We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sperryville Restaurant”

Thornton River Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Thornton River Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Sperryville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Serving great American food with a worldly flair, we’re open Tuesday through Saturday from 11am to 3pm for lunch and 5pm to 9pm for dinner. We also serve a lovely brunch on Sunday from 10am to 3pm and dinner from 5pm to 8pm. The atmosphere is at the same time elegant and casual. The richness and warmth of the hand-planed wood-paneled walls provides a comfortable dining experience that can be enjoyed equally in dressy-casual attire or hiking shorts. We are located in the heart of historic Sperryville, Virginia, 75 miles west of Washington D.C., at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We look forward to serving you soon!
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sperryville Restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Service prompt and polite. Martini was very good and an adequate wine list. Lamb chops were small and overcooked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank moranpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    158
    39
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood food, but don't go out of your way.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stopped in while doing a two night stay in Rapahannock county. The decor and ambiance are two to three star, while the prices are a couple levels above. The beer was warm, my bouillabaisse was not as good as I make at home and my wife had a disappointing scallop app as an entree. The staff were friendly and quickly comped the scallops after our concerns were relayed to the kitchen. If it was our neighborhood hangout I would give it another try.. But if we find ourselves back in Sperryville, I don't think we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charliegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Twp, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The soups were outstanding and the specials excellent but I was a little disappointed in their steaks, seared a little too much for my liking and not enough seasoning. With that said I would still recommend this place for a nice dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice restaurant”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Do not order the Reuben, period. Everything else was lovely! Seating was allowed even after the 3pm quoted cut-off.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Therese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go over the mountain!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ate twice at the Thornton River Grille - and so glad we made the trip over from Luray... Friendly service, nice atmosphere and great selection and quality!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuisinItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thornton River Grille also viewed

Washington, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 
Washington, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Thornton River Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing