We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Meadows Inn
Nearby Hotels
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$114
$104
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clifton(Charlottesville)
$224
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$153
$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 South Street Inn(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$449
$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$339
$294
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oakhurst Inn(Charlottesville)
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
72
25
10
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
25
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelightful getawaysitting roomdaffodil roomwineriesmonticello
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 116 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently spent a night at High Meadow Vineyard Inn, advertised as in the top 10 inns at a vineyard in the world. Not sure how it got that title, but it was not in our top list of inns. We chose to go there based on that advertisement. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Gardens needed weeding and the lawn needed mowing. There were some grapes growing in the side yard, but would not call that a vineyard. Overall just not what we expected. Also sort of remote.

Room Tip: Cottage if you know the other couple, otherwise a little too close quarters.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked! Often, we do find that guests who only have the experience of one night, just don't get to feel quite as home as those who can stay a little longer - though that is certainly no reason for you to have felt unhappy with your getaway...we are truly sorry we didn't connect in a more positive way for you. A couple of things for future reference - the grapes to which you refer are our table grapes...and yes, there are only 6 vines growing near the cottage drive. I am afraid you must have missed the 2 acre Pinot Noir vineyard at the entry parking area! It's a lovely place to take a walk, and guests often spot fox, deer and rabbits in the meadow and between the rows. This was a wet and rainy summer all around - and though yes, the grass grew faster than ever - we do have a lawn service that comes on a weekly basis. We are rural, and mention on our website both the small quaint town of Scottsville witin a 1/2 mile, and Charlottesville - where we suggest dinner locations, about 15 miles north. We consider ourselves a small bed and breakfast, not at all a place with the services and amenities of a 5 star resort - and though the title was flattering to be awarded, we always suggest a good perusal of our website to make certain that what we do meets your expectations, which we did not in this case, and for that - we are sorry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We loved our relaxing anniversary get-away staying at High Meadows. Nancy greeted us immediately and made us feel like we were meant to be there. We stayed in the cottage suite which is clean, spacious, and comfortable. We went floating down the James, visited vineyards, went into Charlottesville and spent a night getting to know the Scottsville community while visiting the brewery. We loved every second at High Meadows and will absolutely return. We thank Nancy for being so gracious and her daughter for the amazing breakfasts and her decorating style! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: The cottage is separate from the main house so if you are looking for more privacy, you should choose the cottage.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristyJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the High Meadows Inn. We stayed in the Robin's Nest room and really enjoyed it. The breakfast each morning was amazing - so fresh and good! We also took advantage of the Masseuse which was nice and relaxing. The location is ideal - not too far from Charlottesville which is where we headed each night for dinner. Also in a great location for getting to various wineries and micro-breweries. The Innkeeper was so friendly and so accomodating. This trip was exactly what my husband and I needed and we are already talking about returning. Total relaxation, great food, and good company.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WhitV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

SO glad you found us! Our massage therapist, Tarja, is enjoying her new massage room - and we agree - she is a delight, and really does an excellent job of focusing on each particular guests individual needs and preferences. If you find yourself in our area again - pleas visit!
Warmly,
Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in the Cottage Suite on the 4th of July. We arrived early, and enjoyed a relaxing wait on the front porch swing until check-in time. The inn is very colorful and unique--in a great way! Our hosts were warm and welcoming. They told us about the upcoming 4th of July parade and suggested that we take a short walk to the road at 9:00 AM. As promised, they had benches set up for us to sit and enjoy the parade. The cottage was comfortable and relaxing. I slept well...unusual for me when I am traveling. We enjoyed the cats, peacock, and chickens, as well as the wildlife that we glanced in the surrounding woods. Breakfast was delicious both days! All in all, we had a lovely time in this rather out-of-the-way Inn, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NedwobandReging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved the Cottage Room -- stayed for the weekend while attending a nearby wedding, could've stayed longer! The breakfasts are incredible. Honestly had the best Eggs Benedict of my life (in my mid-40's!), and everything including their coffee was exceptional. Hosts were very helpful and accommodating. So picturesque with wildflowers in full bloom, and who doesn't love an Inn with it's own peacock?! Scottsville was a bit off the beaten path, but that was part of the charm -- High Meadows is worth the diversion, we'll be back! We couldn't use the Groupon since we were pre-booked...use it if you can, although the quality of the breakfast & provisions was worth full-price.

Room Tip: We loved the seclusion of the cottage - only hitch was wi-fi was spotty (great coverage in main house, just a few steps away), but it wasn't an issue, too beautiful there to stay online long!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunyata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Breakfast is a fun meal for us to prepare - things always taste better with fresh eggs, but admittedly, our Eggs Benedict is super special. Thank you for the compliments. Warmly, Cynthia & Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews