We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious dinner”

The Smoke House Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Smokehouse Grille is Scottsville's only farm-to-table restaurant. Local, organic and everything made from scratch - sauces, dressings & dessert. Bread is from the Albemarle Baking Company in Charlottesville, veggies from just up the road. We have lots of dining choices...Romantic upstairs, outdoor balcony overlooking the quaint historic district, indoor, bar seating at our copper-top bar, and outside on the deck overlooking Mink Creek...And the BIG SMOKER! Join us for lunch or dinner, we always have specials - including vegan and vegetarian selections & the freshest seafood around. Visit us soon!
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“delicious dinner”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

we were in the area staying at the High Meadows Vineyard Inn and this place was recommended. excellent meal, nice clean restaurant, and able to accommodate for Gluten Free (fried catfish was very good!!)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Good Local Food”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Loved sitting outside and listening to the creek below. The food was very good and they have options for people with allergies. Relaxing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We were driving through Scottsville and came upon this terrific restaurant. The food comes from local farms listed on a large blackboard in the restaurant. We had very nice service and our food was delicious. We were a party of six and had lamb stew, bbq pork, and black bean burgers. In addition, we had a treat with fried pickles! We loved them! We will trek down from northern Virginia again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cymric94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great presentation of local foods”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just had Dinner tonite at the Smoke House Grill. They really focus on sourcing local ingredients - tailoring their specials menu to the things they can get that are fresh from their local suppliers.

The food was excellent, and the service was very good. The appearance of the restaurant is very good. They have a nice looking patio, but it was too cool tonite to try it.

With their focus on local, I am surprised their beer selection did not include James River Brewing, which is next door. Instead, they went all the way to Nelson County... almost 20 miles away. OK, so I guess thats still local....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doswell, va
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“newly opened - great food”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

very attractive restaurant on main drag in Scottsville, very good service ( thank you Emily ), huge portions ( the largest half-rack of baby back ribs I've ever eaten ), and very very tasty. And, the best Collard Greens i've ever had. Definitely would return, looking forward to it. Only 20 miles S. of Charlottesville for all those passing through that town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smoke House Grille also viewed

Been to The Smoke House Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing