We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful getaway...”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After some word of mouth reviews from friends we decided to try Smithfield Station as a weekend getaway. We took our boat from Virginia beach on a stunning trip up the James River to the Pagan river. ( About 1-2 hours depending on your speed.) The Property was beautiful. We went with out a reservation and walked around before choosing one of the many room choices. We decided on a cottage directly on the marina slips. Beautiful with a porch, fireplace and nice decor. Super clean with a comfortable bed...Paid about $170 for one night but well worth the rate when you consider the "romance package". Resturaunt was excellent and we got great service from Victoria. The breakfast buffet is "award winning" with crab and shimp filled omelets. Docked the boat 10 feet from the front door of the cottage! Beautiful views of the river and marsh everywhere and the staff was very welcoming...we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

This is absolutely one of the coolest things about Smithfield Station to our boaters! We love that you can get a great cottage and keep your boat literally in front of your room. BTW, I think you must have great friends as well! As always, we appreciate the great review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 455 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

. . . the hotel room (in the original wing) needs work, or at least a good cleaning. The tub in my bathroom was either dirty or badly stained. The room was adequate but sparse.

Despite this, I like the unique setting, the warm family management and I know I will return (and book a better room).

Room Tip: Book a room in the newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hi Steven P and thanks for the review! We really appreciate your comments and realize that the third floor waterfront rooms are in deed in need of some freshening up. That is scheduled to be done starting in January so when next spring rolls around, they will be beautiful again like the rest of the property. Thanks for the honesty and we glad you enjoyed your stay. See you soon.

Sincerely,
Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We live close by and only stayed at this hotel for one night with a Living Social deal. It's on the water and has a nice view from the balcony and an outdoor seating area. Check in was smooth and the room was great, very spacious. We loved the balcony and the bed was cushy & comfortable. The bathroom was amazing with a huge shower. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank massajennr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Smooth and sweet .... a new slogan perhaps! Thanks for the great review and for staying with us! We would love to have you back.

Sincerely,
Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I purchased a overnight stay from Groupon (at a discounted price) even though the original prices were well worth the stay. This beautiful place is a conglamorate of quaint shops, a mini-marina, a superb restaurant and lovely spacious rooms. All of this is family owned operated and maintained. We were greeted by the owner Mr Pack and his "SWEET" antique car. He was very nice and approachable. We went in our room and were stunned by a huge king sized bed accompanied by chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. All of the rooms have a comfortable balcony smack dab on the pagan river just over the marina. We sat there and enjoyed the sunset of a wonderful day. Our front desk associate "Donna" made reservations at the smithfield station restaurant. The food was superb and the hospitality of our waitress "Katrina" was sweet. The next day we ate a yummy complimentary breakfast. Then we went swimming in the pool. Next we went shopping at one of the shops adjoined called "Girl This", and had a great ice cream and cake the ice cream shop called Jeff's "Sir cakes a lot" so you see this is a great place to stay and do everything in one shot. Also, while your in the area check out downtown smithtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for the kind words Philvz! I always appreciate my staff being recognized by name and they get a nice little reward for excellent service as well! Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome you back anytime.

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After all these years in Virginia we finally took the time to visit this charming town and stay at this wonderful property for 2 nights last weekend. Our room was spacious and had lovely cherry furnishings, pretty linens and was a comfortable sleep. The view was terrific and we were able to relax and enjoy a lovely dinner in the restaurant also.
"Main Street" offered lovely shops to visit and the Isle of Wight Museum was a great place to get information. On the way there and back to Richmond we visited other historic venues and simply had a pleasant trip on a holiday weekend with no traffic as we traveled the scenic route.
Highly recommend this gem of a town and property if you are seeking peace and quiet, a water view and some good eating.

Room Tip: We stayed in the inn section, nice rooms and very quiet. Great views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakemates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Good evening lakemates and thanks for the glowing review! I am so happy that you were able to join us on one of the last weekends of summer and visit this charming southern town. The scenic route (Route 10 East) is absolutely beautiful and, as stated, traffic free from Richmond! We are always happy to host folks that are looking for a relaxing getaway.

Thanks again,
Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Smithfield Station after buying a deal on Travelzoo. It included champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, what's not to like about that? The resort is lovely, the staff was nice.We were given a beautifully appointed room off by ourselves,with a lovely view. The bathroom was beautiful and the bed was so nice you don't want to leave.We did have to make an appearance for breakfast a little earlier than I would have liked,but it was worth it! I would definitely recommend Smithfield Station for a romantic relaxing evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look farward to a rapid return!

Yours in Hospitality,

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Checked in with our best friends for a couple only night...kids at home with sitter. We drove from Yorktown to Smithfield in well under an hour. Pulled up to the resort/hotel and checked in was pretty good. Nice lobby with the sweetest little row boat front and center. Check in and to our delight found the most beautiful waterfront room with little terrance to view the river. In our room was champs and chocolate cover strawberries. We enjoyed all the extras and then went to the restaurant for appys. Sat outside and enjoyed the view and our food. Went back to relax and change and back to the same table for dinner. We had the most amazing food!!! Oysters Rockerfeller to die for...crap dip...sprimp..steaks...We had it all and it was all so great! We had a blast with the staff...sitting out there and enjoying the great wine, food and company with an awesome sunset...doesnt get much better! Quiet cooling breeze and the river just below..was picture prefect...we will be back.
Smithfield Station is one heck of a secret....Go and you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask to see the lighthouse..we did ask to see the rooms after we checked in and in the future will bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darbar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Not sure how to respond to this, but for heaven’s sake if you enjoyed it this much please tell all your friends! Thank you for the kind words and visiting with us. We are very proud of our hotel, restaurant and marina and kind words are what make it all worthwhile.

Thanks again,
Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
645 reviews
17 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: $126 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing