We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, fresh baked goods!”

Windmill Farm Bake Shop
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in South Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Sandwiches made to order, home made soups, cakes, pies, cookies muffins, doughnuts, all made with love by a Mennonite farm family. Prices are so low you'll be amazed. $3.50 yesterday for a roast beef sandwich on whole wheat with light mayo, tomato, lettuce and a bavarian cream doughnut.
Restaurant details
Description: Sandwiches made to order, home made soups, cakes, pies, cookies muffins, doughnuts, all made with love by a Mennonite farm family. Prices are so low you'll be amazed. $3.50 yesterday for a roast beef sandwich on whole wheat with light mayo, tomato, lettuce and a bavarian cream doughnut.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful, fresh baked goods!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I was here on vacation and I needed a variety of baked goods for a group. I got two pies (chocolate chess & cherry), cookies (chocolate chip & monster) and finally brownies. Everyone raved about all the goodies! Tasty & moist! Nice clean place, friendly service!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ueliparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was in South Boston for a few days for business and saw this restaurant on TripAdvisor. If you're looking for a simple, freshly made lunch, this is a good place. It's actually a bakery and deli, but there are tables inside so you can stay and eat. It was very busy when I went at noon, so I knew it had to be good. I had a deli sandwich and some chips. I probably should have also gotten donuts or cookies; they looked really good. If you need a quick, tasty, fresh lunch, this is the place. Note that it's not open very late (I think closes by 5 each day) and only accepts cash for payment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Super sandwiches and pie”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Tucked away in a strip mall, this place is easy to miss but don't. The sandwiches are standard deli fare but everything is very fresh and delicious. I had coconut pie and loved it. Can't say enough good about this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gstrange8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food is absolutely amazing. The shop is clean, the people are nice. I just wish there was more than one location. Would love to have one in Roxboro, Durham or both!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ohhh My!!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A must stop. Only open Monday through Friday 7-5 and Saturdays 7-12. Homemade bakery items, premium fresh deli meats and homemade breads and chicken salad. A Mennonite family run business that has quality and customer service at its core. On Saturdays they only make a half bakery order so come early if you want homemade doughnuts, eclairs, cakes, pies, cookies, and other yummy items. All are delicious and they sell out usually before 12 on saturdays and all are very inexpensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1moresunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmill Farm Bake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Windmill Farm Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing