We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in South Boston” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great value in South Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel in South Boston. It was my first overnight stay in this town and the hotel was perfect. It's a newer hotel (Marriott brand and it shows) and the rooms are very nice with modern furniture and fixtures. Very large shower and a great bed with lots of good pillows. Buffet breakfast comes with the room and it is very good (think better than Hampton Inn). Excellent value and a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: I recommend the higher floors because there is a lot of big truck traffic all day & night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
14
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for three days while attending the Lake Festival in Clarksville, VA on Kerr Lake. This place was excellent. The staff was great and everyone there was super friendly and went out of their way to accomodate us. They gave excellent guidance to shopping and dining. The free breakfast was good. The price was actually better than other lesser hotels. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bland, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel on June 29, 2013. When we checked in the attendant was awesome. Any questions I had she was amazing. The room was very clean and very comfortable. We stayed on the 3rd floor on the backside of the building and we did not hear any traffic noise at all. The breakfast attendant, Judy, was absolutely the best. This lady needs a raise for sure. I saw one gentlemen who was very obnoxious to her and she never said a word. She just did his bidding with a smile! That right there is great Customer Service. I made a point of telling her she was doing a great job. I was very impressed with this Hotel and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneandBecky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is not a luxurious resort... it's not in a hot destination... it doesn't have a vast array of amenities and services... it won't knock you over with grand décor and architecture... it's not meant for stays of more than a couple days.

This hotel's purpose is to serve as a reliable, comfortable stopover - - and it does the job! We had a king room that was clean with a comfortable bed. That's a big plus. The only weakness was the TV not having great reception and the bathroom was bare bones basic.

The common areas featured a nice fitness room and a great breakfast bar, which particularly stood out. Never had scrambled eggs that tasted so good. Special kudos goes out to the breakfast bar attendant... she was outstanding. If Fairfield is smart, they'll give her a raise.

It's refreshing when a hotel knows what purpose they serve and delivers without pretense. So yes... there's no bellhops or concierge or turndown service. But if you want a clean, comfortable stopover with no rude surprises, then this is your place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_Terp_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for business. Hotel is close to Hwy 360 and 501. There is a grocery store and several fast foods a short distance away. Hotel is nice, no real issues. Main concern was lack of a refrigerator in a king room (not a suite), as I had brought food with me. Room was small, but not a problem for me. Loved the walk in shower and strong shower head. Free Internet is always a plus!

Room Tip: Three story property. Second floor rooms have side entrance to parking on same level. Odd number r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleS0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was the best place to stay in South Boston, Va. The staff was awesome, namely Angie, Bethany and the lady who helped us with our breakfast. I even lost my Barnes and Noble Nook Book while there. Two wonderful men found it in the parking lot and turned it in to the front desk! Everyone we saw working there seems to love their job and were all very helpful in making our stay relaxing and carefree! Angie helped us with whatever we needed and she did it happily! We will be staying there again! Thanks everyone!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor hand had no noise problems or anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Fairfield Inn in South Boston several times. He races at VIR and there aren't that many decent hotels to choose from. We normally camp at the track, but on the occasions that we aren't towing a car trailer or it's cold outside, we choose to stay in a hotel.

We normally choose between the Fairfield Inn and the Holiday Inn Express based solely on price. The two hotels are virtually side by side and have comparable amenities. The Fairfield Inn has a slight edge since it has an indoor pool and hot tub which is great when it's cold outside.

The breakfast bar has the usual - cereals, breads, yogurt, juices, milk, etc. It also features some items that you can heat up such as sausage biscuits and breakfast sandwiches. A decent breakfast in all.

The hotel gym is adequate for short stays.

Of all the hotels in South Boston, I would give this one the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVChick16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Boston
3.0 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#4 of 7 in South Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Clarksville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Roxboro
Hampton Inn Roxboro
#1 of 3 in Roxboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 South Boston VA
Super 8 South Boston VA
#3 of 7 in South Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
Address: 1120 Bill Tuck Hwy, South Boston, VA 24592-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott® Hotel of South Boston, your hotel experience will be what you want - a clean, comfortable guest room, friendly service and outstanding value. Enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast featuring Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sandwiches, indoor pool, indoor whirlpool and FREE Wi-Fi high speed internet access throughout the hotel. We are conveniently located near Halifax Regional Hospital, ABB, Dollar General Corporation, Presto, Annin & Co., Riverstone Technology Park, Southern Virginia Higher Education Center and the Carlbrook School. Looking for entertainment? Try nearby South Boston Speedway, VIRginia International Raceway, The Prizery, South Boston/Halifax County Museum, Bob Cage Sculpture Farm or The World of Sports. The area boasts a variety of wonderful restaurants; let us assist you finding the menu to suit your needs. The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott® of South Boston surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel South Boston
Fairfield Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing