We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large Hotel Chain with Small Town Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Baltimore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large Hotel Chain with Small Town Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Checked in with my family (2 adults, 2 preschoolers) for a 2 night stay during Thanksgiving week.

Quick and courteous check-in. Hotel lobby and hallways were very quiet and cozy (minus the noise from my kids). Great tasting complimentary hot breakfast each morning. Free wi-fi (something I take for granted until I stay with other chains that don't offer it).

Surrounding town is very small with Super Walmart as its only attraction. You will need to travel an hour south to Raleigh, NC for recreation. But, our primary reason for our stay was to visit family.

Staff was on hand when needed. They were friendly and chatty--interested in where we traveled from and how we were enjoying the town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Ms. Nadia H:
Here we provide an unmatchable guest experience, with all the amenities offered by anyhotel chain, but also make our guests feel as a member of our own Best Western Plus South Hill family.
Respectfully:
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    54
    41
    13
    17
See reviews for
94
36
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winder, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I am a travelling electronics technician. I was on my way from Norfolk to Atlanta when my truck broke down in front of the Best Western Motel in South Hill, Va.. Jay, the manager happened by and asked if he could help. My truck merely had a broken belt so I asked him if there was a nearby auto parts store. He said there was and offered me a ride. He took me to get the part, brought me back and I was back on the road in less than half an hour. I was not a guest at his hotel but if he is such a good sumaritan to a complete stranger I can only imagine how well he takes care of his guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Brian B:
Here we pride ourselves in treating everyone as a family member, not only do we go above and beyond providing each guest with all that they need to have their best experience away from home, we provide that same enthusiasm to our community.
Respectfully:
Jay R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, MD
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We checked in, without a reservation, at 9:30 one evening. The desk clerk was very friendly and gave us (one adult, two teens) a very good deal: $70 plus tax for the night. The room was spacious, with two comfortable beds and everything we needed. The only negative I could find was the lack of an exhaust fan in the bathroom.

As others have said, the breakfast was fantastic, with blueberry waffles plus all the regular items. The lobby area was large enough for a good-sized crowd, so no waiting. Check-in and check-out were quick and easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emilysmom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Family is here for a funeral. A Christian funeral. One of the maids was highly unprofessional this morning, charging down the hallway, cursing about something that obviously didnt go her way. The room looked nice, but some more care could have been taken. The rug needed cleaning and the toilet pedestal had "stains". What was expected from a Best Western. But to be subject to the nastiness coming from the maids mouth, that cannot be tolerated. Since her cart was on the front wall of the hallway, I will assume it was her room we stayed in. She needs a bar of soap in her mouth and hands!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godsvessel1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Checkin was very smooth. Lucky I was able to snag a room. My family stayed in Room 118. Room was beautiful upon sight, but needed a little more attention. Cookie crumbs(?) in chair and refrigerator needed wiping out. Bathroom counter felt spotty and bathtub was just sticky. But we were tired and the value was great. Breakfast was fantastic, no microwave food. Eggs, blueberry waffles, bananas, yogurt, etc. Going back I asked the thin housekeeper for more towels,she told me she gave my husband more. She did not. A very pleasant housekeeper outside the laundry room gave me more towels. Checkout was simply easy, lady was very pleasant. I might stay again but will ask to see the room first.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Got sleepy driving to DC and called from the rest stop. Very friendly for someone working the night shift. Most night shift staff have terrible attitudes. Asked for the lowest price and got quoted $20 under regular price. The room came with a spacious mini-fridge, big enough to store our wedding cake top to celebrate our 1st anniversary. Huge bed, pillows were too small and mattress was too hard but it was a beautiful room that was clean and smelled clean. The bathroom smelled like cigarettes but since I just stayed overnight it wasn't a big deal. Free wifi and the breakfast was AMAZING!!! Blueberry waffles, real orange juice with pulp, coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate, bacon, biscuits, and the list goes on. Amazing value!!!!! Makes me want to find another BW in DC to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlikatNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

stayed in Room 115. Housekeeper for this room must have gone blind when she cleaned. Dust, orangeish looking shower curtain. When asked if she had cleaned the room the previous day, she was just plain rude, telling me "Yes, it was cleaned yesterday. That Dave, the GM, had approved the room, any comments see him." Very snotty. Rest of staff was very topnotch. Two other housekeepers gave me towels and the breakfast was fantastic! Eggs, bacon, sausage, the biscuits tasted homemade!! Except for this one lady, the hotel was clean and the staff was courteous and friendly. Will stay again, but maybe ask for a room that this one housekeeper did not have.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budtude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Hill hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Hill
Hampton Inn South Hill
#1 of 7 in South Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
0.5 mi away
Days Inn South Hill
Days Inn South Hill
#5 of 7 in South Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in South Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in South Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn
Address: 101 Thompson St, South Hill, VA 23950-1753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western South Hill Inn is located in the heart of Lake Country, on Interstate 85 at Exit 12A. The area is full of historical and unique finds. Experience the comfort and charm of the south with the tranquil water of Lake Gaston and Buggs Island Lake. Take a drive through the countryside and visit the local winery, antique shops, museums and civil war routes. The hotel is just minutes away from the local businesses and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Hill Hotel South Hill
Holiday Inn La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing