We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to next time...”
Review of High Meadows Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Meadows Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Scottsville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looking forward to next time...”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My two college aged daughters and I recently stayed at High Meadows Vineyard Inn on a mother/daughter road trip we were on of the south. There had been a computer error made in the accommodations we had selected which Nancy alerted us to and more than made up for upon our arrival. It is a little out of the way which I had wanted having come off of grad school tours in Boston, NYC, and DC. The home itself is lovely, filled with whimsy, and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. Nancy made our stay...she was welcoming, accommodating, and had great insights not only on the local area but also other areas we were planning to visit. I would love to visit again as our time was all too brief. It would be ideal for a wedding or family reunion.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fogelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hope your trip was a good one!
We have told your story of "50 states by 50 years old" to many guests - we love that idea. :)

Thank you for such a kind review - we were delighted to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    25
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
86
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I needed to be in Charlottesville early on a Saturday morning but all of the hotels were booked up because the Charlottesville marathon was being run that weekend so we looked for a place a little further out. Unfortunately, we couldn't get to the Inn until around 9pm and we were worried that it might be too late. Nancy was very accommodating and actually greeted us when we got in. We didn't get to spend as much time at the Inn as we would have liked because we were in Charlottesville for most of the day Saturday and went wine tasting on Sunday but the grounds are lovely. The breakfast prepared by Nancy was wonderful. We stayed in the Robin's Nest room, which was very well set up and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
You are so right - Nancy is the best! Of course, she is my mother, so I would naturally think that. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay - we love it when we can make a guest feel at home and welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland ct
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently spent a night at High Meadow Vineyard Inn, advertised as in the top 10 inns at a vineyard in the world. Not sure how it got that title, but it was not in our top list of inns. We chose to go there based on that advertisement. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Gardens needed weeding and the lawn needed mowing. There were some grapes growing in the side yard, but would not call that a vineyard. Overall just not what we expected. Also sort of remote.

Room Tip: Cottage if you know the other couple, otherwise a little too close quarters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked! Often, we do find that guests who only have the experience of one night, just don't get to feel quite as home as those who can stay a little longer - though that is certainly no reason for you to have felt unhappy with your getaway...we are truly sorry we didn't connect in a more positive way for you. A couple of things for future reference - the grapes to which you refer are our table grapes...and yes, there are only 6 vines growing near the cottage drive. I am afraid you must have missed the 2 acre Pinot Noir vineyard at the entry parking area! It's a lovely place to take a walk, and guests often spot fox, deer and rabbits in the meadow and between the rows. This was a wet and rainy summer all around - and though yes, the grass grew faster than ever - we do have a lawn service that comes on a weekly basis. We are rural, and mention on our website both the small quaint town of Scottsville witin a 1/2 mile, and Charlottesville - where we suggest dinner locations, about 15 miles north. We consider ourselves a small bed and breakfast, not at all a place with the services and amenities of a 5 star resort - and though the title was flattering to be awarded, we always suggest a good perusal of our website to make certain that what we do meets your expectations, which we did not in this case, and for that - we are sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We loved our relaxing anniversary get-away staying at High Meadows. Nancy greeted us immediately and made us feel like we were meant to be there. We stayed in the cottage suite which is clean, spacious, and comfortable. We went floating down the James, visited vineyards, went into Charlottesville and spent a night getting to know the Scottsville community while visiting the brewery. We loved every second at High Meadows and will absolutely return. We thank Nancy for being so gracious and her daughter for the amazing breakfasts and her decorating style! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: The cottage is separate from the main house so if you are looking for more privacy, you should choos...
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved eating from the local community, including the eggs from the hens at High Meadows!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristyJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the High Meadows Inn. We stayed in the Robin's Nest room and really enjoyed it. The breakfast each morning was amazing - so fresh and good! We also took advantage of the Masseuse which was nice and relaxing. The location is ideal - not too far from Charlottesville which is where we headed each night for dinner. Also in a great location for getting to various wineries and micro-breweries. The Innkeeper was so friendly and so accomodating. This trip was exactly what my husband and I needed and we are already talking about returning. Total relaxation, great food, and good company.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WhitV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
SO glad you found us! Our massage therapist, Tarja, is enjoying her new massage room - and we agree - she is a delight, and really does an excellent job of focusing on each particular guests individual needs and preferences. If you find yourself in our area again - pleas visit!
Warmly,
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, VA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in the Cottage Suite on the 4th of July. We arrived early, and enjoyed a relaxing wait on the front porch swing until check-in time. The inn is very colorful and unique--in a great way! Our hosts were warm and welcoming. They told us about the upcoming 4th of July parade and suggested that we take a short walk to the road at 9:00 AM. As promised, they had benches set up for us to sit and enjoy the parade. The cottage was comfortable and relaxing. I slept well...unusual for me when I am traveling. We enjoyed the cats, peacock, and chickens, as well as the wildlife that we glanced in the surrounding woods. Breakfast was delicious both days! All in all, we had a lovely time in this rather out-of-the-way Inn, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NedwobandReging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved the Cottage Room -- stayed for the weekend while attending a nearby wedding, could've stayed longer! The breakfasts are incredible. Honestly had the best Eggs Benedict of my life (in my mid-40's!), and everything including their coffee was exceptional. Hosts were very helpful and accommodating. So picturesque with wildflowers in full bloom, and who doesn't love an Inn with it's own peacock?! Scottsville was a bit off the beaten path, but that was part of the charm -- High Meadows is worth the diversion, we'll be back! We couldn't use the Groupon since we were pre-booked...use it if you can, although the quality of the breakfast & provisions was worth full-price.

Room Tip: We loved the seclusion of the cottage - only hitch was wi-fi was spotty (great coverage in main hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunyata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Breakfast is a fun meal for us to prepare - things always taste better with fresh eggs, but admittedly, our Eggs Benedict is super special. Thank you for the compliments. Warmly, Cynthia & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsville
17.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
16.1 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
463 reviews
15.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
248 reviews
18.1 mi away
Maysville Manor Bed & Breakfast
16.8 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Meadows Inn

Property: High Meadows Inn
Address: 55 High Meadows Ln, Scottsville, VA 24590-3803
Location: United States > Virginia > Scottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Meadows Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Meadows Inn has been described as whimsical, luxurious, fun, charming...what can that mean for your visit? Well, your experience here will be all about YOU. Whatever you are looking for, we'll help you find it! Great food and comfy beds are just where it starts - we're a bed and breakfast after all. We're happy to help you plan an itinerary that will make the best use of your precious getaway time - and we've got several already designed for foodies, wine lovers (or newbies!), or shoppers. Want the insider info on local happenings? Give us a shout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your High Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Meadows Vineyard Hotel Scottsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing