We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and beautiful stay overlooking the water”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My family rented 3 rooms in the Lodge section of Smithfield Station over the past weekend (June 24-26). We got a great deal from Randy, the head hancho at the hotel - who patiently answered the many questions I had before booking - we are talking a minimum of 5 calls I made to the guy - and he graciously answered and helped me with everything :) .(Thank you Randy!) We had never been to Smithfield before so we did not know exactly what to expect. To me Smithfield meant ham...and that was about it it. We drove in on Friday from Richmond, VA - very easy 1.5 hour drive with minimal traffic on backroads :). Once we got into the town of Smithfield we were so pleasantly surprised. Definitely a small town with lots of charm! Our room in the Lodge was on the 3rd floor and ENORMOUS! I have never stayed in such a big room that wasn't a "suite". The room was very clean and we were excited about the equally as huge bathroom - complete with a very nice jacuzzi and large tiled shower. :) We had a balcony with a beautiful view overlooking the docked boats and beautiful river. Over the weekend we went bike-riding in Windsor Park which is conveniently adjacent to the hotel. We also rented kayaks and took a beautiful self-guided tour of the river. Saw lots of river-esque birds (herons, egrets, etc...) It was so peaceful and a GREAT workout. This weekend was the Olden Days Festival - one of Smithfield's bigger festivals - complete with food tents, live music, classic car shows, parades, raft races, venders, beer garden, etc... We had lots of fun on Main Street (which was blocked off for cars all weekend). All of the food we had in Smithfield was phenomenal. The Bakery & Beanery on Main Street had great sandwiches and even better desserts. We had dinner at Anna's Italian Restaurante one night - delicious pastas and pizza. But most of all, the Restaurant at the Smithfield Station...WOW. We had dinner there one night and brunch there the next day. Dinner was YUMMY. Get the bacon wrapped scallops app AND the spinach artichoke dip app. Ridiculous! Brunch was also DELISH. The omelette station had a bit of a line but it was worth the wait! I got shrimp, tomato, and green onions in my omelette - SO GOOD! Overall our stay in Smithfield was relaxing, serene, food-heavy :), and lots of fun. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morganashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Thanks for such a great review! It was nice to put a face with a voice I had spooken to ... hope to see you all again soon!

Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 448 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

For the third year in a row, the Tidewater Grady-White Club held a rendezvous at Smithfield Station Marina. We had 11 boats and 27 people. Every part of our visit was well-managed and professionally done, from the docking of all our boats, to the ten rooms and cottages we booked, to the catered lunch under the tent, to the great food in the dining room and bar.
Each year the word gets out in our club and we have more attendees. And each year, the staff at Smithfield Station find a way to not only accommodate us, but to do it better than the year before. We have already scheduled our "4th Annual" visit to Smithfield Station for next year!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

Thanks for the kind words guys! We always enjoy having your group here. You all are a blast. See you next year for sure, if not before!

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Smithfield Station is a great getaway if you need quiet, relaxation and GREAT food. We called to get a reservation the week before we decided to go and got one of the last rooms available that weeked in the original building. The room was recently renovated and comfortable; however, it was on the corner of the upstairs so although we had a water view, it was also streetside which is noisy until late evening because the street is so close. It tunred out to be a cloudy, cold weekend so being in a room overtop the restaurant was great! The food was excellent and service very good and friendly. Would highly recommend Smithfiled Station only be sure to ask for a creekside room and in the lodge (unless bad weather) if possible. The lodge just feels newer and more areas to sit and move about.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms creekside - avoid streeside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PasadenaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Glad to hear you all had such a nice time! The lodge rooms are more spacious for sure, but had the weather been better, I think you would have really enjoyed the huge private balcony in the room you were in. Unfortunately, weather is one thing we can't control! We really appreciate such a nice review. Give us a call with a little more notice and we will see if we can't take extra special care of you and let you check out some of our new rooms!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Recieved and used Groupon.It was a TERRIFIC value. Warm friendly family owned hotel with marina on Pagan River. Clean BIG beautiful room w/balcony overlooking marina, fireplace, and stunning bath with jucuzzi tub! Dinner was divine with the Norfolk Platter, buttery garlicy scallops, crab, and shrimp..oi! Breakfast was a full buffett of Southern Goodness.The light house are actually guest rooms..a really special Gem of a Hidden Secret...will certainly return and recommend highly! All set in a quaint little Victorian water town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opyl1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Wow! Thanks for the great comments! Can't wait to see you guys again soon!

Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My husband and I spent one night in the top floor of the lighthouse in March. What a lovely, unique room! We were extremely comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. We also took advantage of the winter special at the hotel restaurant (a very good deal) and enjoyed ourselves greatly. A peaceful night away from it all! We will be back again.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank MamaSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

We truly appreciate your kind words! My family and our staff are very proud of what we do here and it is only when our guests enjoy themselves that we get the reward we work for. Thanks again!

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We had stayed at Smithfield Station in the early 1990's when our daughter lived in the area. The addition is wonderful. On a cold January week-end we really enjoyed our room with view of a much cleaner Pagan River and a realistic electric fireplace in our room. The mattress was extremely comfortable for a husband with an ailing back. The restaurant food was as superb as it had been years ago with seafood and Smithfield ham as our favorites along with Sunday brunch. We plan to be back much sooner this next time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlett000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Thanks for the kind words! We are always reinvesting in this property to make it enjoyable for our guests. We look forward to a return visit and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed in the upper room of the Lighthouse at Smithfield and were overwhelmed at the romantic atmosphere that had been created. The view from the platform up in the light of the lighthouse was calming and breathtaking all at the same time. The king size bed did not dwarf the room and slept very comfortably. The fireplace provided a cozy atmosphere and made the room toasty warm. The bathroom was stocked with Bath and Body Works lotions and soaps and had a large mirror and cosmetic area. Our favorite part was the jacuzzi tub with plenty of room for two and the spacious shower with two shower heads. The staff were friendly and worked very hard to accomodate us. We felt spoiled rotten when we left.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank birthdaygirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Thanks for the kind words! Spoiling you rotten is what the lighthouse suite is meant to do! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
17 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
11 mi away
Marriott Hotel Newport News at City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
20.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
628 reviews
13.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: $128 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing