We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, but not one of my favorites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn South Hill
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Being a Hampton FAN, I have to say I was a bit disappointing. My bed did not have a top sheet and the pillow comforter was much too hot. The window air conditioner came on like a jet engine every hour or so and woke me up. I have run into this kind of a/c unit before in some of the older properties and they really should have a switch that allows the fan to run continually. The property has been kept up to date, it was clean and the breakfast was up to standard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn South Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 355 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel was clean. The staff was very polite and helpful. Breakfast was more than we expected. I was also pleasantly surprised that the Wi-Fi was easy to use since I am not an expert user. We will stay at this Hampton Inn on our return trips to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hampton Hill in South Hill, VA is always clean, comfortable and the staff always provides excellent customer service. We have stayed at various Hampton Inns throughout the US and always have a great experience. They never disappoint us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As a former diamond VIP, I expected this service from the full service properties. The newly designed rooms, lobby and breakfast counters and bar are wonderful...Well done in every way, I may drive down south more often vs. taking the flight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have stayed here several times before and it was once again a pleasurable experience.. Hotel staff was very helpful and the hotel and my room was clean and well stocked with all amenities that I needed

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stopped here on our way to the NC Mountains. It is approximately 7.5 hours from central Jersey, so a good stop. This was a rewards stay for us so I assume that's why we got an extra large room, which included a wet bar/kitchen area. While it was nice to have the extra sink, the cabinets served no purpose since they held no dishware or even had shelves! I'm not sure what the point was. Anyway, the room was fine. Registration was simple. There were jars of cookies and pretzels in the lobby which were appreciated. Breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare, which we did not have.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exit105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had to travel down to this area for work and needed a decent and reasonably priced place to lay my head down. The room was clean, toiletries well-appointed, and towels white and fluffy.

Breakfast was good with waffles, english muffins, bagels, toast, pastries, sausage, eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt, OJ, milk, juice and coffee. Good selection.

Only issue was that the side door wouldn't let me in with my room key, so while loading/unloading my car to my room (right next to the side entrance) I had to trek all the way to the front door each time. Otherwise, I will definitely use this place again when I travel to this area.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank firebirdgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Hill
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus South Hill Inn
0.3 mi away
Days Inn South Hill
Days Inn South Hill
#5 of 7 in South Hill
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in South Hill
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in South Hill
83 reviews
24.6 mi away
Lamplight Inn B&B
Lamplight Inn B&B
#2 of 3 in Henderson
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn South Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Hill

Address: 200 Thompson St, I-85 & U.s. 58, South Hill, VA 23950-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range: $112 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn hotel in South Hill, VA is situated in scenic Southern Virginia near Lake Gaston and John H. Kerr Reservoir. Our 55 room hotel features a free hot breakfast every morning and free high-speed internet access in every room. With all the amenities and our friendly staff, you will feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn South Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Hill Hotel South Hill
South Hill Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing