The area is fun, lots to do. This trip we toured the copper fox distillery (really cool, be careful when tempted to smell the fermentation vat!), hiked up part of old rag, a couple antique shops, good food, etc.

I could keep writing, about all the great things they have going on - they run a summer camp where the kids can participate in the farming activities and a school too, focused on holistic and sustainable living - but you'll just have to go.

We miss you blue (and cotton, who woke us up one morning)...
Luke and Erika
thanks,

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews