We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Getaway”
Review of High Meadows Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Meadows Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Scottsville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We took advantage of a special they were promoting and had a lovely time. Nancy was a gracious host, taking the time to sit down with us and provide advice and guidance on our winery tour. The Cottage Suite was spacious, colorful and comfortable. We ate a delicious takeout meal from Amici's (… read moredowntown Scottsville) in the kitchen area. Breakfasts were wonderful. Coffee was available in the sitting area prior to being seated. They started with delicious fruit dishes and ended with satisfying entrees. I highly recommend this B&B for guests who are interested in a relaxing getaway. And, the area is loaded with wineries, with Charlottesville not that far away.

Room Tip: The cottage suite has a full kitchen, small deck and is just a short walk from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    25
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
86
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I searched high and low for a bed and breakfast for our first Anniversary that offered easy access to the Monticello wine trail and a relaxed countryside setting. We couldn't have been more pleased with our three night experience at High Meadows. Nancy provided us with an exceptional level of service and guidance for the surrounding area including restaurants and wineries (complete with tasting coupons). She has a magnetic and trustworthy personality that truly made us feel like we were at home and enabled us to fully relax knowing we were in good hands. The breakfast was wonderful, the bed incredibly comfortable (we stayed in the Cottage Room), and departed trying to figure out how soon we'd be able to return. I couldnt recommend High Meadows more highly based on our experience and we will always look back on our first anniversary fondly thanks in part to Nancy's hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsabato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We booked a stay at high meadows through Living Social and had a hard time booking a weekend to use it due to the popularity.  We finally got in for a weekend away in July and enjoyed it immensely.  The home is 3 hours from DC (minimal traffic) when driving down through Charlottesville.  The house was colorfully painted and we met Nancy, the operator, outside when we arrived.  She is a very sweet woman and was happy to tell us anything we wanted to know about the property and any of the local establishmentsand made us feel welcome instantly.  She gave us some good recommendations for both the local town of scottsville as well as for Charlottesville, 20 miles to the north.  The rooms are as colorful as the building exterior but each themed in its own way.  We stayed in the willow room which had a beautiful green hue.  The room was nicely sized with a king bed.  The linens on the bed matched the green of the room and the comforter was large and thick and made for a nice warm coccoon for sleeping.  The property houses several outside pets including cats, chickens, and at least on peacock.  Breakfast our first morning consisted of a warm baked peach to start and was followed by crepes with a ricotta filling and a peach flavored syrup.  Delicious.  It was washed down with a steaming cup of delicious coffee and a glass of fresh orange juice. Day 2 was just as delicious. Fresh berries with honey to start followed by shrimp and grits with green onions. Mmmm. We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlh273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My fiancée took me here for a getaway weekend for a well deserved break after my last PhD class semester ended :) The owner was extremely welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was always delicious, the Victorian house has a lot of character, grounds are well kept, peacock was beautiful to watch. We stayed at the Peony room which is in the first floor and has a two-person whirlpool in it. The only con we found is that the whirlpool is quite noisy and we had to turn it off when we turned it on near midnight. He surprised with an in-room massage on the day we were leaving. The massage was not entirely bad but I've had much better for that price, I still tipped the inn-associated masseuse appropriately.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUENDEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay! We stayed in the Cottage Suite. Nancy was a wonderful resource for finding things to do in the area (and was so nice to talk to as well). The service was excellent - we felt right at home there. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous and the chickens and peacock added to the charm of the Inn.

The only down side was more on my wife's side - she felt as if there could have been just a bit more attention to detail. The towels were kind of old, the top mattress had some small stains, and a few other (very small) things. But overall we really enjoyed our stay. If we are ever back in the area, we will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeromeandkendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just returned from a weekend wedding at High Meadows. The gourmet chef, Cindy, provided an incredibly delicious meal for the wedding. All of the food was fresh and cooked to perfection. Nancy, the proprietor, provided wonderful service. This beautiful, historic inn is the place to go when you want romance, gourmet dining, beautiful views, relaxed atmosphere and a strutting peacock. Absolute perfection in every way!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely with distinct character. Let Nancy guide you. The website views are acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappysM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The grounds are beautiful--perfect for sitting outside. Plus, there's a peacock! The decor is a bit eccentric, but in a good way; it's not a formal, overdone B&B. Breakfasts were delicious, and Nancy is informative, generous, and warm. Just a delightful stay.

Note: I was in the Daffodil Room, and the bathtub is out in the room (there's a separate half-bath with sink and toilet). This didn't bother me at all, and there is a folding screen, but someone very modest might have some problems with it. I thought it was kind of quirky and fun, though!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsville
14.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
14.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
17.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
19.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Meadows Inn

Property: High Meadows Inn
Address: 55 High Meadows Ln, Scottsville, VA 24590-3803
Location: United States > Virginia > Scottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Meadows Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Meadows Inn has been described as whimsical, luxurious, fun, charming...what can that mean for your visit? Well, your experience here will be all about YOU. Whatever you are looking for, we'll help you find it! Great food and comfy beds are just where it starts - we're a bed and breakfast after all. We're happy to help you plan an itinerary that will make the best use of your precious getaway time - and we've got several already designed for foodies, wine lovers (or newbies!), or shoppers. Want the insider info on local happenings? Give us a shout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your High Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Meadows Vineyard Hotel Scottsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing