We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Event planning with complete care from beginning to end with attention to details.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Certificate of Excellence
South Boston, Virginia
1 review
“Event planning with complete care from beginning to end with attention to details.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was a pleasure to work with the event planning staff at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center in the planning and execution of a complex array of events over a 2 day period celebrating the life of my recently deceased wife.

When first approached about hosting such an event the staff responded with excellent suggestions to meet our needs for an upbeat memorial service. It was probably one of the most unique events to occur at Berry Hill since the Yankees went through but it was choreographed with precision. From room accommodations with amenities for each of the family and friends arriving from out of town on Friday, to the final departure on Sunday morning, every detail was perfect.

The scenario involved arrival of a Limousine Bus loaded with weary, but joyful, travelers, providing for quick check-in, and extremely efficient staff assistance. The local Model A Club brought their cars for display as part of the memorial service because my wife was a charter member of the club. Even though the weather was threatening, they were undeterred and the hotel made sure they were positioned perfectly in the front circle drive of the mansion. The Dixieland Jazz band from the local area, recommended by the staff, was a smash hit, playing a variety of upbeat tunes and featuring "When the Saints Go Marching In" just before the memorial service started. The band picked up again while the food was brought in for the 2 hour reception that followed and they provided a perfect backdrop for people to reminisce about the fun times we all had with my wife.

The smooth transition from event to event was carefully orchestrated by the staff so that everyone had the feeling of being right at home with friends. The food was excellent and the wait staff excelled at meeting every need of the guests. The Family and Friends Dinner on Saturday evening was, again, a flawless presentation of extraordinary cuisine prepared to perfection. The friendly staff helped keep the family gathering a fun event.

Check-out on Sunday morning was flawless. Nothing but the greatest compliments from the guests on the rooms and accommodations.

I wish they would let me give a 6 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    56
    26
    11
    11
See reviews for
71
61
7
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The team at Berry Hill Resort helped make a very special occasion (my mother's memorial service) perfect. We had friends and family coming from all over the country and needed a place where they could stay and where it would be easy to accommodate a variety of guest needs (from 8 years old to 84 years old). Berry Hill fit the bill. We arranged to have a dinner for guests to either come enjoy at a seated table or be able to take back to their rooms for the night everyone was arriving. We also arranged for the memorial service to be held at the resort / hotel followed by a reception and then, later in the evening a special dinner for close friends and family. Each event was catered to perfection and the staff went above and beyond to take care of "special requests" from our guests. The follow through and willingness to adapt to our guests needs with a smile and a happy attitude was just amazing. They really helped us celebrate my mother's life by providing a warm welcoming atmosphere for all our guests and taking the time to attend to all the details that occur with such a large event. We had 50 family and friends coming into town and another 50 or so from the surrounding community joining us at various times. I couldn't have been happier. The pool table in the mansion was available for everyone to use (and they did) and the pool was a hit with the younger guests. Very event friendly. They even helped us find a Dixieland jazz band for our event -- and they were terrific! Our guests were impressed with the site itself...so many compliments on the beautiful grounds and mansion.

Room Tip: Many rooms have a balcony. I would request a room that overlooks the gardens as opposed to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweeds11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

From the check in to the room prep and welcoming smiles this resort was the type that made us feel welcome and at home. Their staff prepared for a major family event in such a professional way, working with us before and during the event in a fabulous and professional manner. Event planning can be difficult and they made it seem smooth all the way from check in through to the delicious five course dinner, which was simply lovely. Their staff is very well chosen and engaging with guests against the backdrop of 19th century architecture and rooms steeped in history open to all guests. The grounds are incredible for lovers of photography, for walkers and for those who just wish to get away and enjoy the natural beauty of this historic Virginia gem. Our two day event did not give us enough time to take advantage of all of the amenities. I can't say enough good things about Berry Hill.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca, new york
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We spent two days July 26, 27 here. The room, bedding, towels were all clean. When I reserved with Angela, I specifically asked for two chairs on baloney as I enjoy sitting outside and refrigerator if available. Opened French doors - NO CHAIRS. No refrigerator but that was not a big deal. Trip to front desk didn't seem to help - asking to talk to manager did. Thank you Byron for bringing two rockers AND a refrigerator - you were so polite. Also thank you Shirley at the front desk for assisting us - and I hope the front desk redhead can learn to smile. The pool was only 4 feet deep and a little on the cool side. Fitness room looked sufficient. The grounds and mansion itself were very well kept - enjoyed playing billiards, chess, checkers in the main house - even with two weddings we did not feel crowd. The Sunday buffet was very good and the waitresses the best. For the price of the room and the distance from the driveway someone to help with bags would have been nice. We had an appetizer (so/so) and drinks in the tavern - just standard.
Do not miss taking the tour with Mr. Lealand Luck. He obviously has spent a lot of time researching the mansion's history and people who have owned it and lived here over the years. He was very entertaining and we enjoyed him very much.

Room Tip: Ask ahead if you want chairs - not sure what good a baloney is with none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Absolutely loved this converted plantation.
Stayed in one of the two little rooms outside of the main hotel..."The Jefferson Room".
So quaint, fun and romantic. Loved it.
Beautiful pool onsite and gym.
Loved sitting on our own front porch in rocking chairs, watching the sun go down, and listening to all the sounds. Delightful.
Gorgeous and historical.
A total gem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 609PatriciaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We paid way too much for what we got. When we first arrived I noticed that the carpet walking down the hall way was badly stained. There were also bleach marks all the way down the hall way. Our room smelled like some one had just smoked a pack and our sheets were very dirty. I requested a new room which only took about 10 min. The new room smelled better and the sheets were clean but the sink and shower were clogged. We were in a hurry because we had dinner reservations at the hotel. I had to take a "bath" Shower because of the clogged tub, that was disgusting. We had to leave by 6:30am the next morning and wanted a quick breakfast. The continental breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. I wanted to take a cup of coffee on the road but they were all out of cups at 6:30am. We will never stay here again. I have paid half the price at Embassy Suites and had a made to order breakfast, clean room, and great service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook
Level Contributor
316 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

South Boston is on an old plantation, in the midst of many old plantations. It is verdant, quiet, serene. The pub is sufficient, although hardly noteworthy. We did not eat at the formal restaurant in what was the manor house.
The rooms in the main hotel are spacious, well-appointed. Ours had a terrace. The bathroom and its accoutrements and soaps were modern, appealing and everything worked.
I was surprised to hear people talking in the hallway late at night -- I had heard no other noise, but their actual conversation was audible.
Staff is hospitable. Pace is southern. Buffet breakfast in not memorable, but is sufficient. Coffee in the room is better.

Room Tip: Terrace side rooms are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eitravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Boston
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
3.0 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#4 of 7 in South Boston
21 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn & Suites
22.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Clarksville
38 reviews
23.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center

Property: Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
Address: 3105 River Rd, South Boston, VA 24592-6011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful historic plantation surrounded by rustic countryside, blue ponds, and rolling hills. Berry Hill offers the modern amenities of an indoor pool, spa and onsite dining. This is a true escape, a retreat from the day to day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Hill Resort And Conference Center
Berry Hill Hotel South Boston
Berry Hill Estates South Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing