We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Visit”

Isle of Wight County Museum
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Smithfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum chronicles the history of the Isle of Wight County with a special emphasis on water, ham and agricultural industries. The exhibits include prehistoric fossils, Native American and Colonial artifacts, a turn-of-the-century country store, displays interpreting the Smithfield ham industry and perhaps the museum’s most notable artifact: the world’s oldest, edible cured ham.
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This Museum gives the history of Smithfield from 1752 to present. They also have the oldest Ham from nearly a century old. The have story hours for children.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grottoes, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Quite nice, a must see”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a great museum which is full of memorabilia and history of Smithfield. There is a short movie (continuous loop) which is quite interesting although the seats in the theater are quite narrow and therefore a bit uncomfortable, you are not there for long. The movie is very good.

The museum has a great number of artifacts which are clearly identified and displayed. There is a downstairs, however with some mobility issues we did not go down to see what was there. The people are very friendly and are happy to tell you about the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoamingAimlessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very Informative and Well Organized”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great attraction especially for free. It takes about 30 minutes for the self guided tour and to us it was a well worth the time. Lots of interesting items to see and read about. Nice little gift shop and a well-informed person was working at the front entrance, she was very helpful with the questions we had. Recommend stopping by if you are in the area and especially if you have young children, some interesting items they would enjoy seeing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review regarding your recent visit. We try to make our exhibits appealing to every age group while educating visitors about local history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Appealing to the Whole Family”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Between colonial era exhibits, civil war exhibits, and exhibits about today's local industries, this museum had plenty to be of interest. There were a good portion of exhibits that were hands on and geared towards kids. There was also a scavenger hunt activity (with a small gift) that kept the 7yo interested in what she might find next. This is a very well run museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeBHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our museum. We know it is important for children as well as adults to have a pleasant visit so we incorporate 'hands-on' items into our exhibits and have special things like our gallery hunt to keep them engaged. Please check back with us as we have new exhibits on the way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“County Museum”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This small museum is free and is very interesting. Has the world's oldest and the world's largest Smithfield ham and interesting facts about Smithfield.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 747Luv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWHistResources, Administrator at Isle of Wight County Museum, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Isle of Wight County Museum. We hope you enjoyed it and learned a little bit of history in the process!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle of Wight County Museum also viewed

 

Been to Isle of Wight County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing