We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Nearby Hotels
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Smithfield Station(Smithfield)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Express Inn(Newport News)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Key West Inn(Newport News)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
30
18
5
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
18
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshe crab soupgarden housesmithfield hamham rollbrunswick stewmain stsouthern hospitalitynext morninggreat place to staycolonial williamsburgsuitewedding
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 56 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Quaint town with gorgeous old homes, lots of fun shops on main street, great walking trail easy to get to on foot from Smithfield inn. The inn is conveniently located downtown. Fantastic crab cakes for lunch and made to order breakfast that was absolutely wonderful. I liked the room with cozy fireplace, big bed and modern shower. Plenty of room. Restaurant staff was great, hotel staff was a bit elusive - not sure if I was there for change of shift or what but I had to go looking for a live person to get checked in. I did have a reservation and arrived late afternoon- minor point. Had a little mixup with double credit card billing but when I called it was taken care of promptly. All in all a fun woman's escape-will go back when I get the chance- maybe take my spouse next time too.

Room Tip: The Captain Mallory Todd room has a great fireplace/sitting area, very cozy, very romantic
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My family rented the entire inn several years ago for two nights over the Thanksgiving holidays. We literally filled the hotel with family and close friends and the fun began. This historic inn gives whole new meaning to "Southern Hospitality!" We had comfy robes, a working fireplace, a well stocked fridge, fresh baked cookies daily and they even gathered pecans from the old tree and sent us home with a stash for Christmas baking. Far and away the highlight was the fine dining from the fabulous breakfasts to Thanksgiving dinner. I have never tasted country bacon so lean and crisp nor the array of menu choices and perfect presentation as during our visit. My sister and I loved the experience so much, we are spending Thanksgiving there again this Nov.

This inn is situated on main street in the most adorable town in VA. I liken it to Mayberry with fabulous little shops and boutiques up and down Main St. There is an art gallery, a tea shop with wonderful homemade goodies and fine boutiques all around. If you are in the area, Smithfield is a must and it simply doesn't get better than the Smithfield Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProdigalIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Larger room with sitting area and views of Main Street. The food was great at the tavern and the service by John H. was outstanding. The breakfast was very good but the one server was too busy to provide paying guests the proper service. Initial cup of coffee was just warm. Did not bring jelly/jams for toast. Overall great experience, but if you are in the hospitality industry you have to be on your A-Game all the time. There was coffee service to our room at 7:00 a.m. which was hot coffee.

Room Tip: Very comfortable room located on the second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrooster89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the Smithfield Inn for a weekend getaway. If you are used to traditional B&B's, you may not find what you expect here. Although the restaurant is phenomenal if you choose to eat dinner, the B&B itself is more like a hotel. Breakfasts in the B&B's that we have stayed in have always been delightful experiences with all guests eating the same meal, carefully prepared and beautifully presented. Having breakfast at the Smithfield Inn was like going to a small diner, with several choices from the extremely limited menu not being available.

That being said, the Inn is in a beautiful part of town, convenient to many shops and the Isle of Wight Museum. The rooms are suites, many with sitting rooms and all with private baths. We happened to be there during the hottest and most humid part of summer - the window air conditioning unit was in the sitting room and didn't quite make it to the bedroom, so we were rather warm at night. But the room itself was lovely and coffee was delivered to our door each morning at 7:00.

When visiting Smithfield, I highly recommend the Inn as a choice for dinner. Everything on the menu looked wonderful, the wine list was impressive, and the sommelier was helpful and extremely knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanst57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The inn recently has been redecorated and updated with wi-fi, flat screen TVs, et al. The lighter indoor colors have made it seem brighter, more open. Each bedroom is a suite with separate room for computer desk, additional TV, easy chairs and closet. Charming brick patio garden for weddings and outdoor breakfast upon request. Location right on Main Street so easy walk to shops, museums, galleries and cafes. Delicious food for lunch and dinner too. Tray of hot coffee left outside our room each morning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sweet_2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews