We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A vegan nirvana!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schuyler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Pig Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Schuyler B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2007

They advertise as a vegan oasis in central Virginia, but that is a misnomer - it is a vegan nirvana! This is one of the best B&B's I have stayed at. The innkeeper has thought of everything and left nothing to be desired. I had no interest in leaving the property all weekend! It was so peaceful and relaxing, and the food was so good that we decided we were growing pot bellies to complement the pigs. And the pigs! What a joy. They were so cute and it made the weekend so much more exciting to be able to visit with them. I hated to leave and hope to go back many more times. I felt so lucky that I happened upon the place. It's truly a fantastic place to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2007

We first stayed at the White Pig for a few days as part of our Honeymoon. We loved it so much that we have returned every year since to celebrate our anniversary.

We were overjoyed to find a place that suited our eating lifestyle! The icing on the cake---the house is beautiful, well-maintained, and quiet, the food is OUT OF THIS WORLD, and the hospitality is wonderful! Our host was gracious, conversational, and very helpful during our stay. ( Did I mention the relaxing hot tub?!?!)

There are many great wineries and restaurants just a short drive away, and the house is located close enough to Charlottesville to make a day trip in and enjoy the downtown.

If you are vegan, vegetarian, or simply willing to sample healthy and yummy food look no further! The White Pig is FABULOUS!!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rapunzel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the White Pig. The B&B is very clean and nicely decorated. We stayed in the Jacob room which has a large comfy bed, giant windows overlooking the woods and a nice private bathroom with a claw foot tub. The room had nice bathrobes and lovely smelling toiletries.

We spent the afternoon exploring the trails on the property and visiting with the animals. The pigs were very friendly and fun to give belly rubs. The hostess provided us with yummy snacks after our walk.

In the early evening we hung out in a jacuzzi and enjoyed watching a little hummingbird fly around us.

At night, we watched movies and read magazines in the B&B living room. While in the living room, we enjoyed refreshments provided for us in a small refrigerator.

In the morning we walked around the property a bit more and then had a lovely breakfast of vegan vegetable frittata and fruit.

Overall, we had a fun and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank va_vegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2006

Although the property is beautiful, the food was somewhat dissapointing. I was expecting out of the ordinary vegan dishes for breakfast, but was served fruit and pancakes or fruit and waffles. The presentation was great, but I think that the innkeeper did not show her creativity as a chef. I felt that the packages were too expensive considering that the breakfast was mediocre and the jacuzzi was out of service; although I paid for a package that was including the jacuzzi. I am a supporter of all things vegan, but I expected what the website offered, which was "a vegan oasis in central Virginia", but I left feeling very unsatisfied.

Stayed: October 2006
6  Thank Magruff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinaB, owner at White Pig Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2007

Please note, all our room rates include a 2 course full vegan breakfast and use of the hot tub (aka Jacuzzi) as well as use of the walking trails and afternoon snacks & drinks. This reviewer did not pay additional for this in the package.

Our waffle breakfast always includes a soy yogurt parfait and the blueberry pancake breakfast is usually served with soy bacon or sausage (not just pancake/waffle & fruit). We rotate our breakfast menu so guests staying multiple nights are not served the same breakfast (unless specially requested). We have a wide variety of breakfast items such as vegetable frittata, a breakfast burrito, etc but unless requested at the time of the reservation, breakfast is chef's choice.

I am not sure why this reviewer said this but our hot tub has NEVER BEEN OUT OF ORDER.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Beautifully renovated, turn-of-the-century home in a quiet, wonderful, rural setting (165 acres). Owners actually live in a separate restored farmhouse next to the B & B and are thus able to extend guests an unusual amount of privacy. Rooms were immaculate. Innkeeper/chef seemed to be a little "shy," shall we say - did not give us the opportunity to meet her until the third day we were there and almost ready to leave. However, her husband/host/breakfast-server was very congenial. Breakfasts (waffles one day, pancakes the next) were beautifully presented, but the food was just so-so, not because it was vegan but because it was a little undercooked for my taste, especially that tempe bacon - way too soggy! Also, innkeeper seemed to have lots of written rule and regulations about things, which is understandable as some guests will undoubtedly be noisy and destructive if not told otherwise. However, her notes and "house rules" could be written in a more positive tone. Would definitely go back for a second visit - did not get a chance to explore the walking trails on the property or visit with the animals.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurlGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinaB, owner at White Pig Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2007

There are restaurants in Scottsville, Nellysford & Lovingston within a 10-15 minute drive (20-30 minutes round trip). If you want to go to Charlottesville it is a 25 minute drive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
12
Reviewed September 23, 2005

Wow. this was such an amazing treat! Beautiful, secluded farm. Very comfortable, quiet, luxurious room, and amazing food. Like nothing ever experienced before. Had a great time visiting with the animals whom reside with the inn keepers. Potbellied pigs, dogs, Kitties and saw some wildlife too. Went to Charlottesville, Appomattox, Monticello and more...

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Norfolk, VA
13
Reviewed October 18, 2004

The White Pig Bed & Breakfast is wonderful. The vegan food is exceptional, the scenery beautiful, and the innkeeper very friendly and helpful. That's not even mentioning the sweet rescued pigs and cats who live on site.

This tops any other vacation accomodation I've ever experienced! I've been twice and hope to go back again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schuyler
11.1 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
12.3 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovingston
58 reviews
12.8 mi away
Albemarle Estate at Trump Winery
Albemarle Estate at Trump Winery
#7 of 16 in Charlottesville
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Harmony Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to White Pig Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Pig Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5120 Irish Rd, Schuyler, VA 22969-1713
Location: United States > Virginia > Schuyler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Schuyler
Price Range: $135 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing