We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus South Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
A TripAdvisor Member
“review”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I like staying at the Best Western in South Hill the employess are great and the breakfast is not bad. I stay at this hotel for 2 nights every year in August. I also like the rewards that are generated when staying at the Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member:
Not only do Best Western Reward members receive wonderful incentives staying with any one of our worldwide hotels, but if you are traveling thru South Hill, staying with us all guests will receive the ultimate guest experience.
Respectfully:
Jay R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    58
    42
    13
    20
See reviews for
97
41
24
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mexico, NY
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

When we booked our recent trip to South Hill through Hot Wire, we were booked with this Hotel. What we did not know was that the website that we used gives you the rooms that are available not the one you think you are gettting. Being that I am an asthmatic and we have a baby we thought we were getting a Non-smoking room. But when we went to check in it was a smoking room. The hotel clerk was very helpful in trying to get the room changed but they were booked up and unable to change it. We were also booked for this hotel for over Christmas and they were able to acomadate us for those dates with a non smoking room. They informed us to call after we book again with Hotwire to make sure that the room we reserve is Non-smoking. They were very helpful.
The employees at this hotel are very friendly and try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They looked up attractions for us to go visit and they were always friendly and talkative when we would go down for breakfast. They made you feel like you were part of their families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mrs. BeccaRain:
One of our “mantras” is that “our guest should receive the ultimate guest experience.” When a mistake in booking happens we do our best to accommodate our guests. We can rearrange the guest rooms to upgrading our guests without a charge. We also thank you for staying with us on another occasion and a repeat guest speaks volumes about the services that we provide our each and every guest.
Respectfully:
Jay R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Last Saturday, I booked this hotel via Hotwire. It was rated very high by both Hotwire and Tripadvisor. As I entered the lobby, it looked very nice and clean. The breakfast are looked nice also. We traveled down the hall to our room and opened the door to one of dirtiest rooms I've ever stayed in. There was a film of dust and grime on all the furniture. The carpet had several large stains along with the upholstered furniture. As I turned back the covers, it appeared that the linens had not been changed as there was a wrinkled, wallowed area where someone might have slept previously. The sheets were thin and dinghy. This room was nasty!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boogie1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Boggie1825:
We do apologize that your stay with us was not comfortable. When guests stay with us and need any assistance during their stay we do what ever it takes to remedy the situation. We accommodate any request that our guests require in order to make their stay pleasant. As soon as a guests reports any concerns we expediently resolve the concern and if it can not be resolved we will help them transition into another guest room.
Respectfully:
Jay R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was convenient to 85. More importantly, the hotel itself was very clean and comfortable, and best of all, the staff really made you feel welcomed and went out of their way to assure everything we needed was taken care of. Every employee we dealt with had a smile and asked if there was anything we needed. From the housekeeper with two arms full of towels who carried my bag to my room even though it wasn't ready, the desk clerk searching the entire hotel for a wine opener, to the manager asking us if he could get us anything even though we were late for breakfast, and the staff that went into the kitchen and gave us our choice of anything. A great hotel, great staff, and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank vchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Vchal:
Customer Service is a concern stone of the experience that each guest receives each day staying with us. We take pride in helping others from reopening breakfast for a guest who arrives late to stopping everything to help a guest in need.
Respectfully:
Jay R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Have stayed at this location several times when traveling to North Carolina. Wonderful service, clean rooms. Breakfast area always clean and friendly staff willing to help. I will continue to stay here when traveling!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Hill Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Rachel S.:
Nothing says more than a guest repeatedly staying with us. This shows us that we do provide the ultimate guest experience, which not only includes providing a personalized stay from the moment a guest walks thru our doors till they drive off to their next destination, but also providing them all the amenities to have a relaxing oasis from the ordinary.
Respectfully:
Jay R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here one night and it was wonderful!! We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist! Our room was gorgeous and exceptionally clean, the breakfast in the morning was amazing, and the service was top notch! The manager went out of his way to help us when we asked of a favor, and everyone was so willing to help to make our experience the best it could be. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, Manager at Best Western Plus South Hill Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Leslis S.:
We provide each guest a personalized ultimate guest experience. All of our staff members will make sure your stay with us is a relaxing and pleasant experience. From the moment a guest arrives to the hotel, our front desk staff will quickly check you in and provide you with any information and extra amenities to our housekeeping staff who will provide you with an ultraclean room to our breakfast hostess who will personalize your complimentary hot breakfast meal.
Respectfully:
Jay R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Disappointed to find the pool filled with dark green water. 80+ degrees and could not enjoy a dip. Wish I could post pictures here! Sad. Breakfast eggs were horrible. Switched to cerial. Staff was friendly. Old facility. No fan in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Stay at the Fairfield Inn or Hampton Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, Manager at Best Western Plus South Hill Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Tommy Keith:
I apologize that you were not able to use our pool. Unfortunately when you stayed with us our pool has been closed since Labor Day and was being maintained and in the process of being closed after our yearly maintenance. During your next stay with us (when the pool is closed for the season) please be sure to enjoy our ultimate hot breakfast, which includes fresh waffles, bacon, sausage, gravy and biscuits, as well as our exercise room.
Respectfully:
Jay R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Hill hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Hill
Hampton Inn South Hill
#1 of 7 in South Hill
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
0.5 mi away
Days Inn South Hill
Days Inn South Hill
#5 of 7 in South Hill
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in South Hill
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in South Hill
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus South Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus South Hill Inn

Property: Best Western Plus South Hill Inn
Address: 101 Thompson Street, South Hill, VA 23950-1753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus South Hill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western South Hill Inn is located in the heart of Lake Country, on Interstate 85 at Exit 12A. The area is full of historical and unique finds. Experience the comfort and charm of the south with the tranquil water of Lake Gaston and Buggs Island Lake. Take a drive through the countryside and visit the local winery, antique shops, museums and civil war routes. The hotel is just minutes away from the local businesses and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus South Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Hill Hotel South Hill
Holiday Inn La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing