We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a small town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very new, and clean hotel conveniently located aside the highway. There's not much traffic, so noise of trucks is no problem. Everything is OK, personnel too. In short: a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaBenebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel was like an oasis in this little town. The rooms were very nice and the lobby was very spacious. The breakfast was outstanding and the people were very friendly. It is located right on the highway into town so it is easy to find as well.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the King upgrade room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NATHAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I travel the state for business, so I'm a little set in my ways when looking for a hotel that accepts the state rate. Never having stayed in a Fairfield before, I only kind of knew what to expect, but this hotel far exceeded those expectations. I cannot imagine a better place to stay if you're traveling anywhere near South Boston, VA. If it's not brand new, you'd never be able to tell. I was able to get the King Suite within the approved rate. Since I was in town for three days of presentations, it was perfect. Large, well-equipped bathroom, sitting room with large screen flat panel, sleep sofa, and desk with Wi-Fi, and bedroom with comfortable bed, comfortable pillows, and plenty of room for traveling supplies. The sitting area provided a great place to practice my presentations. The breakfast was arranged so those who needed to "grab & go" had as many options as those who wanted to sit and relax. All of the staff were super friendly and super helpful. They have some good looking extras that I didn't have time to explore this trip (pool, work-out equipment) but certainly look forward to trying on my next trip. The hotel is well situated (58/360) with restaurants near by. (O Sole Mia has a killer calzone).

Room Tip: I would pay the extra for the King Suite if you have "room work" to accomplish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I hadn’t stayed in a Fairfield Inn for years ; so I was pleasantly surprised at the modern, clean lobby and breakfast areas. Our suite was clean, fresh and comfortable. The large bathroom was much appreciated by my wife. The staff happily made restaurant reservations and provided info on the local area. Breakfast was adequate and my wife was thrilled with the oatmeal. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpuryear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

From the desk clerk to the maids, breakfast attendants and manager, everyone was extremely friendly. The room was smallish, but exceptionally clean and neat. The only minor complaint was that even though they weren't particularly crowded, we still got a room facing the highway instead of a more quiet room across the corridor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1213pdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

If trip advisor was limited to budget hotels, I would give this property 4 stars. It's completely comfortable and clean. I didn't think the bed was GREAT, but it was good. In our basic, 2-queen bed-room, there was a fllat screen TV, a coffee maker, and a great shower with plenty of hot water and good pressure. This place is all you need. It's not luxury or style, but we were happy.

There's a small but adequate workout room (no weights, cardio only), an indoor pool and hot tub, which we had to ourselves both times we used it, and a continental breakfast. There were waffles, oatmeal, cold cereals, bagels, muffins, and Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches that can be nuked. Generic coffee, not too bad. Fruit, milk & yogurt.

The front desk staff was perfectly friendly but don't expect concierge service. We heard the Molasses Grill is the town's best restaurant, but they are open only Thursday thru Sunday. Bistro 1888 is quite good and reasonably priced. Peroni's is unadvertised but an interesting Italian dining experience. When we were there the owner and chef was serving too; he's a one-man show. Great wine and beer and the food was very good. Everything is close and there are cheaper, fast-food options as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LBoyer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This was our first stay in a Marriott Fairfield Inn, and we were quite pleased with it. While somewhat Spartan, this was a fairly new hotel and was very clean, which is very important to us. Also of great importance is the comfort of the bed, and the bed in this hotel was excellent. The breakfast was also excellent, and the staff was very accommodating. The only negative was that the towels, of which there were three sets (not enough for a party of four), were thin. At $80 plus $10 tax, this was a very good value even though adjoining rooms we had requested were not available.

Room Tip: 2nd floor back (away from highway), quiet and accessible to parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RouteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Boston
3 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn South Boston Virginia
19.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Clarksville
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites South Boston
0.3 mi away
Super 8 South Boston VA
Super 8 South Boston VA
#3 of 7 in South Boston
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston

Address: 1120 Bill Tuck Hwy, South Boston, VA 24592-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Price Range: $108 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott® Hotel of South Boston, your hotel experience will be what you want - a clean, comfortable guest room, friendly service and outstanding value. Enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast featuring Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sandwiches, indoor pool, indoor whirlpool and FREE Wi-Fi high speed internet access throughout the hotel. We are conveniently located near Halifax Regional Hospital, ABB, Dollar General Corporation, Presto, Annin & Co., Riverstone Technology Park, Southern Virginia Higher Education Center and the Carlbrook School. Looking for entertainment? Try nearby South Boston Speedway, VIRginia International Raceway, The Prizery, South Boston/Halifax County Museum, Bob Cage Sculpture Farm or The World of Sports. The area boasts a variety of wonderful restaurants; let us assist you finding the menu to suit your needs. The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott® of South Boston surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel South Boston
Fairfield Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing