We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,relaxed atmosphere,excellent service all with a view!”

The Restaurant at Smithfield Station
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Smithfield Station is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The award-winning Restaurant at Smithfield Station is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and offers a variety of fine cuisine. Renowned for an extensive menu that places an emphasis on Fresh Local Seafood that combines the flair of legendary Smithfield Ham into many of their dishes. Beautiful Water Views, Reservations Recommended.The Smithfield Station IBX Bar & Grill is also located next door and offers the same great view, but with a more casual setting and great bar specials.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We're back staying at Smithfield Station again, and had lunch here upon our arrival. Lynette was our waitress,and she was excellent. Don and I had the house lager with our meal. I had the luncheon meatloaf entree with 2 large pieces of meatloaf with gravy, mashed potatoes,and green beans---all were very good. My wife had the pulled pork, and our friends had the sandwich and soup and the seafood quiche. Large helpings of good food,attentive service, and a nice view out the window of the river and the boats,made lunch fun for our start of a 2 day vacation here. We both so enjoy staying at the "Station", and the beauty of the location. The restaurant is the other part of the package that makes it all work so well for a relaxing ,enjoyable time away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Rose Mary,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a great review of our business. Our chowder recipe is 26 years old -since day 1 of our opening and you will be happy to know it will remain a staple item on our menu for years to come. Its always nicve to hear from a well educated Hokie!

Thanks again,

Brian Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 302 of 377 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Every visit to the Smithfield Station has been a delight. The bar staff does a great job, the wait staff are very friendly and well informed. And the food is wonderful!
After a long day at work the Station is comfortable, economical nightly specials and close to home.
We enjoy bringing family & friends from out of state here to show them what our home town has to offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorisurfack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi Lori,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review of our business. Our IBX nightly specials have been a real hit and made it much more affordable to see more of our locals. Thanks again and look for a new menu April1 as well is as improvements to our nighlty specials! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Brian Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went there on Valentine's weekend. We only had apps, but they were not the best. Oysters on the 1/2 shell were very small and tasteless. The wings my husband had were ok. The main thing about the Smithfield Station restaurant is the service we received from the bartender Pam. She was busy but always had the time to come and chat with us and make sure our drinks were full. For that reason alone, we will go back.

Thank NeedtoseeTheKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi,

Thanks you for taking the time to leave your feedback on our business. Your are right about Pat and she has her own fan club to say the least! I will double check our oyster recipe. We have been using fresh local oysters and seeing constant improvements in product and enjoy buying local. Any excuse for me to eat more oysters will do so I will make sure to test them out daily!

Thanks again,

Brian Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have never been disappointed for either lunch or dinner, they have enjoyable weekly specials in both the bar and restaurant, one of my favorites is the fish tacos. The fresh shrimp and oysters are also a favorite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark and Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Mark and Teresa,

Thanks for such a great response to our restaurant. As a family business we work hard to make sure our customers love coming back time and time again. Our bar specials you mentioned have been a real hit and allow us to see more of our locals! I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Brian Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Slip on down to Smithfield, Va and there you will find a wonderful little town with lots of unique shops to explore. Be sure to have lunch or dinner down by the river. You will find The Smithfield Station. Lunch is wonderful, reasonably price and some of the BEST Hatteras style clam chowder you can find anywhere!! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosemaryhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

rosemaryhokie,

Thanks for the great review of our business and town. You will be happy to know you are in hokie country!!!!

Thanks again,

Brian Pack and Pack Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Smithfield Station also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing