We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful addition”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Culpeper, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful addition”
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We had stayed at Smithfield Station in the early 1990's when our daughter lived in the area. The addition is wonderful. On a cold January week-end we really enjoyed our room with view of a much cleaner Pagan River and a realistic electric fireplace in our room. The mattress was extremely comfortable for a husband with an ailing back. The restaurant food was as superb as it had been years ago with seafood and Smithfield ham as our favorites along with Sunday brunch. We plan to be back much sooner this next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thanks for the kind words! We are always reinvesting in this property to make it enjoyable for our guests. We look forward to a return visit and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    90
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
59
258
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed in the upper room of the Lighthouse at Smithfield and were overwhelmed at the romantic atmosphere that had been created. The view from the platform up in the light of the lighthouse was calming and breathtaking all at the same time. The king size bed did not dwarf the room and slept very comfortably. The fireplace provided a cozy atmosphere and made the room toasty warm. The bathroom was stocked with Bath and Body Works lotions and soaps and had a large mirror and cosmetic area. Our favorite part was the jacuzzi tub with plenty of room for two and the spacious shower with two shower heads. The staff were friendly and worked very hard to accomodate us. We felt spoiled rotten when we left.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank birthdaygirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thanks for the kind words! Spoiling you rotten is what the lighthouse suite is meant to do! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed in the "lighthouse" suite and it was very lovely. The entire room was very nice, great views of the water from every window. The jacuzzi and double shower were wonderful. The small built in eating area was just perfect for the 2 of us to have evening snacks and do some reading. The only negative, according to my husband but not to me, was that because of so many windows and the lighthouse at the top, you can forget sleeping in late if the sun bothers you. It didn't bother me at all and I slept in very comfortably. Wi-Fi in the room would have been nice and maybe updated electronics. Because I wanted the trip to be relaxing without having to worry about cost, they allowed me to prepay for everything, including dinner and breakfast and the staff at the hotel and the restaurant were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely go back for a longer trip, but only because of the cost, we may not stay in the lighthouse suite but definitely one of their other rooms.

Also, I had the very best burger I've ever eaten in my life at their restaurant. The breakfast was wonderful and I had the best seafood omelet ever. The food and the service was splendid. There was also a cute store nearby called Girl This where we purchased gifts and the staff was friendly there as well.

The parking lot could use some updating, as it seems to be gravel and sand instead of asphalt. Since it was snowing when we arrived, it was a little tricky getting in and out and walking to our suite.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighromero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Thank you for such a nice review. We here at Smithfield Station strive to make every stay a memorable one and any special requests you have are always met with enthusiasm. Wi-Fi is available in all of our rooms here at the Station so I am sorry to hear you did not find it. If you ever need anything, our helpful staff is only a quick phone call away and it would be our pleasure to make sure you have all that you desire. Once again, thanks for visiting us and for the wonderful comments. We would love to see you again soon and if there is anything we can do to accommodate you in the future, please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Great waterfront inn -quaint town with lots of shopping. Great restaurant on location with wonderful food. Don't hesitate to try this for a romantic, quiet getaway.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunsterlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Thank you for the great review. Being a family owned and operated restaurant and hotel, it is words like these that make our dedication to this business worthwhile. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Stayed in the premier room they offer "the lighthouse" and the light fixtures in the room had not been cleaned in months. The corners in the floor had not been vacuumed in a while. the carpet at the top of the spiral staircase very dirty, toothpaste on the sink from the last guest. Shower handle come off in my hand. Upon checking out advised of all the above and they said they would email me that day about my stay. They never contacted me which leads me to the conclusion that they really do not care.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiledoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
At Smithfield Station we take pride and meeting and exceeding all the expectations of our guests. We regret that we fell short of this during this visit. Our Lighthouse Suite is truly unique and is the premier suite at Smithfield Station. As a family owned and operated Hotel celebrating 25 years in business this year, we value the feedback of all our guests. The issues raised in this review are not indicative of the reputation we have worked diligently to earn and maintain. The author of this review has been contacted and all issues have been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

The new lodge rooms at Smithfield Station were wonderful. They are very big and brand new. The fireplaces were a nice touch as were the large jacuzzi tubs. Flat screen TVs with satellite service, free wi-fi, etc. We though we were perhaps the first people to ever stay in the rooms they seemed so new, and then we found some hairs in the sink...so much for that thought! The restaurant and bar was basic good ol' southern fair. What the staff lacked in service and knowledge they made up for with pleasantness and charm.

The one thing that really ended our stay on a sour note was that our complimentary breakfast, included in the room price, was only served til 9AM. Being on a nice romantic weekend, forgive us if we didn't make it to breakfast by 9AM! So, don't be late, because there is no service after 9AM...period. We had to leave and find someplace else.

The pool was a little weird, too. Kind of like one you would find in a backyard, and right next to the highway. It's also about as far away from the lodge as you can get.

Lastly, I'm not looking for anything super-special, but other places tend to be a little more thoughtful when it comes to special occassions. I mentioned it was our tenth wedding anniversary when I made the reservation, and we didn't even get a 'congratulations' from the staff over the phone, while checking in at the front desk, or in the room. And its not like the place was booked. We only saw one other couple staying at the property.

Overall, it was a nice little place for a night away from the kids, but I would not classify it as a luxury or resort-style property. Perhaps my expectations were too high.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, nc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed in the lighthouse. You can climb to the top from the room. Well appointed room. Good breakfast with Smithfield ham included in room price.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightseeker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
21.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
258 reviews
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing