We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Farmers Market”

Smithfield Farmers Market
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Smithfield
Attraction details
Portsmouth, va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Farmers Market”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Awesome Market! Lots of fresh produce, flowers, crafts and more... Also Country Boy's BBQ of Windsor, Va sells their awesome BBQ there!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
581 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Must see in the heart of town”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Living just 3 miles from the little town of Smithfield I go there often. Saturday is a great day to take in so much. I really enjoy going to the Smithfield Farmers Market from 9 to 12 on Saturdays from May to Nov. This market has everything from baked goods (Bread to pastries),crops fresh out of the fields to arts and crafts. There is hand made jewelry, beautiful wooden goods, decorative garden items, hand made quilts and children's items, plants, honey and kettle corn stirred right in front of you. The local SPCA is there so you can adopt a pet and some booths even have chickens for sale. There is refreshments and music done by locals (usually guitar groups etc.) This is right in the heart of town in a parking lot behind a bank. Plenty of parking and you can walk the downtown and take in shops, restaurants, antique stores, Isle of Wight museum, Christmas shop or just enjoy the many Victorian and period homes through this seaport town. The market is great and I always come away with something! Pets welcomed on leash.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Saturday Morning Tradition!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Enjoy fresh seasonal produce, ready-made foods & beverages, and homemade gifts from Greater Smithfield. Dogs are welcome on leash and this very-well attended Market is a gem in the region.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fall Farmers Market”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Marget was ver small and not a large variety...we were a little disappointed. Everyone was friendly,,just not much there! About a 15 minute visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ralphfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vawriter, Manager at Smithfield Farmers Market, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Smithfield Farmers Market! We're sorry the market wasn't as big as you would like it. We typically have about 35 vendors each Saturday -- and sometimes up to 50 for our big markets. I'm not sure what day you visited, but on bad weather days (or days when rain is predicted), some of our vendors have to stay at home because the weather will ruin their products. We usually have produce, baked goods, meats, cheeses, eggs, soaps, beauty products, pet products, hand-crafted items, and more -- along with live music. We hope you come back to visit if you are ever back in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfield Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to Smithfield Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing