We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful - Great Get-A-Way”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful - Great Get-A-Way”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We took advantage of a Groupon offer and purchased 2 nights at this beautiful hotel. It was not only quiet and peaceful, but the room was exquisite, with a fireplace and a view to die for.

The town is a lovely, small, unique town. We browsed through the downtown shops and it was just a great weekend.

We did eat at the restaurant in the hotel. Service was excellent, food was not as good as we had hoped for, but all in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor (there are only 3 floors) and see if you can get one with a firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We do appreciate your comments on your visit with us. It seems you enjoyed all that Smithfield Station has to offer. Our downtown area is a big hit with our guests and I am glad to see that you were able to visit there as well. Please come back soon and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    90
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
61
261
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at Smithfield Station this weekend in one of the Deluxe Lodge rooms w/ jacuzzi. We were so impressed. I was beginning to get discouraged because the weather and other events were putting a damper on our plans, but the room made all my worries go away. I didn't have time to worry about what was going wrong because Smithfield Station was so right. Everything we needed for a weekend getaway. Thank you Beth for checking me in and holding your laughter while I had him blindfolded trying not to bump into things. The room was spacious as well as the bathroom which I was most pleased with. I even hinted at him designing our master bedroom in our home to match. Everything down to the vintage vanity seat in the bathroom was perfection. Blindfolded, he walked into the room not knowing where we were (due to the key, not key card) and stated that "we can't be at a hotel because it smells so clean in here". Can't wait to return and hopefully have a chance to go out to the park as well as experience the restaurant. Almost certain we will return this year. Thanks for all you did to make our stress free weekend enjoyable!!! ;-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We appreciate your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend at Smithfield Station. despite the weather. Our rooms do offer all that you need to spend a relaxing weekend enjoying what we have to offer. Please come again soon for that walk in Windsor Castle Park. We welcome your return anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Spent a night at the Smithfield Station Inn and we were very impressed. We were greeted by a very friendly clerk who had us checked in within a few minutes. We had reservations and had selected the deluxe lodge junior suite, which was an end room on the top floor. Very impressive room which had a large sitting area with a fireplace and scenic views from 3 sides of the room. Very clean hotel. It came with a continental breakfast, which included freshly made waffles and omelets with a large variety of pastries, ham biscuits, breads, etc. We'll definitely stay again in the near future. Very close to the downtown area which has lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: The deluxe lodge junior suite has windows on 3 sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Yes we do love our Junior Suite!!!!It Your comments described it perfectly. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in that room. Please come and visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Beautiful corner room: chocolate covered strawberries with white chocolate little kisses and either champagne or we requested a bottle of apple cider. Romantic weekend with a huge comfortable bed with lots of pillows. Nice fireplace and balcony overlooking the water. The room was clean and very nice: refrig and safe. The only negative when we returned to the room our door was left open and unlocked. Besides that one event we got a great Groupon deal and it was a wonderful weekend at a very nice hotel. Highly recommend. There is an inground swimming pool on site which would be nice in the summer.

Room Tip: Corner room top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our property. I appears that you had a wonderful time relaxing and enjoying our view of the river. Thank you for calling attention to your door being left ajar and I will share this information with our housekeeping team. We appreciate you visiting with us and hope you will comeback again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I took a weekend trip to Smithfied Station the weekend of March 22nd. Everything was fine with the room, large and comfortable. The town is a fun place to checkout if you have never been there before, great shops and places to browse. There is something satisfying eating a sweet potato ham biscuit at the Smithfield Inn knowing that they are slathering thousands of swine in the processing plant just a mile or so away.

Anyway my big “Back to the Future” moment happened when we checked in. After going through the normal process the receptionist handed us a hard metal key. Really? Is this the only hotel built in the past 30 years without a secured access control card system? Not only that, but the key had a tag with the room number stamped right on it. Better make sure you don’t drop that in the parking lot.

The more I thought about this the more it bothered me. This is the same key handed out to 100’s of guests for this room every year. What if just one of those guests happens to keep the key or, better yet, makes a copy and then drops in later on an unsuspecting guest when they are away (or not away)?

You might say this is quaint system, harking to the past, however I think it is really somewhat risky and it made me apprehensive. OK, it would not keep me from staying there but if I was a single woman I might think twice.

So if you do decide to book I would keep my valuables in the car when you were away and make sure to use the slide bolt on the door when you go to sleep.

Oh and the water view is great and peaceful. You can also see the factory in the distance and in the quite of the night... what is that sound?... could it be the cries of the pigs as they hit that point in the beginning of the line in the factory?

Sweet dreams.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Took my husband here to celebrate his birthday. Lovely, peacful hotel. Rooms are nicely appointed with large king size, comfortable bed, working fireplace, small balcony facing the water, empty fridge (our had champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries - not sure if they do this for all guests or because it was hubby's birthday), huge bathroom (lucious towels!), coffee machine and Direct TV. We also ate their restaurant - fabulous dinner. Continental breakfast was expected. My only complaint was that this lovely hotel that had thought of many luxury amenities, only offered powered creamer for coffee - why not real milk? After I completed their online survey, the owner contacted me and said they appreciated my comment about the powered creamer - so kudos to Smithfield Station for listening to their clients!!

There is a tiny fitness center with 1 treadmill, 1 eliptical, and 1 bike.

There are 3 nicely appointed sitting areas, one on each floor ... and a mircowave on the 2nd floor (nice touch).

Tiny Smithfield's Main Street is only a few blocks away. Walk the street and support charming local businesses.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleDolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your reviews of our property. We are delighted that you chose us to celebrate your husband's birthday. We love celebrations and we are happy that he enjoyed our chocolate covered strawberries as a birthday treat. We hope you will return soon... perhaps to celebrate again. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We came back again to relax, enjoy the view, the relaxation, the park across the street and marsh, the restaurant, the deck outside our room, the comfortable bed, the strawberries and champagne,the huge bathroom and jacuzzi tub and big walk-in shower, the cleanliness,and friendliness, and on and on. This is our favorite getaway. We live on Lake Gaston,so the water is not the pull it is for others,because we wake to that sight each day. It's the whole package of the Inn, the bar and restaurant, the marina, the balcony and marsh, it just makes this an ideal place to get away and experience a change---if only for a few days.And, it's done so well here by the Pack family---you'll want to return often too.

Room Tip: Love the rooms with a balcony to sit and enjoy the marina and marsh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank You... Thank You... Thank you for your wonderful comments about our property. You just about covered it all. We do have a peaceful and relaxing property and we are so glad that you choose to spend your time with us. You are always welcome and we hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
594 reviews
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
263 reviews
21.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing