We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stay at other Red Roof in Richmond.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandston Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandston Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sandston B&B and Inns
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay at other Red Roof in Richmond.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Very outdated and think hotel had bed bugs. Checked out early and booked other Red Roof, which is lots better and has been updated. Staff was pleasant and location of hotel is decent but it's really bad as far as the other stuff. A lot of pet waste on the ground and mold on the shower curtains. It's worth it to spend a couple extra dollars for your comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    5
    7
    31
See reviews for
10
9
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

shower not working,old as..., doesnt look clean, dogs living in rooms, and to top it off couldn't get any wash clothes , cause they didnt hve any more. what the !!!!!workers come to work late, and hung over,maintance never showed to fix the shower

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lori c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandston hotels

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

To inform everyone that would like to stay at this Red Roof Inn,I would advise you to not do it,because of poor service housekeeping.The only person that you could depend on to fix anything would be Robert Perrin when our family stayed their.He would be the only one that would respone to our needs,when we called for a problem.If it wasn't for him taken care of us we would have left.Thank you Robert for all your help.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stay there 8/4/12.They have Bed Bugs!! I did not notice until 8:30am. Call front desk. She said she would send the maintenance man, he arrives in 15mins. Ok, It takes about 30mins. I called front desk back, he had just arrive, He would be in there. Anyway, maintenance guy comes. I show him the bug. He argues with me that, its not a BED BUG. He said, its a Flea. Lol. Like I'm stupid. Fleas jump. Bed bugs crawl and it was full of blood. Terrible. The maintenance man told me "I would never stay here." He totally talked bad about the hotel. No refund!! They don't give damn. More bumps have showed up since I left. I would never stay there again! Will call BBB and Channel 12 on your side!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadasHELL216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a very old motel but is well maintained. There are some issues that are being addressed by the staff. I have stayed at this Red Roof Inn many times. They are pet/ people friendly and have always treated me very well. Current management and daytime front desk help leaves a lot to be desired but if you are lucky enough to interact with the long time employees (Tequoria and Jermaine), you will be treated very well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We only stayed here because the friends we were staying with lost power (along with most of the city) and we couldn't take the heat. This was the first place that finally had rooms available and only smoking ones at that. Let me just list the things that were wrong in the order we came across them:
no door knobs on the closet (really?!)
serious smell of smoke (this wasn't a huge shock but still annoying especially with bronchitis)
no toilet paper
stained/unclean sheets
hole in the comforter
no labels on the phone (front desk, etc.,)
stained tub
had to go get replacement sheets etc. ourselves from the front desk and make our own bed
NOT WORKING TOILET (To make it fully flush we had to fill the tank and bowl with more water from a bucket the maintenance guy gave us!)
stains all over the walls and furniture
2 vacant rooms that were very suspicious: This was the strangest part and ended bringing maintenance guys up because a neighbor was freaking out about bed bugs (we don't think they had those). There were two rooms near us that looks totally trashed and vacant, one even had it's door completely open.
Also, I saw another room that was empty but made-up after being told that we had gotten the last two rooms.
Finally, our friends had another room, also smoking, that was much nicer, for one thing the toilet worked!

Room Tip: Don't get smoking! Supposedly the non-smoking are nicer, I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I got room at this hotel via Hotwire, so I was locked in after purchase. I read the prior reviews here about dirty rooms, rude staff, bed bugs, etc and got nervous, but saw that the hotel manager was responding directly to complaints, so I had some hope. I deliberately asked for one of the refurbished rooms upon check-in, having read some frightening reviews of the older rooms. The refurbished room wasn't too bad. It had fairly new paint, but marks on the wall from luggage, people rotating the TV, etc. The door could only be opened by pulling the handle up (not down), but was told by the front desk that the room would eventually be getting a new lock/handle.The carpet didn't look new, but appeared quite clean. The lighting fixtures and furniture looked new, as did the a/c unit. The bathroom sink, counter, and mirror also looked new. The closet had new doors, but one of the handles came off when pulled to open the door. Luckily the other handle was still secure. The closet only had one hangar, so I asked the front desk for more. They only had one spare, so I was able to make do with two hangars. The toilet/shower area was old and worn looking, but clean. The curved shower curtain rod looked new, but it was loose and drooping. I asked for a spare towel, but the front desk didn't have any, so I'd have to wait 'til the next morning for housekeeping to show up (I never bothered to get the extra towel). The bed sheets and bed spread looked clean and fairly new. I did a bed bug check of the mattress (I saw it demonstrated on YouTube) and found nothing suspicious. The mattress & box spring looked new and clean. The free wireless internet had a good signal and decent speed.

Overall I'd say this hotel is ok, if you get a refurbished room. I think the refurbishments could have gone further, to include an all new tub/shower area but it was adequate. The staff during my stay were kind and courteous and the gentlemen who checked me in did what he could to ensure a good stay.

P.S. The price I paid on Hotwire.com was only $3 less than redroof.com's regular rate, so Hotwire was not a good deal. In fact I could have saved even more money booking on Red Roof's website with a promo code and avoided Hotwire's booking fees.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room upon check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandston Inn

Property: Sandston Inn
Address: 5209 Williamsburg Rd, Sandston, VA 23150-1220
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sandston
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sandston Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sandston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing