We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smithfield Station” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Smithfield Station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I would highly recommend Smithfield Station and can't wait to return. The view from our corner room was spectacular with a cross breeze and a fantastic view of the marina and beautiful Pagan River. The staff was unbelievable, the food delectable and the accommodations were perfect. We happened to visit during a town celebration and raft race which was like a reunion for the town. We had no idea of the history of Smithfield, so that demands a return visit. Thank you to the Pack family and your wonderful "second" family!

Room Tip: We stayed in the original building which has no elevator which we knew ahead of time, so we packed l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much KathyR for your wonderful review of our hotel and restaurant. You surely did pick a great weekend to join us. Our town looks forward to Olden Days every year and it sounds like you enjoyed all the festivities. . We are so glad you did. Please do come back to see us and explore the town and all it has to offer soon We look forward to seeing you again and appreciate your kind comments about your stay with us. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    82
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
54
242
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had the privilege of staying in the Lighthouse at Smithfield Station last weekend and hosting a party in the Private Dining Room and adjoining deck....WOW! The entire experience from start to finish was divine! Upon check-in, we hightailed it to the intimate pool for some sun and fun before the party....and then spent a little time in our suite in the Lighthouse--what an amazing accommodation! We had the bottom floor which is set up like a Living Suite with a pull out Murphy Bed (which by the way was one of the most comfortable beds I've EVER slept on!), built-in kitchen and beautifully appointed bath...and a view to die for! What a joy to get ready in a room like that! The party itself was handled beautifully and with a warm professionalism that truly impressed both us and our guests. The food was fantastic, the bar service superb and the service was exceptional. Several of our guests also stayed at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed their experiences as well. The next day featured the Station's delicious brunch with an omlet and waffle bar to die for!

The hospitality that we enjoyed at Smithfield Station was top-notch! Thank you for an AMAZING weekend and birthday that we will never forget!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the lovely Lighthouse!
See more room tips
Green Features: Great green property...and that does matter to us!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TourPro757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you Thank You Thank You TourPro757 for your wonderful comments about your stay with us at The Smithfield Station. What a special way to celebrate "both" birthdays". How cool is that !!!! You surely did choose our best and most unique suite for your celebration.. The Lighthouse truly does have awesome views and has everything you need for a special night, so conveniently located to the pool and our restaurant. We are delighted that you had a great time with good food, good service and great friends. What a wonderful birthday present to you both!!!! Thank you again for staying with us and please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Although the hotel is not the most modern, it has everything you need. Awesome view of the marina. The restaurant staff was as friendly as they come. Really enjoyed staying here and exploring the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you KellyR for your review of The Smithfield Station. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to hear that our staff made you feel right at home. Our guests are very important to us and we try to give you the best possible service . Please visit us again soon and perhaps try a room in our new Lodge. It too has great views of the river. Thank you once again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We visit Smithfield Station by boat with 30 of our best friends very year. No my boat isn't a large yacht. All of us come in our Grady White boats. We have a relaxing, laid-back weekend. Smithfield Station is first class in accommodations, food, dockage, and hospitality. We like the boardwalk cabins and we have stayed in the lodge too. Both provide a comfortable ammentiies filled place to stay. The food is first class as is the service. We'll be back next June.

Room Tip: Lodge or Boardwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom23692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We just love having your club come and visit with us each year. You all feel like family. We always look forward to our Grady White boaters filling the Marina with great people. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience at The Smithfield Station. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

From the time we arrived at the very well appointed Smithfield Station Inn, we received excellent service in a super friendly environment. Special thanks to Beth, who welcomed us and to Holly who served our delicious anniversary dinner. Our 3rd floor room overlooking the Pagan River was lovely and comfortable in every way possible. The "continental breakfast" was much more than expected - made-to-order omelets were deliciously prepared by yet another super employee. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHLEEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you Kathleen D for your feedback on your stay with us. It is always great to hear that we are doing our jobs well. We always strive to make our guests feel welcome and give the best possible customer service. We appreciate you letting us know that we were successful in making you feel right at home. We certainly hope you will visit us again soon and once again we appreciate you sharing your comments about your experience at The Smithfield Station. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Lee family had an awesome time this weekend. The rooms were amazing, the food was absolutely delicious and the service was great. Everyone was very accommodating I am looking forward to our next visit. We told our sister that we want to have the family gathering at the Smithfield Station again soon. If I could afford to I would have my retirement party here next year when I retire, but we'll see. Anyway, you will see us again hopefully next trip we can get the "free" breakfast. Thanks again for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: My husband and I fell in love with our room, we will never forget it Room 160, even though we did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about your stay with us at The Smithfield Station. it was a pleasure getting to know all of you "family" We are delighted that you had a great time. We certainly hope you will contact us about your retirement party...we would love to have you come back for another celebration. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I can’t express how much I appreciate all the hard work the owners and staff of this hotel went through to make my wedding this past weekend a success. It was absolutely the exact wedding that I hoped for. From the moment I sent the initial email asking if they could accommodate my short notice and all of the things I wanted to the end of the Sunday brunch I felt as though I was their most important customer! Every detail from the rooms to the flowers to the cake and food to the choice of photographer and officiate were spot on. Just thinking back to how lovely the boat ride was and the beautiful location they took us to for our ceremony on the river brings tears to my eyes. Their dedication to the success of my wedding weekend made the entire event perfect. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The deluxe king with jacuzzi and fireplace and balcony is perfect for a romantic getaway room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you Michelle K for your wonderful review of The Smithfield Station. We just love our brides and we love weddings !. I am so glad that your wedding was everything you had dreamed of and you chose us to be a part of your special day. Your wedding day should be special and memorable and it appears it was perfect. It was such a pleasure working with you planning your wedding. Congratulations on your marriage and we hope you will return soon Once again thank you for your comments. Hope to see you for the celebration of your anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
23.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
18.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing