We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Boat Lovers Perfect Marina & Seafood Lovers Delight!”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Isle of Wight, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Boat Lovers Perfect Marina & Seafood Lovers Delight!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The shops, restaurant, and lodging at The Smithfield Station is perfect for a romantic getaway for couples. We went there for a brief overnight stay and loved the morning brunch in the restaurant the next day. The private balcony in our room and cozy fireplace made the room feel like the place was all ours. We recommend making The Smithfield Station a great getaway destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi Todd B! Thanks for the kind words. We try and make everyone feel like this hotel is as comfortable as their home. We appreciate your recommendation and would love to see you again soon!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    86
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
251
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had never been to Smithfield before so we bought a Groupon to the Smithfield Station Lodge, and it was delightful. The people were so friendly and the service was great. The room had an electric fireplace, jacuzzi and a balcony (70 degrees!). The room was big and very clean (renovated 4/5 years ago). Lighting in the room was a bit low-problem for reading. A very large breakfast was included (listed as continental but was a full). The food at the restaurant was very good, especially the seafood salads. Danielle was our waitress and was great: friendly, knowledgeable about the food and the wine.

Room Tip: Try for one that has a fireplace, jacuzzi and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billwa506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks for the compliments on our facility and our staff. Danielle is a second generation server for us and does a great job. Hope to see you again soon!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at his hotel Fri/Sat after Thanksgiving and really enjoyed it. The room was very large, comfortable bed, electronic fireplace, large bath and balcony overlooking the marina. Smithfield it's self was very charming with several shops and restaurants. I would recommend this small hotl to anyone seeking a quite relaxed getaway - the restaurant was decent as well. The bar staff was great and the drink prices even better ($10 grey goose martinis).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelguyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
You have experienced everything we hoped for! This is a great town and we are happy to show it off. So glad you were able to enjoy!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were in Smithfield just after Hurricane Sandy. We arrived a day late for our reservation. How delighted we were with our stayat Smithfield Station. The room (with a fireplace and a balcony) was delightful. The beds were just right (as baby bear said). The amenities were the best we had on our whole trip - loved the in room coffee.What a view over the marina from our balcony! We ate at the restaurant (flounder and the crab cakes were superb!!!), and the service was exceptional. I can't wait to go back there again and stay much longer...

Room Tip: Get the king room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjh72762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Great service is what we are all about! Thanks for the feedback and we can't wait to have you back again!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Smithfield Station is an idyllic, waterfront setting within walking distance to lovely shops & restaurants. I stayed on a wintery, stormy night & loved hearing the sailboat halyards clank as my room was right on the dock with Christmas lit sailboats right outside - couldn't be cozier!
Dinner at Smithfield Station Restaurant was delicious, but there are many other excellent restaurants in town. I thoroughly enjoyed my nautical themed stay!

Room Tip: Every room looked great. I stayed at the dock, right next to the moored boats & loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the review and the awesome depiction of our facility! We always aim to keep our guests nothing less than delighted and it seems we have done that with you. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back here again!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I say this with hesitation because I know many will agree, but if you have never been to Smithfield, you have to go. If you like little quaint towns where the people are extremely friendly and there is not much to do but relax, you will love Smithfield. On to the Smithfield Station, an outstanding place to stay. Not only is the staff friendly but the rooms are amazing as well. We stayed in a king room that had a little balcony overlooking the water, a fireplace, a one person Jacuzzi, huge bathroom in general and one of the best beds I have ever laid on. It was so relaxing to sit on a chair with the fireplace on and watch a little football with the balcony door open to still see the water. If you like a dark room while sleeping, this particular room was well lit from the lights on the dock throughout the night. But that didn’t bother us. Windsor Castle Park is right across the street and that is a wonderful 4 mile greenway course that had lots of people walking around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkunkyWunky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good afternoon SkunyWunky2! Thanks for the dynamite review on our town and our facility. I am delighted you guys were able to enjoy yourselves as our rooms are designed to be used just as you described. We have put our heart and soul in to this place and comments like yours are what makes it all worthwhile. Thanks again and I look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We just returned from our trip to Smithfield Station and I want to say that it was fantastic! The rooms were elegant, comfortable and immaculate. Right across the road from the hotel was a +4 mile walking/running path which is well maintained and has beautiful views. The best thing about Smithfield Station was the staff. They really made us feel welcome during our stay. They told us about the path, gave us directions to restaurants, provide information about the town of Smithfield and were extremely friendly. Dining at the Smithfield Station Restaurant is a must. Again, their staff was terrific. The complimentary hot breakfast would please anyone and there were many healthy choices. The dinner there was also top notch. I had the broiled stuffed shrimp and my wife had the tournedos with crab meat. Both were excellent. We cannot wait until our return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for the terrific review MikeMi! Your words speak for themselves. I am so happy to hear you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed not only our wonderful hotel, but this great town we call home as well. Thanks again and I look forward to seeing you soon.

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
21.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
23.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
18.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
17.0 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing