We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great staff and hot cookies yum!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a very nice new hotel. The staff was very nice and they had hot cookies all night. Great breakfast and easy parking. Only negative was the internet service absolutely sucks. Wi-fi was almost non-exsistant and the cable version was so slow I could have gone to the library and looked up stuff faster than using my search engine. The room was nice and very clean. Overal I would stay hear again when in the area it is by far the nicest hotel in the region. Just spend a few dollars on a new internet service.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

We appreciate your feedback! We're glad that you enjoyed the breakfast, the staff and the cookies. We are VERY sorry that you had a negative experience with the internet. This is not typical at our property so we will certainly look into the issue to avoid future problems. Thanks again for your candid comments. We hope to see you again in the near future. Lori Leib-Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 354 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean. Very pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Highly recommend staying if you are in Smithfield. All furnishings were in excellent condition and very well maintained. No complaints and will definitely stay again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilkMan928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thanks for your comments! We appreciate your business and are glad that your experience was a good one. We hope to see you again! Lori Leib - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This will definately be a hotel that I return to someday! My room was huge, it almost seemed silly that it was all for me! The staff was awesome, they even assisted me in the morning with a dead battery issue. They recommended a nice little local restaurant the evening of my stay and the breakfast in the morning was perfect. I honestly couldn't ask for anything more. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this property or staying there again (and again)!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We are very happy that your room was a "good fit" and that the staff was able to help you with your vehicle problem. Also, a trip to Smithfield would not be complete without getting a taste of the awesome local fare. So glad that you were able to experience a bit of it! Please come back soon .. we look forward to seeing you! Lori Leib - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We returned for another Smithfield visit. The hotel is still clean, well furnished and the service is attentive and friendly. The breakfast area was very busy, but the staff kept up with the demand.
It was good when it was brand new, but it is every bit as good now.
they were overbooked so we were upgraded to a King Suite on the first floor. We were a little concerned about noise, but the rooms on the first floor are isolated from the public aeas and very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petertr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thanks for coming back! And, thanks for letting us know about your stay. We appreciate you and are so glad that you were able to experience one of our luxurious King Studio Suites.
Hope to see you again real soon! Lori Leib Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my second stay at this property within the last year. Very well run, staff friendly & helpful, a very generous breakfast served, property well maintained. Very clean indoor pool. Centrally located for Smithfield.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lleib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thanks for your continued patronage of the Hampton Inn & Suites here in Smithfield. We appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your experience. We look forward to seeing you next time!! Lori Leib Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice, clean, friendly staff, great complimentary breakfast. Jacuzzi was under construction,
pool was too cold. Nice quiet location, but stores and restaurants available nearby. Did have trouble getting a phone signal (AT&T), worked better in the room than in other parts of hotel.
Stayed a week and will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank songbirdmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thanks so much for spending a week with us! Glad you had a chance to enjoy our property and to appreciate our friendly staff. We are very sorry that you had trouble with your telephone signal. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Lori Leib Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was there for 2 nights for a conference. The hotel staff was SUPER friendly. Brandy was AMAZING--I can't say enough about her. Ok, here we go:
1. It's about 45 mins from the airport (PHF) but driving over the bridge during the day is one of the most BEAUTIFUL experiences. It's truly amazing.
2. Using the GPS on my iPad took me to an aparment complex that is situated BEHIND the hotel. If you find yourself in an apt complex, just turn around and turn RIGHT BEHIND the CVS.
3. The hotel is SUPER clean and smells wonderful. The staff here should be the poster child for "stellar-service".
4. I stayed in a King room. Bed was super comfy and the linens were pearly white!
5. Free wi-fi which totally rocks. There is a refrigerator & microwave in every room, however, the fridge in my room was ridiculously loud! I literally had to unplug it at night so I could sleep.
6. Breakfast in the mornings was really nice--hot eggs, sausage or bacon, a waffle maker, fresh fruit...excellent variety to choose from!
7. There is not much shopping in Smithfield, unless you consider Maxway & Peebles upscale.

Hope these tips help! This hotel is an excellent choice. When I go back, I will stay at this hotel bc it was truly fabulous & super convenient to everything!! For $119/nt, you just can't ask for more! I was there: 11/1-11/3/2012.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Riley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorileib, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

THANK YOU for your awesome comments! We are more than pleased that you had an "amazing" experience. We certainly believe that we have the BEST staff and the BEST property and appreciate that you noticed as well.
We are sorry that you found the apartment complex before you found us :-( We look forward to your return in the near future... Lori Leib- Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
1.9 mi away
Smithfield Station
Smithfield Station
#1 of 2 in Smithfield
456 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
#3 of 40 in Newport News
542 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Newport News-Yorktown
10.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
15.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield

Address: 200 Vincents Xing, Smithfield, VA 23430-6092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: $94 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield Hotel Smithfield
Hampton Inn And Suites Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing