We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can I move here?”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can I move here?”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I were given a groupon coupon to stay at the Smithfield Station. We frequent the town of Smithfield due to it's uniqueness and down to earth nature. We also love the water. Our stay at Smithfield Station was our first time. We had excellent service even from the booking of the room (very professional and kind - rare these days), a clean room, check in, everything just wonderful. We ate in the restaurant twice and each time had a GREAT experience. Make sure you walk along Main Street and go to the Visitor's Center! Local artist have workshops in there, and the folks inside are so nice! Don't miss the brunch at Smithfield Station on Sundays! Paula will make you an egg omelete to your taste and includes crab meat and shrimp if you like. My husband and I would share meals and it was enough. Also Smithfield Inn has a wonderful little lounge for a nice sandwhich. We stayed in a cottage so our privacy was awesome! The town of Smithfield is also fun to walk around and explore! ENJOY! We hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Try to stay in one of the cottages - a separate little building if you can.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParishAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Of course you can move here! We are delighted that you experienced the great nature that makes this town so wonderful! Thanks for sharing your experience and we look forward to a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    86
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
251
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here last week and found the room to be satisfactory until we returned from dinner around 10:30, ready to sleep after a long day. About the time we were dozing off, i was awakened by a man's voice and thought someone had entered our room. It took a few seconds to realize he was next door. It honestly sounded as though he were in the room with us. After a half hour or so I phoned the desk to ask if they could intervene and get the guest in the other room to lower his voice. They did so immediately and the problem was resolved until this guest arose early the next morning.

This appears to be a fairly new building and i found it difficult to understand why they had no elevator. Our room was on the third floor with more than usual steps to each level. We are older so no way we could have gotten there without help with luggage. Upon request, they will get a bus boy from the restaurant or a dock boy from the marina (when they are not busy) to assist with bags. When we checked in, we left our things in the lobby until they could find someone to take them upstairs.

Again, the facility is OK but we won't be going back to deal with all those steps. Young people, enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank irsmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I am glad we were able to solve the problems you encountered. The building you stayed in was built in 1986 and at the time did not require an elevator. It is also built on pilings over the water so it could not have an elevator (I always joke that when it went down, it would come back up full of fish.) For our folks who need an elevator, our newly constructed Lodge has this convenience. Next time you are back, make sure to ask for one of our Lodge rooms and we will be happy to take care of you. Thanks for the review!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel is newly built and well maintained. Rooms are excellent with granite sink tops and great bathroom. Beds comfortable. Great free breakfast. Very good restaurant with very friendly staff. All the rooms view water and marsh. Swimming pool very small and the only disappointment.

Room Tip: Third floor away from restaurant are quietest ie 3301
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpcpab8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for the review! I agree the pool is a little small, but its positioning by the marina is superb and that is the largest pool we could fit there! We hope to see you again soon!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I (especially her) needed a getaway just to relax and for the most part "do nothing"!
After missing last Summer due to the weather, we finally made it and it was everything we expected an much more! The room was beautiful, very comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and the restaurant and the food were 5-Star! Include the shops at the hotel plus the close by town of Smithfield and we wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back and hope that we can get a reservation since they will be hard to get when more people find out about this "hidden treasure" in Virginia!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob and Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We always love to hear that people enjoyed our property and this great town. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

beautiful room, nice breakfast. Pool sparkling, but a little disappointing in size and location.

Room Tip: request a room with a balcony overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenmarylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your room and our pool! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My stay in Smithfield was enhanced by the very pleasant experience at Smithfield Station. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were fresh and clean. The bed is one of the best I had ever had in hotel. The restaurant was good and the bar is very inviting, both had great views from large windows overlooking the water. The town is repairing the sidewalks heading into town so in a few weeks it will be a nice walk past historic homes to the downtown. Jack C.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Always a pleasure Jack! Thank you for your review and spending so much time with us last week. We anxiously await to hear the results of AIB!

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Like buckeyegirl68, my husband and I had a Groupon for a 2 night stay. It was about a 4 hour drive for us and my husband was a little doubtful about it being worth that long in the car. After a a very friendly greeting and a 2 second check-in, he was a beginning to warm to the idea. When we opened the door of our room, we were both wowed! The room, bigger than my first apartment!, had a fireplace, good size frig, balcony overlooking the marina and marsh, closet safe, oversized shower, jacuzzi tub and satellite TV. The amenity that usually falls short in hotels, and one of my pet peeves, is no available outlets because every one is already in use. This room had open outlets placed often and in very convenient locations. This forethought was just a huge plus to me! The chocolate covered strawberries and champagne, part of the Groupon deal that I had forgotten about, were waiting for us. The king sized bed, with luxurious linens, made it REALLY tough to want to get up the next morning and tour. The room was absolutely spotless.
Breakfast at the restaurant was sumptious and plentiful. The made to order scrambled eggs were perfect and since there had been a few people in front us, they were brought to our table with a smile. The $40 coupon to the restaurant helped my husband to the best seafood he "can ever remember" and pretty close to the best hamburger I've ever had as well. The portions are uber generous. The bread served with your meal is absolutely wonderful and while you can'[t buy it from the restaurant, you can buy it at the bakery down town. We brought some home! Our waitresses both nights were absolutely charming and attentive. The waitress from the first night came from the other part of the restaurant on the second to see how our tour day was. Just so nice.
In fact everyone in Smithfield is very gracious and helpful. I've never seen anything like it, and I'm from the South! A local stopped and offered to take a picture of the 2 of us; store clerks were very helpful with local sites as well as showing you unadvertised specials or combos in their store.
After some quiet moments on the balcony in the early morning, reading the newspaper we picked up free in the restaurant and letting the breeze blow the final cobwebs out of our minds, we sighed and said, "perfect trip". Thank you Smithfield Station, it was wonderful.

Room Tip: We were lodged in the "main building" above the lobby but there are other types of rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
This is one of the nicest reviews we have ever received! I cannot thank you enough for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back with open arms very soon. I have shared this with my merchants downtown as well as this type of positive reinforcement is very cheap and builds our town's morale more than you can imagine. Again, thank you.

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
21.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
23.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
18.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
17.0 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing