We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Successful Groupon Stay!”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was another individual who bought a Groupon for a one night stay with Champange and Chocolate Strawberries at the Inn. Getting reservations was quite tricky in arranging for a Saturday night stay so I switched up and booked a Friday night instead and ended up with a better experience. Check in was smooth and quick with the hardest part being figuring out which building was the actual lobby for the hotel. The room was nice and very big. I didn't think the bed was very comfortable as I now have a foam mattress that I prefer but I believe this is a personal preference not any indication on the actual bed. Not much was going on at the hotel which was perfect since it was fairly quiet with just the sounds of the water on the boats outside the window. Check-Out was nice and quick with no issues. This place will be great for a quick get away.

The only complaint I would have had is with the breakfast in the morning. It was not very well setup and a little confusing about where to sit and such. I also think it was weird not to have any Smithfield Ham products since it is the local item. Still was well stocked with eggs, waffles, fruit, bagels just no local treats from Smithfield!

Room Tip: They all face the water and just some rooms seem larger than others. Only tip would be to go higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVAlawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Good afternoon lawboy and thanks for the review. Saturday night has become quite popular here as of late and reservations for Saturday nights are sometimes tough to come by. I am glad you were able to find a Friday that fit your schedule. We feel that your first (check in) and last (check out) experience should be terrific and I am glad that you found this so. I am surprised to hear that you didn't find any Smithfield Ham products on our complimentary breakfast. We always have Smithfield Ham biscuits available .... perhaps there had been a rush on them. Smithfield Ham biscuits are a traditional breakfast in Smithfield! We thank you for your patronage and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Randy Pack
Vice President
Smithfield Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 446 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We purchased a living social 2 night stay at Smithfield Station in Smithfield, Virginia in the main lodge. Very nice accomodations with a balcony overlooking the small marina. Fireplace.large tv, king size bed, and huge bathroom. Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were ready for us in the room refrigerator. A lot to do in Smithfield. We enjoyed walking down Main street and the side streets with a walking guide map to see the beautiful architecture of the houses and visiting the local museum to learn about the history of Smithfield hams. Make sure to try and find the eight painted pigs in the area that debuted May, 2012. For antique and art lovers there are plenty of shops to browse. We toured the St. Lukes Episcopal Church built in the early 1600's and restored in the late 1800's with beautiful stained glass windows. In addition there are great opportunities for walking and kayaking etc. in the park extending from the inn to the town. We topped off our vacay with a fishing trip on the SallyT in Hampton on the day we left Smithfield. Highly recommended vacation area. PS. a breakfast was provided each morning and we enjoyed the lobster lasagna and seafood rarebit dishes at the inns restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for such a great review! You appear to have taken advantage of all the activities our small town offers! All these activities were designed with folks like yourselves in mind so thanks for mentioning so many of them! We look forward to a speedy return. In the meantime, if there is anything we can do for you, please let me know and I will be happy to oblige. Thanks again!

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed one night using a Groupon we had purchased which included champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and breakfast. We had a lovely room with a balcony over the marina. The room was larger than we expected and the bathroom with the large shower and jetted tub was great. The park across the street enabled me to do my 10-mile training run in on a safe and pretty trail. No fitness center, though. All in all, a great stay!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank rsrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

So glad you made use of the Windsor Castle Park located just across the street and were able to enjoy your stay. Hang tight on the fitness room, as it is in the works. We have had several people mention they would like to have one and we are working towards it. Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again!

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked the property on line. The rooms were nicely decorated...Very Clean, and a good "Continental Breakfast".
The location was great for touring Williamsburg...Jamestown....Newport News. The restaurant was also very good and (I thought ) a fair value for good food.

Room Tip: Just a hours drive from Norfolk Airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Good afternoon Ralph from Texas! Thanks for the kind review and making Smithfield a part of your vacation plans. You are very right in the fact that Smithfield is so close to many of the areas greatest historical attractions and the birth place of America! Please continue to spread the good word and we look forward to a quick return!

Warmest regards,
Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Bought a groupon for Smithfield Station for a fun over night. We live near by(Virginia Beach)but thought it would be fun to take a friends boat and spend the night. The deal included champagne, strawberries and breakfast in the morning. We called ahead and they offered to drive us to the nearby golf course the next day so we took our clubs. We had no idea what to expect and we so pleasantly surprised! The dock was just at the foot of our rooms with easy access. The rooms were very spacious with a private balcony over looking the boats and a great jetted tub. The shops and restaurant was connected to the hotel. Happy hour was extended to us for Sunday football and there were cookies in the lobby. Breakfast was a bit too early for us (6-9am)but they offered a to go box for the room. We had a great time and would go back for sure! Thank you!

Room Tip: Loved the jetted tub rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcdwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the review. We always go out of our way to get our boaters to the golf course or wherever they need to go. It sounds as if you were able to enjoy the best of what Smithfield offers. We believe in offering our guests the best eating, drinking and sleeping experience every day, every time, right now. I am glad we could do that for you as well. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I travel to VA Beach every fall for vacation. Last year we got a groupon deal for this hotel, and were quite pleased. Our room was in the new building and we were upgraded (THANK YOU). Our room had a private balcony which over looked the marina (and I had trouble picking out which Yacht I was going to take home.). The fromtdesk attendant was very helpful. The comon areas were all very well decorated, and immaculate. Our one night stay here was before our week in VA BEACH, and a very nice start it was. The town is a neat little old town to walk through and enjoy the shops, artist, resturants. We also got to enjoy your farmers market on Saturday morning. We had dinner in your resturant and it was well worth it. We were even invited to join a class reunion that was taking place there.(They were 10 - 15 yrs older than us, but friendly just the same. The B-fast, while good was pretty typical of your higher end chain hotel- Very enjoyable, but not made to order. We would love to come back if the oppurtunity presents itself.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you so much for the opportunity to showcase our property and town. We believe in what we do and feedback such as yours makes it worthwhile. I do hope that you are able to return again and visit us ... it sounds as if you made the most of all we had to offer, great rooms, great food and great people! I do hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again,
Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Smithfield Station offers a wonderful break from the hectic world. Visitors can find plenty of things to do in the nearby community to fill a weekend. The lodging was clean and comfortable. It appears most, if not all, rooms offer some type of balcony. Our room also had a gas fireplace remotely controlled, which was a nice touch. Adjacent to the lodging is the Smithfield Station restaurant and lounge. The food was overall very good, we focused on the seafood items, but from previous visits, I can also say the meats are a nice selection as well. The lounge was a comfortable sit with view of the water and marina. Since this is fall and there may be an interest in some ball games, the lounge offers four TVs at the bar. So you can grab a bit of your favorite team as you take a break. (Sometimes the specific game you want may not be on the telly, but so what, enjoy the company and service). The prices are reasonable as well. Enjoy the Monday through Friday and Sunday happy hour from 4 to 7. Throughout the facility, the services was hospitable and efficient.
Also within Smithfield Station are some shops from various vendors. There is a nice variety at those shops (Do try "Jeff's Sir-Cakes-A-Lot" bakery...some tasty and creative items made on the premises). There is a nice walking park across the road and many shops and local sites within walking distance.
There is no fitness center on site...just have to make due with walking or biking on your own. Wireless in the room, even on the third floor, worked well.
The summer heat and humidity can be overbearing at times, so if wondering what time of year, the Autumn months are terrific. (Late September through early November is a good bet).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCU61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Very thorough review of our property ... thank you. A fitness center is in the plans for this fall/early winter so hang tight on that one. We appreciate your patronage to not only our business, but it seems you "spread the wealth" through town. Thanks so much for visiting and for such a great review. Hope to see you again soon!

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
17.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
11.0 mi away
Marriott Hotel Newport News at City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
622 reviews
13.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: $136 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing