We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to rest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn South Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn South Hill
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice place to rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

a very nice place to rest the staff was great and the free breakfast wasnt that bad.it was roomy nice and clean would have gotten a 5 if the beds where a little softer.its close to the highway and all types of food.I recommend this place to anyone traveling on interstate 85 .

Room Tip: with the even number rooms you will wake up with full sun at sunrise if ya dont like this get a odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    84
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
109
82
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Alexander Family, or rather, select members met to conduct a documentary. This was done in South Hill, Virginia. The Hampton Inn was gracious enough to have us and, made us feel most welcome. Great accommodations just off of Interstate 95 and Route 58 to be had at great prices. Check it out ... you'll not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank WllSmth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rineyville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This Hamptom Inn delivered the type of experience one would expect when staying at Hilton Property. The staff was friendly and helpful in accomadating my requests. They were able to recommend local dining places based upon personal exerience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Grady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

the whole experience was pleasant. the hotel was clean and quiet. the staff helpful and friendly and the breakfast while not large was very well prepared. In fact ended up booking same hotel for returnn trip when checked out

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Greeted every day by friendly front desk clerks. Chris and the owners went out of their way to ensure all extras required durning my stay. Home like atmosphere, would definately bring my family here for vacation. Room was clean, spacious, and well stocked. Breakfast was above average, with a vast variety of food. Convience to many stores, and easy access to highway. Cannot say enough about the professionalism of the staff! Will stay here again! Sound proof rooms. Never knew if I had neighbors. The hotel itself is tucked away from traffic. A hugh plus!

Room Tip: End rooms are largest, and family friendly! Great for vaction with family or busiess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky_lucy411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Everything excellent other than the pillows are extra soft. I would like to see an option to request a firm pillow from the front desk. I used the fitness area, the new renivations are excellent. The fitness machines were updated and the whole decore was updated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Trudi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Room was up to date spacious. Bed was extremely comfortable. Great easy wifi access. Staff was helpful. Check in and out was simple. It was quiet and comfortable would definitely stay again! Was my first experience with Hampton, if all are like this I might change my hotel preferred choice :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn
0.5 mi away
Days Inn South Hill
Days Inn South Hill
#5 of 7 in South Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in South Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in South Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn South Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Hill

Property: Hampton Inn South Hill
Address: 200 Thompson St, I-85 & U.S. 58, South Hill, VA 23950-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn hotel in South Hill, VA is situated in scenic Southern Virginia near Lake Gaston and John H. Kerr Reservoir. Our 55 room hotel features a free hot breakfast every morning and free high-speed internet access in every room. With all the amenities and our friendly staff, you will feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn South Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Hill Hotel South Hill
South Hill Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing