We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleaner Than A Bed And Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Quincy, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cleaner Than A Bed And Breakfast”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

These folks here are amazing. Consistent results on every trip of the five I made all summer long, the attitude toward the customer is top-notch, and the rates were extremely accommodating.

Very clean and comfortable - I thought I was in a $300 room when it was only $100.

They are usually full during the summer, so book early.

Word to the wise...several times they were booked on my last minute business trips and I had to stay in the competitor's room for the first night of a two week trip and I just about died...trust me, the Fairfield IS THE ONLY PLACE to stay in South Hill.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good on all four floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuzphtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    32
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
25
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I am a frequent traveler and a Marriott Platinum member. I try to stay at Marriott Properties but am not shy about telling it like it is to the Property Owners or the Public.
I come to South Hill two-three times a year. The staff has always been attentive and nice, but that doesn't feed the bull dog if the rooms are bad. After all, that's why you come to a hotel isn't it?
I have always found my room(s) to be clean, well maintained. The hotel is mostly quiet except when there is a large group of 13 year old baseball players staying at the Hotel. <See I do remember last years mess>. I was warned when I checked in but was so glad they checked out the next day else I would have.
I do suggest staying here if in the area. But they need to keep the 'kids' on the first floor and the business folk on the top floor.

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if any Groups are booked at the same time you are. Go else where if there is. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank behrcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed 6 hours there but it was nice and cozy a good pull over when on the road to rest spot. Regular Marriott set up indoor pool and hot tub nice for the kids all food within a mile of hotel. Soft beds.free breakfast because it's a Fairfield inn. It nice and the staff was great

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

First, there are several acceptable hotels to choose from in South Hill. I’ve stayed at Best Western, Comfort Inn and Fairfield Inn.

We reserved a NS King Suite and stayed a week this summer, and have stayed here about 4 times total (we earned a free room with a Marriott Promotion.

So many good things about this Fairfield… the rooms are fairly larger and the bathroom was huge (had a fan, large counter space). I didn’t use the pool, but I did use the exercise room, which was small, but had good equipment.

Breakfast was typical, with one meat (bacon/sausage), cereals, instant eggs, waffle station, the juices were always a bit watery, but I wasn’t expecting Tropicana.

The bathroom towels were mostly new/soft, occasionally one or two were coarse from use. Nice toiletries, but we had to ask for lotion at the front desk. We especially like the track/adjustable lighting above the bed.

Front desk staff were generally responsive, if not always friendly.

I have noticed the prices for this Fairfield have gone up about 15-20 percent this past year, so when we visit South Hill it is it now our 2nd or 3rd option behind Best Western or Comfort Inn, though it is probably the nicest/newest of the three.

We booked the suite to get a micro-fridge, but I was later told every room at this Fairfield has a micro/fridge.

Room Tip: We booked the suite to get a micro-fridge, but I was later told every room at this Fairfield has a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slt8y1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have stayed at various hotels with King Suites and this just was not what I expected. Most suites have a sitting area that is separated from the main sleeping area by a partial wall which gives some privacy. This sitting area was really close to the bed with very little room to pass by the sofa bed to get to the bathrrom. I was very happy with the hot breakfast.

Room Tip: If you feel a little cramped ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 543Lynn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was surprised at how quiet this hotel was. It was easy to find and had a large field behind it which must account for the quiet. The room had plenty of room and a good layout. Although the bathroom was similar in size to that of other hotels, the layout (not having the toilet in front of the tub) made it feel larger. It took a while to get hot water (4th floor) but the shower was fine once it warmed up. Be aware that although this is a non-smoking hotel, the "smoking area" is just outside the front door so there was usually a group of smokers whenever I went in or out. The wi-fi worked well. Breakfast was good. "Scrambled" eggs with salsa and shredded cheese toppings, pork sausage patties, and the usual mix of breads and cereals. The lady in the breakfast area was very friendly. The only problem I experienced was cigarette smoke coming into my bathroom as I was getting ready in the morning. Within a few minutes the bedroom was beginning to stink. I suspect a guest was ignoring the No Smoking policy and was smoking in the bathroom with the exhaust fan running, not realizing that this just blows it into the adjacent bathroom. I reported it to the front desk when I checked out and they were very apologetic and said they would look into it and make sure that the rooms were properly cleaned. In my opinion this is a very clean well-run hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler10311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is by far one of the cleanest hotels I have visited in quite awhile. The furnishings were modern and well cared for. The indoor pool and hot tub area was very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downside was not the fault of the hotel but the drunk construction workers slamming door and smoking outside of my window at 2 a.m. When I called the front desk she went right out and asked them to leave or go back to the room and be quiet.
I plan on staying here again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room located on the front of the building. The suites are like being in a 5 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManOSteel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Hill
Hampton Inn South Hill
#1 of 7 in South Hill
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus South Hill Inn
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in South Hill
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn South Hill
Days Inn South Hill
#5 of 7 in South Hill
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in South Hill
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
Address: 150 Arnold Dr, South Hill, VA 23970-5444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield South Hill
Fairfield Inn South Hill
South Hill Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing