We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming! A step back in time.”
Review of High Meadows Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Meadows Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Scottsville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I recently stayed here again on a trip south from DC. I have stayed in many B&B's over the years, and this experience was one of my favorites! Scottsville is a cute town, close to Charlottesville, but a real step back in time. Simple pleasures (an afternoon in a rocking chair, visits to nearby wineries, walk in the fall foliage) were a relief in a stressful time. Lovely clawfoot tub, cozy bedding...I can't wait to return. And Breakfast was FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Westroli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a 1 night getaway to the High Meadows Vineyard Inn. This was our 2nd visit, the 1st being 6 years ago when the Inn was owned and operated by different innkeepers. Wow, the new owners have done a wonderful job turning the Inn into an eclectic mix of of contemporary colors, antique furnishings, and interesting personal collections. Nancy was a delight and a gracious hostess. She personally gave us a tour of the entire Inn, showing us each room and pointing out the interesting pieces or collections in each that make the Inn both fun and comfortable. We also appreciate the Inn's efforts at being "green" and enjoyed seeing the small flocks of ducks and chickens roaming about the grounds (which are beautiful!). The Inn manages to be both elegant in appearance and furnishings while being informally comfortable at the same time -- there is no air of pretense here. We stayed in the "Robin's Nest" room, which in our opinion, was the prettiest and best decorated of them all. We'd highly recommend it for a romantic weekend away..

Also, a note regarding dining in Scottsville, which is limited. If you are looking for a good place to eat (not fine dining by any means), check out 330 Valley Street (the name of the restaurant and it's address) located just downtown across the street from the Citgo.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4NVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed at the High Meadows Vineyard Inn for just one night (unfortunately!) and found it to be the perfect escape from the city.

The photos on the Web site, and those shared here, do NOT do the place justice. The common areas are very quaint, well decorated and clean. The grounds are lovely and the rooms are spacious and look like something right out of a movie - it's what a B&B should be like!

We enjoyed Nancy's recommendations for vineyards nearby (there are about a dozen within a 30 minute drive) and the breakfast served in the morning was fantastic - home cooked while you wait (not pre-made and reheated.)

Scottsville is about a 30 minute drive from Charlottsville, so not too convenient if that is where you'll be spending most of your time - but it's there if you want a more upscale dinner or shopping expedition. Otherwise I recommend staying out in Scottsville and enjoying the scenary, vineyards and hiking.

Would definitely recommend the High Meadows Vineyard Inn and would love to return.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Kaitlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

It is a beautiful place. The owners friendly and nice, BUT I have spent over a month trying to clear some mistaken credit card charges from them. I would have been delighted to write a positive place, but I am very frustrated with how they have handled this. DO ask them to be clear about when your credit card will be charged and for the exact amount.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooklyn_NYSloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2008

This guest is absolutely right! Our apologies can not make up for the time it took to clear this issue. It was a billing nightmare...for us as well; this first year getting the kinks out of our credit card processing has been quite the 'learning experience'. We promise to do a much better job from now on...and hope that we can constantly improve on our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights over Valentine's Day and had a wonderful time. Nancy and Cynthia were wonderful hosts and willing to accommodate any request. We stayed in the Cottage Suite for 2 nights and enjoyed having breakfast in our own private kitchen overlooking the woods. The breakfast and homemade treats (cupcakes and cookies) were terrific! The rooms were beautiful and there was no better way to cap off a night than in front a nice warm fireplace. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Husband and I spent a weekend at High Meadows. The inn has been beutifully updated. The interior is cozy and inviting and the grounds are expansive enough to take long walks without interuption. The owners/staff were wonderful. They are experienced B&B owners and did a great job of making our stay comfortable and relaxing. Will be back in the area in January and am planning on a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sailing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Since the previous 3 reviews were written new owners have bought and refurbished the Inn. Our visit was a pleasure from start to finish, from the cookies, crackers, hot cider, tea and good company that awaited us in the breezeway when we arrived, to our incredibly comfortable room and ending with the delicious (and more than ample) breakfast the next morning--the pumpkin-apple muffins were out of this world!
We were forced to shorten our visit due to a family emergency. The owners could not have been more accomodating, and we will definitely go back as soon as we can for another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oubliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Meadows Inn

Address: 55 High Meadows Ln, Scottsville, VA 24590-3803
Location: United States > Virginia > Scottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsville
Price Range: $150 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Meadows Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Meadows Inn has been described as whimsical, luxurious, fun, charming...what can that mean for your visit? Well, your experience here will be all about YOU. Whatever you are looking for, we'll help you find it! Great food and comfy beds are just where it starts - we're a bed and breakfast after all. We're happy to help you plan an itinerary that will make the best use of your precious getaway time - and we've got several already designed for foodies, wine lovers (or newbies!), or shoppers. Want the insider info on local happenings? Give us a shout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your High Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Meadows Vineyard Hotel Scottsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing