We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and dine!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern

The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Smithfield B&B and Inns
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and dine!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This inn dates to 1752. It is an excellent place to stay and dine. You have the option of eating in the Tavern, which is casual, or the dining room for fine dining. The staff are great folks with your needs in mind. Much to see in this historic town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
27
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here one night this week in a suite in the Garden House as it was the only one -available with a king-sized bed. Apparently, there is an a/c system for the house in general and also a "through the wall" unit which can be controlled inside the room. Unfortunately, if you used the room-controlled unit the air was directed toward you while in bed. Your only option other than being in bed was sitting on it or in a small wicker "dressing table" chair. There was no place to sit and relax, read, do needlework, etc. There was a large closet and an adequate bathroom and the unit was set up as a "jack and "jill" connecting to another bedroom with two twin beds (I think (only glanced in the room, looking for a place to sit)). The space (such as there was of it) was well done and very clean. The temperature when you opened the door to the house felt like it was set somewhere around 50 degrees and there is no elevator.

We ate dinner on the outside patio and the food was very good and we enjoyed watching the lightening bugs and having the place to ourselves as other diners obviously left fairly early. We spoke to the waitress about our accommodations and she told us the suite we had originally wanted would be available the next night as the reservation had been cancelled and the money was being refunded. She checked again to make sure and told us the manager had been notified and they would hold the suite for us until the next morning.

When we called the next morning we were told the suite was not available and had not been at any time that week. The room we were in was available but we declined in order not to tempt claustrophobia. Overall, it's a nice place. I would suggest asking specific questions about the room(s) you are interested in to make sure your needs are met.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the size of the room and where it is located. Some have elevator access, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irsmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We ate dinner at the Tavern. The food was average and overpriced. I had a spinach salad which said it came with strawberries, blueberries and nuts, for $8.95. I had exactly 4 thin strawberry slices, 6 blueberries and a small amount of of nuts with about 2 cups of raw spinach. My husband had the chicken salad sandwich and asked for two sides. We knew there would be a charge for the second side but $4.95 for a half cup of fruit was really overpriced! I suggest you eat across the street at The Taste of Springfield which offers much better food at more reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cew718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Smithfield is a short drive from just about anywhere in the Tidewater area and a nice break from all the traffic and newer buildings. The Smithfield Inn is located on Main Street and within walking distance of many other attractions such as the local museum, art galleries, antique shops, etc.

There is a nice porch out front with a handful of comfortable rocking chairs where you can rock, wave, and watch others pass by on Main Street. Inside the setting is relaxed and on the quiet side. Most tables are set up for seating four but it looks like they are easily able to configure for larger groups if necessary.

For lunch we enjoyed Ultimate Crabcakes and Peach Glazed Chicken. The Crabcakes were just wonderful being mostly crab meat with almost zero filler - the chicken was a hair on the sweet side even for myself but was otherwise quite nice. One quality that stands out was the amount of chicken included in my meal - a very healthy serving of meat! We drank one water and one soft drink along with our meal and with tip included our total was just under $50.

In my opinion the cost of the meal was a tad on the high side but the nice setting largely justified the additional expense.

*** My only word of caution - beware of scalding water in the bathrooms! ***

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSZY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We took the ferry over from Williamsburg. It runs every half hour. Very punctual, too. Our aim was to have lunch at the Smithfield Inn. We looked at the menu and everything looked good, so, of course, we over ordered. The she crab soup was so good. Very chunky with crab. We ordered six ham biscuits, three regular, and three sweet potato. Both good. And, I don't mean good, I mean GOOD. I had a sandwich with more Smithfielf ham, they had to box it to go. My husband had the chicken pot pie. The crust looked very good. He said mine was better, but then he is my husband.
Too full for desert, but next time, just the soup, biscuits, and desert.
Later we went down the block and across the street to a "Taste of Smithfield". Lots of peanuts to taste, and we bought some ham sausage. A great afternoon. One of our best ever.



Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank barbaract_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence Forge, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband surprised me with a romantic getaway to the Smithfield Inn for the weekend. The place is beautiful!
Our room was perfect-it had a working fireplace which we had on every time we were in the room.
Large King Bed and all of the amenities.
There is a tavern and restaurant which was excellent. Nikki the bartender was very nice and attentive and we had a great conversation with her.
I had the she crab soup which was to die for and the hubby had the shrimp and grits. Also very tasty.
For breakfast (which is included in your stay) was great. Since you are in the town of Smithfield, you will have the best bacon. We also tried the ham rolls on sweet potato roll and it was amazing!
We will be going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedtoseeTheKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stopped here for lunch. The menu was great. I had the crab cakes with fried green tomatoes. Delicious! Other people had the soft shell crab sandwich and the spinach salad with chicken. All were beautifully presented and tasty. A charming historic place, would love to go back and spend more time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amj33436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
0.5 mi away
Smithfield Station
Smithfield Station
#1 of 2 in Smithfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield
17.1 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
18.7 mi away
Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern

Property: The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Address: 112 Main St, Smithfield, VA 23430-1323
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithfield
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“He was a very valiant man who first ventured on eating oysters.” ~ James I Here’s one for the books. The Smithfield Inn, built in 1752, is older than The Alamo or even Independence Hall in Philadelphia. George Washington slept here (No really, he did.) Here’s the whole amazing story. At the time of groundbreaking, Smithfield’s bustling wharf harbor had become a popular destination for clipper ships bringing goods from the old world to the new. The reason? They could return loaded down with two new world delicacies—the hams and peanuts that have made Smithfield world famous. To serve these travelers and others coming over the main stagecoach route from Norfolk to Richmond and eventually steamboat and motorcar, the original residence was converted to an Inn and Tavern in 1759. Thus began over 250 years of southern hospitality and charm that still defines the “Old Inn on Main Street”. Notable changes along the way included raising the roof to a full second story in 1870, part of bringing the Inn back from disrepair after the Civil War, and a major renovation by the Sykes family in 1922, adding the long kitchen and dining room wing and enlarging the porch across the entire front. For 40 years the Sykes Inn was known for its signature home cooked meals and relaxed atmosphere. Today the owner of the Smithfield Inn, Smithfield Foods, welcome you to a new Smithfield Inn, beautifully renovated yet, as always, steeped in tradition and charm reminiscent of simpler times in the genteel old South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing