We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boyfriend is a B&B convert!”
Review of High Meadows Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Meadows Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Scottsville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boyfriend is a B&B convert!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I brought my boyfriend here for his first B&B experience, and moving forward we'll be spending a lot more time in cute B&Bs instead of boring hotel rooms. It's all thanks to Nancy - the most gracious host you could hope for, Nancy's daughter - whose strawberry shortcake was out of this world, and Nancy's son - who took the time to share some history of the inn with us!

The rooms are immaculate, and balanced sophisticated shabby chic decor with fun colors for a welcoming and vibrant atmosphere. The grounds of the Inn are well kept, and the peacock & hens wobbling around add to the country charm.

We had a very relaxing and romantic weekend, and plan to come back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We stayed in the attic, which was adorable and very private. I wouldn't recommend it for those w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peime2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
What nice thoughts about High Meadows! Thank you so much - we are always trying to make sure our guests have a thoroughly enjoyable visit to Charlottesville and Scottsville...we are so glad you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    25
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
86
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great vegan gluten free meals. Wonderful fruit. Second time around and have already booked our next quiet stay on the hill. The local trout dinner was enjoyed by my mate Explore vineyards and scottsville evening music .

Room Tip: Shower or deep soaking tub?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I planned out a vineyard romantic getaway in Virginia after thinking long and hard as to where we wanted to visit. We settled on Virginia as it was a place we had never really visited and it was far enough away to seem novel but close enough to drive from New Jersey in a day. I searched on Groupon for a deal on lodging and stumbled upon a deal that was just too good to pass up for this place - High Meadows Vineyard Inn. I was a little skeptical about booking the stay at first, but then I saw the pictures and read the reviews and was immediately convinced and thrilled!! The trip from New Jersey was long but our stay was SOOOOOO worth it!

We stayed in the Willow room which was exquisitely decorated and extremely spacious! The bed was very comfortable and it was so nice to have our own bathroom in the room!! When we woke up in the morning, breakfast was served on beautiful china with real silverware! I felt like a princess!! More importantly though, the breakfast was exquisite! So delicious and filling and Nancy and her daughter take special care to provide food that is locally sourced and organic where possible!!

All in all, we had an absolutely wonderful vacation in Virginia and a really special and romantic stay at High Meadows Vineyard Inn! We have already recommended it to everyone we know and plan on returning someday!

Room Tip: All of the rooms inside the house are beautiful and unique and I didn't hear anyone else's c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
What a nice review to start out 2013! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay - and we look forward to having you return again! The Willow is one of my favorite rooms, and this year we have a few additions planned to the room - so come back and see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

High Meadows is a cute B&B and the Nancy is very nice. She spent time with us talking about things to do and see which came in handy since we weren't from the area. The only complaint I have with the hosts is that we didn't get a receipt for our stay. We stayed in the cottage, which was nice, but could use some touch ups (Fresh paint, covers on the outlets, handles on the windows so they can be opened). Another issue with the cottage is that you can hear the people in the adjoining cottage. I'm not sure if they were just load talkers or the walls were just thin, either way it was distracting. Scottsville is a nice little town and we had the best meal ever at Amici's. We will probably visit Charlottesville/Scottsville again but will probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sissy220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
The Cottage Room is one of our guests favorite rooms - we are sorry you didn't find it to your taste! Admittedly, we have been doing some renovations to that room - removing some carpet, replacing the slate floor, and upgrading the outlet covers (we did miss one! sorry!). All in all, it's a very bright, sweet, shabby-chic room, located in the edge of the woods...and usually VERY quiet. :) Windows - they do open, but they need to be unlocked first, perhaps that was the issue? We usually rely on email for receipts when guests request something other than their original reservation receipt...so sorry we didn't ask - we'll do better next time. Thank you for your tips, and should you return to Scottsville, we are happy to recommend several nearby inns if you'd like to try another inn! One is located directly on the banks of the James River, with beautiful views, another is a lovely antique home just a mile away...of course, we'd also like another opportunity to make you fall in love with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had a hard time finding a place to stay in Charlottesville, so I had to go a little farther than I wanted to but sometimes there is a reason. This place was fantastic! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay here. We don't drink so most of the time was spent sight-seeing or relaxing. The scenery is beautiful and very enjoyable. We stayed in The Cottage Room and loved it, we also got to stay in another room of our choice due to a mix-up with another customer, (not the inn's fault), and that was lovely as well.

My husband is a vegetarian and I had sent in our dietary restrictions beforehand and she remembered and reviewed with us when we first arrived. Breakfast each morning were great, and those snacks/pastries in the afternoon were mouthwatering and if you are on a diet, you will leave that behind (and I bake alot and I enjoyed them!)

The town of Scottsville had three restaurants so we ate at all of them, two out of the three were really quite good.

During our vacation we had stayed at three B&Bs and this was one of the top places, we had really a bad place right afterwards and wished we were back here. Nancy and Cynthia make your stay at their inn more like visiting good friends than an inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KymCRichmond_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We took advantage of a special they were promoting and had a lovely time. Nancy was a gracious host, taking the time to sit down with us and provide advice and guidance on our winery tour. The Cottage Suite was spacious, colorful and comfortable. We ate a delicious takeout meal from Amici's (… read moredowntown Scottsville) in the kitchen area. Breakfasts were wonderful. Coffee was available in the sitting area prior to being seated. They started with delicious fruit dishes and ended with satisfying entrees. I highly recommend this B&B for guests who are interested in a relaxing getaway. And, the area is loaded with wineries, with Charlottesville not that far away.

Room Tip: The cottage suite has a full kitchen, small deck and is just a short walk from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I searched high and low for a bed and breakfast for our first Anniversary that offered easy access to the Monticello wine trail and a relaxed countryside setting. We couldn't have been more pleased with our three night experience at High Meadows. Nancy provided us with an exceptional level of service and guidance for the surrounding area including restaurants and wineries (complete with tasting coupons). She has a magnetic and trustworthy personality that truly made us feel like we were at home and enabled us to fully relax knowing we were in good hands. The breakfast was wonderful, the bed incredibly comfortable (we stayed in the Cottage Room), and departed trying to figure out how soon we'd be able to return. I couldnt recommend High Meadows more highly based on our experience and we will always look back on our first anniversary fondly thanks in part to Nancy's hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsabato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsville
17.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
16.1 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
463 reviews
15.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
248 reviews
18.1 mi away
Maysville Manor Bed & Breakfast
16.8 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Meadows Inn

Property: High Meadows Inn
Address: 55 High Meadows Ln, Scottsville, VA 24590-3803
Location: United States > Virginia > Scottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Meadows Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Meadows Inn has been described as whimsical, luxurious, fun, charming...what can that mean for your visit? Well, your experience here will be all about YOU. Whatever you are looking for, we'll help you find it! Great food and comfy beds are just where it starts - we're a bed and breakfast after all. We're happy to help you plan an itinerary that will make the best use of your precious getaway time - and we've got several already designed for foodies, wine lovers (or newbies!), or shoppers. Want the insider info on local happenings? Give us a shout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your High Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Meadows Vineyard Hotel Scottsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing