We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Place for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn South Hill
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a Place for Families”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is not a place to take your family. I was afraid to sleep at night because of the variety of crawling insects in the room. I even had to brush them off the bed. Fortunately, I didn't see any bedbugs. The carpeting on the floor was in poor condition with frayed edges. The dresser was sunken in the middle and the drawers didn't completely shut. One evening a couple rented a room next to ours for a few hours. Needless to say, we could hear everything going on over there (you know what I mean). There was no swimming poor or fitness center; however, the wifi worked well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phyllis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    2
    2
    14
See reviews for
10
3
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dillon, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room was nasty.The beds were on wooden boards.The walls were very dirty.The beds did not have fitted sheets.I did not get any room service for two whole days.There was not enough towels for five people.I had to go and buy wash cloths just to use.The bed will move when someone will sit down.This was the worst hotel that I ever stayed in.My advice is to find some where else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pernellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Hill hotels

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

The title says it all. On top of the 100's of dollars I have spent in the last 48 hours to keep from bringing them home, the owners were completely rude and uncooperative. A little bit of compassion and kindness goes a long way, there was none. I am so upset from this experience that I think I may of lost some hope for finding the good in people.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jbeano639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our hotel did not meet your expectations. We wish to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible. If you could please contact us immediately so that we can further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring again in the future.

Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you.

Regards,
Manish Patel-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We liked staying in this Inn. The room and the bathroom were really spacious and clean.The staff was friendly and helpful.
Breakfast has to be eaten on the go, but we were anyway just traveling through.
The prices are VERY low and we were really surprised at what a great experience we had for such little money

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobiaslinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review about our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed our friendly staff. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.


Regards,
Manish Patel-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This motel was horrible to stay in. the room was smelly and the furniture were greasy and dirty. The towels was dingy and had spots on them. the bathroom ran and I had to fix it. The bed did not have a mattress pad and the mattress had stains on it. I asked for a refund because I had to pay in advance. THe owner would not give me a refund and stated that it was their policy to not refund any money. I purchased a mattress pad and towel for the rest of my stay. I purchased air freshener also. The window curtains was stained and the a/c did not work probably.

clinton merritte, dated stayed 16-21 May room 112 phone #[---]

Helpful?
2 Thank iron9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. Critical feedback is a great way for us to improve guest satisfaction. We apologize for any negative experiences you had with housekeeping. We have hired and trained new housekeepers since your last visit. Unfortunately, we did not hear of your complaint until after you had already checked out. We did offer you a free night stay due to the inconvenience.

I hope you give us another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.

Regards,
Manish Patel-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill,VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel is really a mixed bag--mostly negative with a couple positives thrown in. First, the positives: The desk staff were as nice as can be, very friendly and pleasant. They offered a continental breakfast that consisted of muffins, cereal, and bananas, which was nice to have as we hit the road. And the room, although there was an overall shabbiness to it, was basically clean (although the carpets and bedspread had an overall feeling of griminess, that may have been a product of the other negatives). It did have a little refrigerator that worked quite well, and a microwave. There was a supermarket across the street and a restaurant next door.
Now, the negatives: Everything else. This hotel is a two-story building with all room entrances on the outside, as many hotels used to be. The clientele consisted of people who appeared to be gang-bangers, or people who shouted across the parking lot, shouted on the stairs, shouted in their rooms, etc. The people above us (one room away from the lobby) were loud and thudding around their room until 3:00 a.m. Others walked around outside and talked as if they were not at a hotel where people were trying to sleep. This is not the fault of the hotel staff, of course, but it is a problem to travelers, nevertheless. The towels were threadbare and quite discolored from age, the bed was rock-hard with the feel of springs coming through, and the furniture was so cheaply made that the dresser drawers would not close. The toilet handle had to be jiggled after each use. I was afraid to try the shower, so can't comment about it. We paid $45 for the room plus $10 each for two dogs (which is why we chose it--not every hotel wants people who have pets), so we were not expecting the Taj Mahal, and could probably have overlooked much of it were it not for the type of people who stayed there--at one point, my husband half-joked that he hoped we survived the night. Again, this is not the fault of the hotel, but it still matters to travelers. In sum, this is hotel that may have seen better days, but those days were long ago.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VALady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you felt you experienced with us. There is never an excuse for providing anything less than great service. All claims against this property will be further investigated and corrected where necessary. I hope you will give us another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.

Regards,
Manish Patel-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed here on April 29 and 30, 2009 for a family funeral. During our time of loss we were unsure where to stay and found this hotel. I remembered I had been here once before and the rooms were not so good. But we were tired from driving and wanted to rest. this time the rooms were very nice. I could tell that some renovations had been done and the room was very clean and smelled really fresh. Even the front desk clerk was friendly and bubbly. She had a great personality and made us feel better about even having to be there to begin with. We were very pleased with our experience this time. We will definately be back again!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medmonds27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in South Hill
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn South Hill
Days Inn South Hill
#5 of 7 in South Hill
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus South Hill Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn South Hill
Hampton Inn South Hill
#1 of 7 in South Hill
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in South Hill
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn South Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn South Hill

Property: Americas Best Value Inn South Hill
Address: 623 E Atlantic St, South Hill, VA 23970-2709
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn South Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of South Hill. Our 2-story, exterior design Inn features 47 guestrooms nicely furnished with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, microwave, hairdryers, cable TV with HBO, mini-fridge and iron and ironing board upon request. Complimentary continental breakfast served daily. Inquire about our Senior, Fisherman, and Truckers Rates. Minutes away from Lake Gaston and John H. Kerr Dam and walking distance from Brian's Steakhouse, Restaurants, Shopping centers, and Cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn South Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing