We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages
Ranked #4 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“A true getaway”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just stayed in the carriage house and it was truly what we were looking for which was a total disconnect from the D.C. area. We took a cooler with a picnic dinner so after wine tasting we sat on our own personal deck overlooking the small river and enjoyed our wine and dinner in total quiet. Jim served us super moist, warm from the oven muffins and cinnamon bread in the mornings which were amazingly delicious. At night the lightening bugs came out and the whole area looked like it had been dusted with glitter. It's like the place that time forgot, no wifi, cell phone or TV but it is so refreshing. The views are spectacular and skyline drive is a short trip away. I've never been wine tasting before so I can't compare our experience but Jim walked us through all the wines and explained why they tasted the way they did. We bought several bottles to take home and I have a new found appreciation for wine.

Room Tip: Perfect for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADYBUG717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Folks

A picnic on the deck is the way to go, topped off with fireflies....you guys found the essence of a stay at Sharp Rock. Thanks for staying with us and I am glad we could get you into a little wine as well.

Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here as a convenient place to hike Old Rag in October, and it ended up being a great mini-vacation. We stayed in the Cottage, which I would stay at again. We were able to grill out and cook a full dinner, while watching the sunset, which is much more relaxing than any restaurant.
Having been to a dozen or so Virginia wineries, this one stands out for excellent wine (I'm hooked on Old Rag Red), a comfortable atmosphere, and reasonable prices.

The Cottage combines the best of a B&B, with a delicious breakfast, and the comfort of renting a whole home. I hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: The Cottage kitchen is fully stocked - even to include salt, pepper, and butter, and you can buy gro...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnieMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEast1952, Manager at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Folks


Sorry so long in returning the favor of the great review...Thanks!. October is a baeutiful time around here and it sounds as though you enjoyed the best of it. Thanks for your support andd hope you all can visit again

Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at Sharp Rock Vineyard this fall and had a magical experience.

The B&B-
Sometimes the typical B&B experience can be a bit socially awkward, sharing an old house with thin walls and having breakfast with strangers. That was not the case here. Each cottage is private, quiet, quaint and more than adequate!! We absolutely loved having breakfasts, when we wanted, on our own private porch.
There is wifi on the property, but No cell phone service!!
We saw this as an excellent excuse to disconnect and relax.
The vineyard is quiet and secluded, and located at the foot of Old Rag Mountain.
If you enjoy being outdoors, this place will wow you with activities, views and scenery in all directions.
The Wine: Is Excellent!!!!!
The wine, the tasting room and the general ambiance were MUCH BETTER than a nearby vineyard that we also visited.
If you want a pre-packaged experience where you will have to stand in line, and be rushed through your tasting go visit the place that rhymes with Grump!!
At Sharp Rock, we got excellent personal attention and were able to take our time and savor the moment.
We left with a whole case!!!
Over all we give this place 10 stars!!!! (out of 5)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingofthemountains97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Folks

Thanks for the kind words...it was a pleasure having you all and an extra thanks for your hard volunteer work in the vineyard with harvest. Great to see young folks that are willing to do a little manual labor. Hope you all can visit again.

Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I were taking a mini vacation in the area and wanted to stop by a winery. We aren't big wine connoisseurs but when we read the reviews for Sharp Rock and saw there were wine dogs we were sold.
Getting to Sharp Rock itself is an adventure, but very much worth it. About a mile off the main road, the gravel road leading to the vineyard is beautiful and ensures your total seclusion. The lack of cell phone service when you get there really solidifies this peaceful getaway.
The winery tasting room upstairs is sparse but cozy and Jimm is very friendly, welcoming, and knowledgable.
After tasting what felt like 8 or 9 wines we ended up buying three bottles. We also bought two glasses to enjoy outside with our lunch that we brought.
There is an abundance of seating outside (shaded, in the sun, a hammock, and a swing even), and the scenery was amazing and peaceful. Sharp Rock really is located in the perfect getaway area of the valley. We walked around, enjoyed the company of the friendly dogs, and really relaxed and took in the spectacular views. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I am so glad you all "found" us and enjoyed your visit. Being a very small winery we strive to provide a comfortable low key experience for our guests and it sounds as though we do okay by you all. Thanks for the support and please come back.

Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just returned from our weekend at Sharp Rock Vineyard B&B. What a fantastic time! My husband and I were joined by another couple at Sharp Rock to hike Old Rag. We stayed in the 2-story cottage and it was perfect. Peaceful, quiet, a lovely dusk walk through the vineyards. Our friends had an adjustment to living "unconnected"! No Wi-Fi, no cell service, no tv and I have to say my husband and I thought that was just the weekend break we needed. One bedroom is on the ground floor and one upstairs. Oddly, the bathroom is upstairs in the bedroom, but we're all good friends so it didn't matter to us at all. Our host, Jimm, was exceptionally gracious, sharing information about his grapes and various wines. We enjoyed many of the wines and purchased several. Fresh fruit and hot, freshly baked goods for breakfast while sitting on the porch....it just doesn't get any better than that. I highly recommend Sharp Rock and fully expect that we will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Folks

It was great to have you all and congrats on your successful hike of Old Rag....hope you choose us for your next adventure. Thanks for the kind words and have a great rest of the summer.

Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our 2 nites at Sharp Rock cottage were serene, restful, and in a beautiful setting.We enjoyed our yummy breakfast of fresh fruit & delicious scones & cranberry bread,over looking the vineyards and running stream.
If you are seeking a complete break from social networking, electronics etc, this is it. Be prepared for no cell or internet service replaced by an abundance of natural beauty and quiet .
Nature trails are very nearby for hiking Old Rag & White Oak in the Shenandoah.
Also after a wine tasting late afternoon, we knew Sharp Rock had superior wines ! We left with 2 cases !!
Joy & Richard

Room Tip: we were in the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajoy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Joy & Richard

It was great to have you all with us and I am so glad you all had such a relaxing visit.. I enjoyed our conversations and connections with the past and hope you enjoy the wine for months to come. A future hike up Old Rag is calling! Thanks Again, Jimm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a wine trip to get away from the stress of work and found a delightful respite in Sharp Rock. The carriage house provided a great little deck overlooking the little creek; the winery pets gave us company; Jimm (the owner) gave us wonderful wine and great dinner recommendations. Every morning we received the most delicious muffins we have ever tasted and a bowl of very fresh fruit. The atmosphere is so serene and the entire trip was exactly what we needed! A short trip over the mountains gets you to Luray where you can do the caverns, some other wineries and some antique shopping. I would highly recommend this B&B and winery - we will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEast1952, Owner at Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Johanna

Thanks for the kind words and we are pleased you and Charlie had a restful weekend. It sounded as though you all have busy lives so I am glad you could find a quiet and peaceful place to spend the weekend. PS..This is as close as I get to social networking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.7 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
974 reviews
13.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
211 reviews
7.3 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,240 reviews
10.3 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages

Property: Sharp Rock Vineyard Bed and Breakfast Cottages
Address: 5 Sharp Rock Rd, Sperryville, VA 22740-2333
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two private cottages located at Sharp Rock Vineyards and situated with mountain views and overlooking the Hughes River. The closest lodging to hiking at Old Rag Mountain and a stay includes continental breakfast and a complimentary wine tasting and bottle of wine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing