We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I hadn’t stayed in a Fairfield Inn for years ; so I was pleasantly surprised at the modern, clean lobby and breakfast areas. Our suite was clean, fresh and comfortable. The large bathroom was much appreciated by my wife. The staff happily made restaurant reservations and provided info on the local area. Breakfast was adequate and my wife was thrilled with the oatmeal. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpuryear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
14
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

From the desk clerk to the maids, breakfast attendants and manager, everyone was extremely friendly. The room was smallish, but exceptionally clean and neat. The only minor complaint was that even though they weren't particularly crowded, we still got a room facing the highway instead of a more quiet room across the corridor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1213pdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

If trip advisor was limited to budget hotels, I would give this property 4 stars. It's completely comfortable and clean. I didn't think the bed was GREAT, but it was good. In our basic, 2-queen bed-room, there was a fllat screen TV, a coffee maker, and a great shower with plenty of hot water and good pressure. This place is all you need. It's not luxury or style, but we were happy.

There's a small but adequate workout room (no weights, cardio only), an indoor pool and hot tub, which we had to ourselves both times we used it, and a continental breakfast. There were waffles, oatmeal, cold cereals, bagels, muffins, and Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches that can be nuked. Generic coffee, not too bad. Fruit, milk & yogurt.

The front desk staff was perfectly friendly but don't expect concierge service. We heard the Molasses Grill is the town's best restaurant, but they are open only Thursday thru Sunday. Bistro 1888 is quite good and reasonably priced. Peroni's is unadvertised but an interesting Italian dining experience. When we were there the owner and chef was serving too; he's a one-man show. Great wine and beer and the food was very good. Everything is close and there are cheaper, fast-food options as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBoyer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This was our first stay in a Marriott Fairfield Inn, and we were quite pleased with it. While somewhat Spartan, this was a fairly new hotel and was very clean, which is very important to us. Also of great importance is the comfort of the bed, and the bed in this hotel was excellent. The breakfast was also excellent, and the staff was very accommodating. The only negative was that the towels, of which there were three sets (not enough for a party of four), were thin. At $80 plus $10 tax, this was a very good value even though adjoining rooms we had requested were not available.

Room Tip: 2nd floor back (away from highway), quiet and accessible to parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RouteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stopped for the night while traveling. The room was extremely clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was great as well. I didn't have a chance to eat the breakfast included in the room as I left early, but it looked like they were putting out a lot of options. A very nice place!

Room Tip: I was driving through some back roads and maybe that made it necessary to navigate with the GPS, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francyl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed for two nights at this hotel. It feels brand new inside and is very nicely decorated for a budget friendly hotel. The gym is fantastic. Nice selection of equipment and they even give you headphones if you don't have them for the TVs on the machines. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was decent, though nothing spectacular. Would have preferred additional toppings for the oatmeal aside from raisins and brown sugar or a granola to have with yogurt. Good range of options though and mainly healthy. Great location, easy access to everything including downtown South Boston and Halifax. We had a 2 bedroom suite, though it really wasn't two separate bedrooms. Not sure if this was because it was a handicapped accessible room or not (we didn't need this, but we got it). So, made have 3 people a bit difficult since you could hear the TV clearly in the other "room" and had no privacy if you wanted it. Please keep that in mind of those traveling together aren't family! Otherwise, room was spacious and had lots of closet space. The kitchen was very basic, a sink, fridge and microwave which was fine for us.

As for eating options, there is a great Mexican restaurant very close by, just a couple minutes down the road called Mexican Viejo in a strip shopping center. Very tasty good and prices were super reasonable. Also, in downtown South Boston, there is a new place that is on the main street at a corner and believe it is called Southern Plenty. It is a bookstore, art store and restaurant. The food is awesome! You must go there. All homemade. I had butternut squash lasagna and a caramel brownie. Fantastic. Molasses Grill in Halifax is also recommended for more of a fine dining experience, though also very reasonable in price for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoecatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Hotel seems quite new; it was quite comfortable and beautifully appointed. Better than average pool and exercise facility. good breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Some terrific places to eat nearby -- very unexpected for rural South Boston! Make sure you eat either at Caffe Peroni or Bistro 1888 - you'll be surprised.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogwalkerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Boston
3.0 mi away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#4 of 7 in South Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
19.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Clarksville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
21.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Roxboro
Hampton Inn Roxboro
#1 of 3 in Roxboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 South Boston VA
Super 8 South Boston VA
#3 of 7 in South Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
Address: 1120 Bill Tuck Hwy, South Boston, VA 24592-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott® Hotel of South Boston, your hotel experience will be what you want - a clean, comfortable guest room, friendly service and outstanding value. Enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast featuring Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sandwiches, indoor pool, indoor whirlpool and FREE Wi-Fi high speed internet access throughout the hotel. We are conveniently located near Halifax Regional Hospital, ABB, Dollar General Corporation, Presto, Annin & Co., Riverstone Technology Park, Southern Virginia Higher Education Center and the Carlbrook School. Looking for entertainment? Try nearby South Boston Speedway, VIRginia International Raceway, The Prizery, South Boston/Halifax County Museum, Bob Cage Sculpture Farm or The World of Sports. The area boasts a variety of wonderful restaurants; let us assist you finding the menu to suit your needs. The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott® of South Boston surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel South Boston
Fairfield Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing