We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel overlooking a small marina”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in March after having bought a Groupon package. We stayed in the newer lodge section and had a beautiful and large room with a balcony overlooking the river and tiny marina. It was so peaceful waking up to the birds and seeing the water. Everything in the room seemed brand new, it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was also large, it was tiled, had a huge granite counter, a big tiled shower, and the towels were bright white and fluffy. To make all this better, our Groupon included a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, breakfast and a dinner at the restaurant which I will review separately. (We walked around the older end above the restaurant and peeked into a room which was being cleaned - it was also beautiful, but the bathroom was much smaller as noted in a previous review. The downside to the older part was that the halls smelled a bit musty so I was glad to be in the newer lodge.) The lodge had some extra public rooms, like what appeared to be a card or reading room overlooking the water, and had many books which probably could be borrowed. The furniture didn't look like your typical hotel furniture. Everything was so pretty. The receptionist (I think her name was Donna) was as nice as could be and so helpful with ideas of what to do in the area.

Smithfield was a cute little town, although the sidewalks to get there(5 minute walk) are all chopped up. We can see that they will be done in the near future. We were given the recommendation to get there via the park and that worked well.

The shops on the "boardwalk" are cute and fun to visit.

We had a great stay here and will return!

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with everyone. I am delighted you had such a nice trip and welcome you back for many more. If you ever need anything, please reach out to us and we will do our best to take care of your every demand.

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 458 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night while visiting friends in Smithfield, a small historic Virginia town famous for hams and pork products.. The Inn is a hotel-marina complex on the Pagan River with a restaurant, bar and a few shops. We arrived and were greeted pleasantly and checkin was quick and efficient. We stayed in the original inn above the restaurant that requires walking up steps to get to your room. The new section has a elevator but is not connected. The room was a little dated and the bath area was small but the room had a queen, very comfortable bed, and was clean and well appointed, except there was no desk or work area. Rooms in this area are being renovated at present. The view of marsh and the park across the street was nice. There was a sitting area outside our door that viewed the Lighthouse Suite, the marina, and the Pagan River, where you can sit and enjoy a cup of coffee or a good book in front of a large window with a beautiful view. We walked the docks checking out the yachts and had happy hour at the bar. The view of the river and the marshes is wonderful. The house wine was reasonable, with a nice pour, and the appetizer we ordered was very good.

We noted a sign at the front door of restaurant that stated that the old hotel area. where we were staying, was closed at 11 pm to protect the guest and there was a phone number to get someone to let you in after 11. We got back at 10:30 because of this, and still found the door locked, and then had to wait some 15 minutes for someone to open the door. This was the only problem with our stay here.

Next morning we went down for the "continental" breakfast included in the rate, and found a very nice spread. There were fresh pastries, country ham biscuits, waffles, and the lady in charge would also fix scrambled eggs, and pretty much anything else you would want. The coffee was excellent. The food was delicious.

We would gladly stay here again, but would probably stay in the newer area, though the rooms there are more expensive. The Inn experience, overall, was very pleasant. Every employee we encountered was extremely pleasuant and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfewell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thanks for the review! The area you stayed in is under renovation and all of the rooms on the second floor should be as nice as our new rooms by this Friday (March 23, 2012). The bathrooms in these rooms are a bit small by today's standards and certainly smaller than the others, but when we were built 25 years ago, they were large! All rooms will have new furniture, carpet, mattresses etc and should be delightful. All will also have a desk to work from! The third floor is slated to be renovated next winter. I apologize for the length of time that it took to get someone to open the door for you; this is definitely something that we will address. Our guest’s safety is one of our top concerns, not that being in Smithfield we couldn't just leave it unlocked anyhow! I do appreciate the time you spent reviewing our property and will address the areas you have concerns with. I do hope to see you again!

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at Smithfield Station for 2 nights using Groupon, what a great find. If you are looking for a great getaway spot - This is it. The staff was great, the restaurant and food was great, and the rooms were to die for. We went at the end of February 2012 and it just happened to be great weather but had it not been the rooms are so cozy we would have just lounged around inside our room all day which was the plan, anyway. We will definitely be going back soon, this is our new get away spot. Can' wait to go when the weather is warmer so that we can enjoy the balcony overlooking Pagan River.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PintSize105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

You are correct .... Smithfield is great in the summer! We look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for the kind words!

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Our 3rd visit to Smithfield Station, it was excellent and we will return.
Extremely clean facility, well appointed, friendly staff, gracious owner, comfort food and
a Cheers environment in the pub. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Request a jacuzzi room if available, but all rooms are excellent. Love the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Welcome back! Thanks again for the great comments and we can't wait to see you for your 4th trip to Smithfield! Next time you stay, make sure you get signed up for our rewards program, ten nights earns you one free night! See you guys soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed at Smithfield for 2 nights at the beginning of January using their Groupon deal. And we're very glad that we did. We had been looking to book a mountain cabin, but when we saw this special offer, it was def. the best choice.

Even though it was low season and just a couple of other people stayed at the Station we were still greeted/treated with the same service as if it was full on tourist season. They offered advice on things to do and where to go in the little town too.

We had a massive room with the biggest bed I've ever seen, and a super big bathroom with large shower and jacuzzi bath. We had a free bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. Everything was spotless and impressive. The room also had an ipod speaker dock - great for charging your iphone/ipod as well as listening to your own music.

The view from the room was lovely, and had it been that bit warmer, a lovely space to enjoy a spot of coffee on the deck. All these things combined really made you feel like you were in real luxury.

There was also a small closet area with a security safe, should you need it for a longer stay.

The bar offers a large selection of drinks and a special offer on something on the menu every night. It was $5 burger and fries night for us - very tasty and great value. There was a lovely atmosphere of what I assume to be locals (given it was off season) so things never seemed lonely or empty.

Breakfast was a nice selection and still a large spread even though there were nt many guests in the low season - they will cook eggs, bacon, waffles etc for you, and there are juices, pastries, cereals, toast etc to choose from too, with coffee and other hot drinks.

Because I am lazy and like to sleep in, I'd have liked breakfast to last a bit longer - but that is always the case with hotels and us because we like our lie ins - but the breakfast was worth getting up for - and also made you get up and ready to take in the sights of Smithfield (so its secretly a good thing, ha)

Our package also included a $40 gift card for the restaurant - with friendly staff, and the gift card a welcome invitiation to try the 'posher than the bar' :-) type food - with some local ingredients on offer too.

There are some boutique shops that are part of the complex which are cute to look in - but just for info - tourist gifts like hams etc can be had in the historic part of town if you need them.

Although it was of the few cold days in January (typical hah) - we still had lovely bright weather we made the views from our room and the walk around Windsor Castle park a pleasant and memorable time!

Our budgets would not have stretched to stay here in full season, so I'm very glad we got to sample a piece of Smithfield at a price we could afford. Thank you Smithfield station!

Room Tip: jacuzzi is good choice, and also a view over the marina is nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Really glad you guys had a chance to enjoy yourselves! Thanks for the kind words and we would love to have you back again. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Of course we went in the "dead" of winter and this is a Marina so that could account for the empty rooms-the lodge where we stayed is beautiful and the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly-the furnishings throughout the lodge are amazing and our room was not only lovely but very comfortable
Dinner at the restaurant was very good and the wait staff very nice to deal with-breakfast the next morning was billed as a continental but went much farther-eggs,waffles,fruit,pastries,bagels etc a very nice experience
I would recomend this spot highly

Room Tip: They offer rooms in other building however I think the lodge is the newest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roderiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thanks guys! We are a bit slower in the winter, but would love for you to bring ALL of your friends! We will make sure to take care of you just as well. Hope to see you again soon!

Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This was our first stay at Smithfield Station but it absolutely will not be our last. The hotel, our room and the restaurant were spotless. The food was exceptional. Any question we had was met with a smile and a cheerful response. We felt like part of the family. What a delightful hotel. We have travelled a good portion of the USA, the Islands and Europe and in our expierence Smithfield Station ranks among the very best. . Smithfield Station is now at the top of our list.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

What a great review! Thank you so much! We try hard to keep our customers pleased so it is comments like yours that make this all worthwhile! I look forward to meeting you when you come back so please ask the desk for me!

Thanks again,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
3.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield
0.5 mi away
The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: $130 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing