We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Waxhaw
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a very nice Hampton Inn. Quite a surprise for a smaller out of the way town. This is an older Hampton Inn that has been refurbed. It is a little smaller on room size etc., but the older inns are more concrete & steel & nice & quiet. The layout of the room was quite nice & you could see how Hampton did special furnishings to make the room size very useable. Our room had a walk in shower which we appreciated over the usual small tubs with curtains. Would recommend this hotel to anyone in the area & it is only a short drive away from the middle of Newport News, our final destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor! We are very glad that you enjoyed the room layout and the walk in shower. Our hotel was built new and opened in March of 2009. We really appreciate that you would recommend us to your friends and family. That is the highest compliment you can give us. We hope to see you again in the near future.. Lori Leib - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    77
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
138
81
15
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is definitely 2star. Hidden behind a big empty lot that is in desperate need of mowing. Not a good place for more than a one night stay. First off after taking the kids to the pool (which looks much larger in photo) my mother complained to the front desk that it was cloudy and a bit smelly. Shortly after I noticed a maintenance sign posted. I inquired to the desk if it was being cleaned and she said no, she had only hung the sign due to a guest complaint and we were free to use it. Guess she didn't realize we were together. Pool still smelled, was so cloudy my son couldn't find the goggles that fell off his head and my daughter played a game of find the candy wrappers in it. Secondly, the elevators are terrifying. They creak and shutter and you wonder if its going to snap. The inspection on the elevator is expired!!! After asking several employees about this they said its ran like that as long as they've worked there and not to worry. Myself and my family used the stairs after that. The only good thing about the place is its breakfast. I give gratitude to the person in charge of that. In the end we only actually slept in the hotel two of the four nights we had booked it and kind of used the room as storage for our things, rooms are very small. The rooms themselves are clean and house keeping is nice. Don't be in a hurry if you need anything at the front desk. You can hear them talking in the back but it takes a while for them to notice you up front.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are very sorry that your stay was not a positive one. We have addressed the issues that you spoke about to both staff and management. You can be sure we will use them as learning tools so that we can only improve moving forward. If you should ever make it back to Smithfield, please contact me directly and I will make certain that your experience is a better one. Lori Leib - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Hampton in the large spacious suite and loved the decor. The kids had their own space which I enjoyed a lot. The continental breakfast was awesome as well. Just wish they had more than one waffle iron. The staff was friendly and well at tentative to our needs and request. Especially Tina at the front desk she made our check in experience so quick and easy. A+ for her service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us as part of your Vacation to Virginia! So glad that you and the children in your party enjoyed the spacious suite. We appreciate that you took the time to commend one of our employees for her excellent service. We hope to see you again when vacation time rolls around again ... Lori Leib - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our king suite was very spacious and comfortable. The bed was comfortable, the lighting very good, the bathroom water pressure was good, and the water hot. Breakfast was adequate, a diferent selection daily of breakfast meats, eggs, and breads. An excellent value. Only complaint would be that the AC was noisy...when it kicked on it was full blast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank PattyBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We appreciate your review! It's great to know that you found your room with it's amenities and the breakfast variety to be an excellent value! Please come again in the near future ..Lori Leib Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statesville, N.C., United States
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. Only a minimum of noise from folks in the hall and next door. The breakfast of which I did not partake must have been fantastic as there was barely standing room only as I peeped in on my way to eat somewhere else. I couldn't handle that mob. But that is good for business! I would appreciate a discount as so many of the family stay at Hampton year in and year out. I have stayed at other Hamptons and they were always nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate your comments and your loyalty to the Hampton brand. We regret that you didn't get breakfast this time. Please come back and see us soon. Lori Leib - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

there was absolutely no security. desk clerks could not stop party down the hall. people roaming halls all night. Very hard to find. Left the name of the main road where you turn in off to get to Vincents Crossings off map. Gumtree road was not listed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We truly appreciate your feedback and are extremely sorry for the situation that you encountered while here. This is not typical for our property. We hope that if your travels should bring you back to Smithfield, you will give us another chance. Please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you. Lori Leib - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moyock, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute for an anniversary getaway. The reservation was easy and the hotel staff friendly and helpful. The property was clean and the room was very nice and clean. The refrigerator wobbled a little which is the only reason I rated very good instead of excellent. Beds and pillows were super comfy. Great work area for the computer and choice of wired or wireless connection. Connection could be a little slow at times but I didn't expect any less since the hotel was booked solid! Pool was nice. Check out was easy. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. Look forward to going back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommacat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your anniversary getaway! We appreciate your business and your feedback. We are very glad that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable! Please come back and see us again real soon! Lori Leib-Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Smithfield Station
Smithfield Station
#1 of 2 in Smithfield
417 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
257 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
10.6 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
11.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
Address: 200 Vincents Xing, Smithfield, VA 23430-6092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Smithfield
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing