We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doughnuts to die for!”
Review of Ringo's Donuts

Ringo's Donuts
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Smithfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Doughnuts to die for!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

These are the best doughnuts you can ever imagine. They are so delicious. You will want to go early for the best selection.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank harrhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    7
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Liverpool, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great donuts and wonderful service!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stop here quite often when we are in town and are always pleased. Many types of donuts to choose from...key lime, honey buns, cheese cake, and the list goes on. The donut lady is so friendly and always smiling, never rushing but patient and kind. Love Ringo's!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ninasue00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, VA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Hole In One!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I love doughnuts, but they unfortunately love me even more. But the other weekend, I stopped by to get a doughnut or two for an elderly aunt. My eyes were drawn to the honey buns instead. They looked great, are fairly large, and it turns out, they are priced the same as single doughnuts.

She loved it! Absolutely loved it.

So today while the wine queen and I were out and about, we stopped in again. There was a line waiting their turn, and several other people were seated, enjoying their treats and coffee. Got the aunt another honey bun, and got a couple for ourselves. We also got a couple of the squealers, a doughnut with maple icing ... and ... real bacon bits on top. Talk about an unusual treat!

When we arrived to drop off the honey bun, my aunt proclaimed ... I'll love you forever!

I never knew it was that easy!

Anyway, there is an amazing array of simple, tasty pastries at Ringo's. I wish I could eat them more often. But I already eat too well. Oh well!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big-Deeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No frills..............just delightfully sweet circles of heaven!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Passed this business often, sadly, they were always closed because they were sold out of donuts by the time I passed by.............this time they were open! Shelves filled with yeast glazed and cake donuts.

I got a dozen- not knowing the next time I could get in to try their treats. I selected raspberry glazed, maple-bacon, choc-glazed, orange cake, choc-choc cake & cinnamon cake.The Maple-Bacon glazed were my favs! I did love the Orange cake glazed too!

Can't wait to venture into this shop again.

If you're in the Smithfield area--stop by and try their delights!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh, light and SCRUMPTIOUS doughnuts”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Ringo's a few times since living here in Smithfield and what a great doughnut shop :-) I really enjoy supporting my local business especially when treats are this good! You can't go wrong with the maple bacon doughnut... Yum! I have also enjoyed the pumpkin spiced doughnut with cream cheese frosting. If you're ever in the area, ya can't go wrong with stopping in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank massagechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ringo's Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Ringo's Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing