We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus South Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in South Hill
Reviewed October 11, 2012

stayed in Room 115. Housekeeper for this room must have gone blind when she cleaned. Dust, orangeish looking shower curtain. When asked if she had cleaned the room the previous day, she was just plain rude, telling me "Yes, it was cleaned yesterday. That Dave, the GM, had approved the room, any comments see him." Very snotty. Rest of staff was very topnotch. Two other housekeepers gave me towels and the breakfast was fantastic! Eggs, bacon, sausage, the biscuits tasted homemade!! Except for this one lady, the hotel was clean and the staff was courteous and friendly. Will stay again, but maybe ask for a room that this one housekeeper did not have.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Budtude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 275 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The lady behind the counter at check in was wonderful. She let us view two rooms and decide which one we wanted and she also gave us directions to a restaurant and even took the time to print the directions for us.

When we got to the room, there was only one package of coffee and that was decaf which neither of us likes. We took the package of coffee to the desk and were given two packages of regular coffee.

The parking lot was being sealed on the Friday afternoon that we checked in and there were cans all over the parking lot and it was very difficult to manuver around the parking lot because so many of the parking places were roped off.

The breakfast was above average and the gentleman behind the counter on checkout was very friendly.

We had requested a wake up call but never received it; therefore, we both overslept and were late getting to our destination. I told the man at checkout about the missed wake up call and he checked and saw where we had requested the wake up call and said he was sorry about the error.

This Best Western was not as nice as most Best Westerns we have stayed in recently.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room first because there are several different kinds of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Visiting Family for a Church function and really enjoyed my stay. The room was in good condition with a little wear and tear from the carpet, but an overall very good stay! The Dining/Lobby area is very nice and clean, by far from what I've seen in some Hotels. The Hotel location was excellent within driving distance to everything. The Staff has always been polite and friendly when I've stayed and the price for a one say wasn't a deal breaker!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Not up to best western standards, but is very well located, and the price is Only 84.00 a night. This being said the rooms are a little worn and outdated. The cleaning staff needs to step up. There are bugs in the room, and stains on the rug. The doors slam, and you can here the room across the hall, as well the room above you. I recommend you ask for upstairs room at backside of hotel near the rear of the hotel. Breakfast is the normal fair, but not well stocked, which is mostly my fault as I am an early riser and like to be on the road by seven am, the breakfast doesn't open till Six thirty. If you just want cheap spot to stay its what you payed for.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Visting familiy in area and stayed only one night. Nice hotel, alittle beaten up but clean. Dining room/lobby was one of the nicest I've seen in a BW. Staff was very friendly and overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was clean, the staff was friendly. I felt safe and the bed was comfortable. they had a nice selection of your typical allinclusive buffet breakfast which was kept nice and tidy........The reception gave me a choice of which floor i would prefer and what type of room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marialice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very nice for a continental. Lobby and common areas are attractive. Pool is small but nice. Good stay for families. I am usually a rather discerning traveler and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Hill hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Hill
Hampton Inn South Hill
#1 of 8 in South Hill
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
0.4 mi away
Days Inn South Hill
Days Inn South Hill
#6 of 8 in South Hill
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in South Hill
60 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites South Hill
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in South Hill
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus South Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus South Hill Inn

Address: 101 Thompson St, South Hill, VA 23950-1753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range: $73 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus South Hill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western South Hill Inn is located in the heart of Lake Country, on Interstate 85 at Exit 12A. The area is full of historical and unique finds. Experience the comfort and charm of the south with the tranquil water of Lake Gaston and Buggs Island Lake. Take a drive through the countryside and visit the local winery, antique shops, museums and civil war routes. The hotel is just minutes away from the local businesses and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus South Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Hill Hotel South Hill
Holiday Inn La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing