We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still our Happy Place”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still our Happy Place”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stay at least once a year. Love this place, especially the restaurant and bar (yay Pat!) but I do wish the owners would train the front desk people to smile and act happy to be there. We've always encountered less than friendly folks at the check-in desk. We look so forward to being there but then the front desk folks are such Debbie Downers. Everything else is perfection!! House keeping staff are so cute and personable. Maybe they could give a few tips to front desk folks?

Room Tip: 3rd floor in the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Point well taken! We are always pleased to have you and welcome you back. A little pep in the step of our front desk agents may be just what we need! Wait until you meet Donna though, she is so happy you can't help but smile. We look forward to seeing you back again - this time with a BIG FAT SMILE ;)

Thanks again,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    86
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
251
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went down for just an overnite get away. It was better than we expected!!! We fell in love with the location and our room. We stayed in the lodge. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Being able to set out on the balcony and listening to the rain was wonderful. The food was great. My other half said the creme brûlée is what made the meal. Can not say one bad thing about our trip. As a matter of fact we are thinking about coming back down at the end of the month for a whole weekend! Thanks for a wonderful relaxing get away it just wasn't long enough!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadsispatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much vadispatcher! That was an absolutely terrific review of our property and it sounds like you made the best of a rainy weekend! Our crème brule is made with white chocolate and is one of our specialties.... thanks for taking note. We look forward to seeing you guys again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the lighthouse the last time sitting over the water. It was nice wit the boats on the Pagan river passing by your windows. We got one of the new lodge rooms this time and it was new and very nice,From the giant poster bed, the granite top bathroom,fireplace and balcony looking over the marina and river, it was very nice.We had seafood Saturday night as was great. You need to plan to be there on Sunday morning for the buffet. I often thought of the crab omelet and was not disappointed. We will go again..

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks Larry2464 we greatly appreciate the kind words. It sounds as if you have really enjoyed some of the best things we offer here. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to enhance your stay with us in this Genuine small southern Town.

Sincerely,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I spent my 60+ birthday at Smithfield Station and was disappointed I couldn't stay longer. Large, spotless room, balcony overlooking the water and marina, decent restaurant and shops are in the complex. Just a short drive into town are histoic homes, shops, gardens, and a church and castle to tour. The Smithfield Station restaurant had a very good breakfast made to order, but the dinner was typical of.most eateries. I had a groupon and felt it was a good value as it included champagne, chocolate strawberries, breakfast and all the views you can take in

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello Kaye W and happy belated birthday from Smithfield Station! So happy to hear you enjoyed yourself and allowed us to be such a part of your celebration. We appreciate the review as well because word of mouth advertising is the best. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
Level Contributor
239 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The staff at this hotel are as great as the rooms. They are efficient, professional, and helpful in every way. Our large room was on the third floor, and had a very comfortable king bed, fireplace and balcony. We were steps away from the restaurant. This hotel is a short drive ( three minutes) from town, and within easy striking distance from Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Newport News.
This is the place to stay in Smithfield.

Room Tip: There are no less-desirable rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you ontheroadagain09_9! As a traveler with 61 reviews, you appear to be "in the know" as a hotel guest! I truly appreciate the mention of my staff as well as they work very hard to please every guest that walks through the door and, when mentioned, they are rewarded ;) We look forward to seeing you again in our charming town.

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After some word of mouth reviews from friends we decided to try Smithfield Station as a weekend getaway. We took our boat from Virginia beach on a stunning trip up the James River to the Pagan river. ( About 1-2 hours depending on your speed.) The Property was beautiful. We went with out a reservation and walked around before choosing one of the many room choices. We decided on a cottage directly on the marina slips. Beautiful with a porch, fireplace and nice decor. Super clean with a comfortable bed...Paid about $170 for one night but well worth the rate when you consider the "romance package". Resturaunt was excellent and we got great service from Victoria. The breakfast buffet is "award winning" with crab and shimp filled omelets. Docked the boat 10 feet from the front door of the cottage! Beautiful views of the river and marsh everywhere and the staff was very welcoming...we will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
This is absolutely one of the coolest things about Smithfield Station to our boaters! We love that you can get a great cottage and keep your boat literally in front of your room. BTW, I think you must have great friends as well! As always, we appreciate the great review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

. . . the hotel room (in the original wing) needs work, or at least a good cleaning. The tub in my bathroom was either dirty or badly stained. The room was adequate but sparse.

Despite this, I like the unique setting, the warm family management and I know I will return (and book a better room).

Room Tip: Book a room in the newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Steven P and thanks for the review! We really appreciate your comments and realize that the third floor waterfront rooms are in deed in need of some freshening up. That is scheduled to be done starting in January so when next spring rolls around, they will be beautiful again like the rest of the property. Thanks for the honesty and we glad you enjoyed your stay. See you soon.

Sincerely,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
21.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
23.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
18.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
17.0 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing